42

4.6 based on 42 customer reviews

29
11
2
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

An esoteric classic

DSC-RX1RM2 05 December 2016 by MNB1 (United Kingdom)

I had the original RX1 and although it could be difficult to use sometimes, the images it was capable of 'painting' were just outstanding. The RX1R II builds on the original, improving the image quality, but also improving practically everything else at the same time. As a result, the RX1R II is just so enjoyable to use, with faster auto focus and in much lower light than before, face detection AF (this is amazing) and that lovely built in viewfinder. The build is the same as the original – it feels like a solid chunk of metal. It is such a neat and clever little package - it just wants to be picked up and used! And because it is so small, it isn't intimidating, so has the potential of taking far more natural shots of people. A lot of work was put into this camera (and the originals) by its designers, and it shows. I thank Sony for having the foresight and the vision to create these RX1 cameras in the first place. They are true classics, and very, very special.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

23

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Love the PDAF but super poor battery life

DSC-RX1RM2 E32 23 October 2016 by jin19 (Singapore)

First of all, the picture quality is one of the top you can find. However, the battery life is very poor. Autofocus is improved especially AF-C with PDAF. It makes taking photo much faster especially when combined with IAF, the only thing is when using this method, the battery drains very fasy. When covering an event and using it intensively, it can only last 2 hours. Using flash and EVF will also drain the battery very fast. Moving the Autofocus point is slow and difficult. The up-down-right-left button cannot be assigned to move the Autofocus point, it made me lost lots of opportunities to take good photos because of this. When shooting raw, it cannot use the zoom/crop factor like Leica-Q so it's not possible to take the advantage of the 42MP. Hopefully, Sony will release firmware update for the Mark ii instead of only implement it in the Mark iii as this is not a cheap camera. Some features are hidden from the menu and difficult to find. In future, I hope Sony will implement joystick and the LCD can be tilt to take selfie.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

42 Customer Reviews

0

Still the best!

DSC-RX1RM2 03 September 2019  (USA)

Had the RX1 now owning the RX1R II which makes life a lot easier because of the faster AF and the build-in EVF. The Megapixels are a welcome addition. Best thing though: they kept the ZEISS Sonnar 35/2 which still is one of my alltime favorites. I use it mostly always wide open. The Bokeh transition is unbelievable. I shoot the RX alongside my Nikon Z7 but the 35 and Its compact form factor makes it the perfect reportage camera. People are just reacting differently to it. Was thinking about the Q2 but 28mm is just not my cup of tea. One more thing: had my cameras through really bad weather, beaches and hot kitchens and never had a problem. Who needs Weather sealing, if you not drain your cameras?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Legendary Camera - please update to RX1R III now!

DSC-RX1RM2 24 July 2019 by johp (USA)

I have the Sony RX1, the RX1R m1 and m2 but this camera needs two things to make it the best compact full frame ever made: 1) better AF (use the latest A7 or A9 tech) and 2) better battery (use the Sony Z battery if possible). Sony can leave the sensor and lens alone because they are exceptionally good. Just those two changes, Sony, and you will have a legendary full frame compact that will be better than the Leica Q2.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

A Great Walking Around Camera

DSC-RX1RM2 12 July 2019 by LBrook (USA)

This is my go to camera. When traveling I always take my RX1RII. On major trips, it's in the bag with my a7RII. Although you're stuck with a fixed 35mm lens, it is a fabulous point & shot camera and much easier to carry around than my a7. I love the low light capability and the image quality of this little camera. One photographer called it a great street camera....I couldn't agree more. It is expensive, but in my opinion, if you can afford it...get it! You will fall in love with it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Impressive resolution

DSC-RX1RM2 21 June 2019 by apGwallter (United Kingdom)

Impressed by reviews, I sold 2 Panasonic cameras and lenses to purchase this one. I actually like a fixed focal length, and 35mm is my preferred choice. I am also an admirer of Zeiss optics. Image resolution is excellent. I find, however, that there are too many features and an over complicated menu system. I prefer the Leica approach to features and menus, but the Q is not for me. However, one can reduce the need to access the main menu but assigning functions to various keys - excellent. The EVF is a delight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Awesome cam

DSC-RX1RM2 22 May 2019 by JacquesAP (United Kingdom)

Bought this for aerial photography use and it’s a game changer

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Small Wonder

DSC-RX1RM2 27 April 2019 by WJAtk (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera to go along side my A7R3 and haven't been disappointed, image quality is excellent, on par with my A7R3.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Not bad!

DSC-RX1RM2 E32 15 February 2019  (Singapore)

The picture is very sharp and user friendly. No regrets!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

great cameras but expect much better quality price

DSC-RX1RM2 19 January 2019 by mogolter (USA)

i have had a bunch of sony cameras, from the NEX series to the RX100 to the A7 and now the RX1R ii. None of the cheaper models i had lasted too long but they were much cheaper with this camera i expect better, "professional" quality as sony calls it. the image quality is very nice no doubt but some of the controls feel subpar for this price. Flimsy control wheels etc. now the EVF simply stopped working for now particular reason. For this price a three year lifespan is just embarrassing .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

1

0

Powerful Camera

DSC-RX1RM2 E32 06 December 2018  (Singapore)

The RX1R II is a good camera. The fixed 35 mm lens is a bit of a constraint, though.The camera's big advantage is that it is much smaller and lighter than its peers in the full frame class.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Profesional

DSC-RX1RM2 13 August 2018 by triglav341 (United Kingdom)

This is a very expensive, top of the range, professional camera, which gives outstanding results every time. It is a pleasure to use, and exactly what I was looking for. Well done Sony! My only complaint is "The instruction manual" It is written on paper so thin you can see the text on the other side, moisture from your fingers wrinkles the pages, and is just stapled together. At a price of £3000 I would expect, not one, but two good quality manuals, one basic, and the other in-depth so I can get the most out of this superb camera. It is just not the same referring the computer all the time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

1

0

Absolutely Stunning Image Quality

DSC-RX1RM2 07 July 2018 by HermanL (USA)

I bought this camera for my trip to Japan. I was amazed on the crispness and quality. It has a very small footprint which makes it easy for traveling with a shoulder strap. Controls are easy to make quick adjustments.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

14

0

0

Great Features Small Package

DSCRX1RM2/B 05 July 2018 by SqrlLrd (USA)

Got Tired Of Luging Around a full size DSLR on my vacations. This camera is great, fits in a shoulder bag with plenty of room for guide book, sunscreen, and snacks. takes great pictures and can download them to my smartphone so I can send them to family and friends. Really happy with this camera. Only drawbacks are 1: its a bit of a power hog so a spare battery is a must. 2: have found the 35mm only lens a bit frustrating at times. (I've learned to do more editing as a result, but being able to zoom from 24mm- 80mm would just make this camera perfect)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

An amazing camera

DSC-RX1RM2 04 July 2018 by phillipsr (USA)

Truely a wonderful camera. It is great as a travel camera, has the play memories application software, can really be the only camera you need. The 35F2 lens is spectacular.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Miniaturization at its technical best.

DSC-RX1RM2 14 May 2018 by Reglin (United Kingdom)

I am at an age when carrying around 2 + kilos of cameras, lenses and associated equipment has become a real problem for me. I have been using Canon DSLR bodies and "L" lenses for quite a few years and have always been very impressed with the quality of image etc. Making up my mind to cut way down on equipment has been a very trying time, however, I was fortunate enough to be in a position to test a few quality CSC's and Compacts, some were interesting and others very poor. The camera that kept jumping out at me was the Sony RXIR II, I was intrigued by some of the comments I read and heard and finally decided to take the plunge and buy one. I relunctantly part exchanged the majority of my equipment and ordered the Sony, a difficult day I can tell you, turns out to be the best move I could have made, I am, quite honestly, besotted with this little gem. The quality of image in whatever mode I decide to use can be outstanding, even the odd macro picture proves to be quite a revelation at times. I will no doubt miss some of my Canon gear, I don't, however, miss lugging around all the weight though! A perfect Camera to ease me through my old age and be still able to take a quality picture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

19

4

0

Pocket Powerhouse

DSC-RX1RM2 05 May 2018 by Taid (United Kingdom)

I use only prime lenses and favour 35mm. The fact that I cannot change the lens on this small camera does not worry me. I found the slightly larger Leica Q (at 28mm) just too wide (though it is a great camera) and so bought the RX1R MkII. It is excellent. The menu is extensive and can be reduced to easily accessible "favourites" using the Fn button. Images are brilliant and sharp. This is a Full-Frame small camera that will happily live alongside my Leica CL that I use when I need changeable prime lenses. The RX1R MkII will be my travelling companion (but I do take a lot of (cheap) batteries as they are quite small).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

1

0

Outstanding compact full frame

DSC-RX1RM2 08 April 2018 by Tommy10 (United Kingdom)

Travelling light is important so Sony impressed me with what could be packed into a small, robust body. Full frame images are outstanding. The menu set is demanding but worth the effort to access such great customization and flexibility. As expected the quality of the sensor creates superb images. As always learning this camera well brings great dividends.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Amazing Camera

DSCRX1RM2/B 14 March 2018 by DrKP (USA)

I purchased RX1, 4 years ago and was so satisfied that I decided to buy and gift this to my son in law on arrival of their new baby girl, This is am amazing compact light DRL camera one of its kind with simple shoot features as well as most advanced features, so easy to use. This new model is RX1 II , with a built in view finder.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Fantastic image quality

DSC-RX1RM2 03 March 2018 by RLJA (United Kingdom)

I had an RX100 camera first and moving on to this RX1R II was really easy, all the controls and menus are in logical places. Don't listen to the reviews that say it is complicated, it isn't. It took a while to remember that the focus mode is now a switch, not a menu, but that was all the learning required of me. Image quality is incredibly good, even with the lens wide open. Single click lens correction is available in photoshop too which means vignetting is gone in seconds. Focussing is quite fast, nothing like as quick as the RX100, but as it's accurate you get a good hit rate. An often stated negative is battery life, but if you're spending this much on a camera just buy two more batteries. Three batteries means I can shoot all day without worry and they are small enough not to be an effort to carry. I'm pleased Sony prioritised camera size over battery life. Build quality is very good. All the controls feel solid and positive. Weather sealing would have been nice. The only negative is lack of 4k video recording, as this is often the only camera I carry and occasionally it's nice to grab a decent video of a scene. That said, I bought it for stills and it is incredibly good at taking those.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

My RX1RM11 is Simply a Joy to shoot with!

DSC-RX1RM2 11 February 2018 by Mr Simon (United Kingdom)

Owned the RX1R11 for two weeks now, a camera has never been so much fun! The menus are a pleasure and, for me, intuitive. Switching between auto through screen, to manual is simple and solid. Switching up to the RX1R11 from a DSC R100 m3 has been a GOOD MOVE! I would love to share some photos but they are too large to post here, sad.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

3

0

The smallest professional camera in the world!

DSC-RX1RM2 30 December 2017 by sereshka60 (USA)

This is my third camera from RX1 series.This particular camera I bought over two years ago and still it amazed and please me every time I go out to take a pictures. Two thumbs up,Sony and of course waiting for the model from RX1 legacy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

9

0

0

It was the RX1R I bought and not the RX1R II.

DSC-RX1RM2 09 December 2017 by LPS1 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera a mouth ago and I am still happy with it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

8

0

Great carry everywhere camera

DSC-RX1RM2 05 October 2017 by SteveA50 (United Kingdom)

I wanted a compact camera that was not only a great take everywhere point and shoot but also a serious image making device. Having owned the camera for 9 months I am not disappointed in any respect. The lens is superb the full frame sensor produces a very satisfactory image. The only downside is the cost hence 4 stars

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

small but high quality

DSC-RX1RM2 E32 09 August 2017 by Discreto44 (Malaysia)

I had the RX1R1 24MPX and I bought now the RX1RII 42MPX

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Simply Phenomenal!

DSC-RX1RM2 11 July 2017 by EdoTera (United Kingdom)

I've been shooting professional and personal work for a few weeks now on the RX1RM2 and I keep being amazed by this tiny camera. Amazing image quality and very user friendly. Batteries only last around 200 shots, so definitely recommend a few spare batteries. I also bought the thumb grip which makes shooting much more comfortable. Highly recommended!! See my Instagram @terakopian for some examples shot on this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

0

Extraordinary potentials in the arts

DSC-RX1RM2 23 June 2017 by syates (USA)

Working with several of various RX100s in recent years, replacing Nikons after decades of work as an artist and scholar worldwide, acquired the finer RX1R II professional after announced to be on the market by Sony after reading specs. Never looked back. Continually surprised by newfound qualities in color, resolution and other digitally captured features when fine printing into large scale (4x6'+) prints with the Epson 9900 professional printer in the studio for site-specific installations globally. Trained in painting and printmaking in formative university years, there are qualities realized here thanks to the RX1R II never experienced to any great degree in photography. Yet with hands-on visual potentials unfolding especially with color to contribute photographically in extraordinary ways beyond other mediums and media. Now acquired by museum collections internationally, the work to expand newer directions thanks to the remarkable digital camera system is hardly limited by the imagination.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

0

my camera

DSC-RX1RM2 09 June 2017 by to much (United Kingdom)

the camera is the right size,with the right features that I need. meaning small and compact with a 35mm sensor giving great picture quality and the one feature that the previous camera did not have a built in an EVF.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

3

0

Performance and weight

DSC-RX1RM2 09 April 2017 by bj80 (United Kingdom)

I have only had the camera for 10 days and know that I have made the right decision. Being an active members of a Camera Club and an Audio Visual Group I needed quality and this I have without excessive weight. Eureka!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

An esoteric classic

DSC-RX1RM2 05 December 2016 by MNB1 (United Kingdom)

I had the original RX1 and although it could be difficult to use sometimes, the images it was capable of 'painting' were just outstanding. The RX1R II builds on the original, improving the image quality, but also improving practically everything else at the same time. As a result, the RX1R II is just so enjoyable to use, with faster auto focus and in much lower light than before, face detection AF (this is amazing) and that lovely built in viewfinder. The build is the same as the original – it feels like a solid chunk of metal. It is such a neat and clever little package - it just wants to be picked up and used! And because it is so small, it isn't intimidating, so has the potential of taking far more natural shots of people. A lot of work was put into this camera (and the originals) by its designers, and it shows. I thank Sony for having the foresight and the vision to create these RX1 cameras in the first place. They are true classics, and very, very special.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

23

0

0

Love the PDAF but super poor battery life

DSC-RX1RM2 E32 23 October 2016 by jin19 (Singapore)

First of all, the picture quality is one of the top you can find. However, the battery life is very poor. Autofocus is improved especially AF-C with PDAF. It makes taking photo much faster especially when combined with IAF, the only thing is when using this method, the battery drains very fasy. When covering an event and using it intensively, it can only last 2 hours. Using flash and EVF will also drain the battery very fast. Moving the Autofocus point is slow and difficult. The up-down-right-left button cannot be assigned to move the Autofocus point, it made me lost lots of opportunities to take good photos because of this. When shooting raw, it cannot use the zoom/crop factor like Leica-Q so it's not possible to take the advantage of the 42MP. Hopefully, Sony will release firmware update for the Mark ii instead of only implement it in the Mark iii as this is not a cheap camera. Some features are hidden from the menu and difficult to find. In future, I hope Sony will implement joystick and the LCD can be tilt to take selfie.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Great pictures

DSC-RX1RM2 13 October 2016 by Roland II (United Kingdom)

New camera, photos quality better than my Nikon D810's

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

21

11

0

Love it very much.

DSC-RX1RM2 E32 11 October 2016 by alfred koh (Malaysia)

I bought this for my wedding shooting at paris and at first it was quite worriying to invest, but I have no regrets after I got those beautiful pictures!! I'm very happy and appreciate the quality of the camera. I was a DSLR photographer many years back and I quit because of the bulkiness of the setup. And that is why i love this camera very very much.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love the IQ

DSC-RX1RM2 E32 29 August 2016 by Rob7711 (Malaysia)

I bought this camera primarily for its IQ and its compact size. So far it has not disappointed me in this respect. The Zeiss lens renders beautifully paired to this sensor and the raw files requires just minimum processing to produce beautiful images. Brilliant and quite happy with what it can produce. The aperture ring is a bit of a pain to find with the camera to the eye. I wish Sony could have incorporated some kind of diametrically located "lugs" on the aperture ring so that I could quickly feel and locate the ring accurately. I also wish for a manual focus distance scale on the lens and some way to lock the set focus distance. Often the focus ring gets bumped too easily due to the compact size of this camera. The menu system takes quite a bit of getting used to and can be quite confusing. An example is trying to get eye focus to work. Did I mention that there is no touch screen on this camera? Why Sony?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Great portability and image quality

DSC-RX1RM2 E32 21 August 2016 by thepoet (Singapore)

I bought this recently as I needed a compact camera for general photography. The excellent full frame sony sensor married with a sharp 35/f2 zeiss lens is the perfect combination for my needs.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Great

DSC-RX1RM2 E32 23 May 2016 by PingPing (Thailand)

Great to use, improve focus than last Rx1/Rx1r especialy in low light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superlative performance. Neat Package.

DSC-RX1RM2 05 May 2016 by Gadgetman2 (United Kingdom)

I purchased and have used this camera for a couple of months. It may be small but its performance is exceptionally strong. I use whenever I don't feel like taking out my A7rmk2. It delivers amazing performance.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

21

9

0

Feels so special and takes beautiful images

DSC-RX1RM2 12 April 2016 by Ash007 (United Kingdom)

Only had it a month so still getting used to it. Loving it so far! Takes amazingly sharp pictures and is lovely in terms of size and weight. Professional results instantly! Needs a spare battery or two on tap though. Fantastic travel camera and street camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

16

12

0

pocket size pro camera

DSC-RX1RM2 02 April 2016 by Bobthedog (United Kingdom)

I received this two weeks ago, and because of its small size I can have it with me, whereas I wouldn't have bothered to take my nikon 700 and lens out with me. Far more convenient, and hence I am back in to taking a lot more shots than before.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

19

3

0

A Marvel of Engineering - 42MP Full Frame is Tiny!

DSC-RX1RM2 01 April 2016 by Splat (United Kingdom)

Having had the original RX1R, sold it and then bought it back again, i knew what i was getting into. These produce stunning results with the Zeiss Sonnar 35mm f2 lens and now with the 42mp sensor, built in EVF & flip out rear screen, it had everything i thought the first version was missing. I tent now to leave my larger Sony A7Rii at homeless i know i'm planning to take plenty of pictures. I find the form factor of this little camera makes me want to take it and use it more & more. Sony have done very well to combine their best sensor to date with one of the best 35mm f2 lenses made. The pictures have a unique look to them and i am very happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

32

2

0

Before I die !

DSC-RX1RM2 18 March 2016  (United Kingdom)

In over four decades of picture taking I lusted after a compact quality tool to record images with. In the old days a red spot signified such a tool but hideously inflated purchase prices put things well out of reach. The RX 1 r m2 is now fulfilling may dream. Sure it is also expensive but is probably better than similar items with red dots on them. I just had to have one before I die !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

27

6

0

Amazing IQ

DSC-RX1RM2 E32 16 March 2016 by woon (Singapore)

bought this for my tokyo trip a week ago. i wanted to travel light so left my m4/3 and MF camera (with all the lens) in drybox. Took me awhile to get familiar with the menu system, but afterwards, the RX1m2 performed much better than i expected

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

8

0

0

Superb in every way, but one...

DSC-RX1RM2 13 March 2016 by Nowelly (United Kingdom)

The best compact camera you can buy, but get many batteries!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

19

8

0

The best !!!.

DSC-RX1RM2 16 January 2016 by impman (United Kingdom)

I owned one of the first NEX cameras and although it was a lovely little camera and the results were stunning it lacked a view finder and the screen was difficult to see in bright sunlight.That was then, this is now. I have been a photographer since the 70,s, and always wanted to own a camera manufactured by the German company beginning with L.So recently with the introduction of their new full frame no so compact camera I started to look at the reviews, which are all very good.However,my research lead me on to consider the Sony RX1R 11 and I quickly discovered that the cameras although neck and neck on the specs front, offered different things.Firstly, the Sony is truly compact and is as well made as any top of the range camera.Secondly, the results are stunning, this lens is as good as it gets,and finally it is easy to use.I,m so glad I went for this camera and is one camera I will keep for a long time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

79

62