167

3.8 based on 167 customer reviews

80
32
20
15
20
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Pros/Cons

MDR-XB950N1 22 July 2017 by MWFV (USA)

Noise cancelling is better on the X1000s, but the XB950N1s sound better for the types of music I enjoy, and invoke more of an emotional response. Tons of bass even w/o enabling "the bass effect" button. X1000s also have a LOT less background hiss when no music is playing compared to the XB950N1s. I prefer the buttons on the XB950N1s over the swipe controls on the X1000s, but the "hand for ambient noise" feature the X1000s offer is awesome and much missed with these. The X1000s are also slightly more comfortable than the XB950N1s, but neither are as light or comfortable as the QC35s. The Bose QC35s are a great all around headphone, but of the three mentioned I've kept the XB950N1s around to keep. The bass output and overall headroom are perfect for pop, hip hop, EDM and other contemporary styles. I hope someday Sony elects to combine some of the features of the X1000s w/ the sound profile of the XB950N1s, and the light weight and comfort of the QC35 - they would have a killer on their hands!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

17

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Poor Quality - Amazing sound.

MDR-XB950N1 03 May 2019 by seb23 (United Kingdom)

Do not buy these!! They have Amazing sound. But the design quality is absolutely terrible. You will only realise this 6 months down the line!! I have bought these twice and have had the same issues. The first time, my headphones got sent to sony and they said it will not be covered in warranty and they will not repair for free. In fac t, they said the repair will cost more than the actual headphones. Can you believe that? I was left extremely upset because I know this is down to how they are designed. I have found that many people have had the same issue. So - I bought another pair hoping that I can avoid this issue. I also bought a hard-case for them (Which I had to get from a third party on amazon as they do not offer this). To ensure extra protection. My second pair have broken (See the picture). In the exact same place. I have never dropped them or anything. I take care of my products. These headphones do have great base. But it's not worth the stress. Do not by these at all. Get something that is built stronger and reflects the cost. Many people have had these issues online!! I really did not expect this for a product that is not cheap! I'm disappointed as a fan of sony and the headphones. I'm writting this to try and help others. Cause I have been ripped off twice now. Do NOT Buy!!!!!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

20

0

168 Customer Reviews

0

Fair.

MDRXB950N1GME 03 October 2019  (Malaysia)

I believe that this is an amazing product! Really underrated tbh. I got it for my birthday and up to this point after about 2 solid weeks of using the product, i must say that it has held up quite well despite being a 2 year old product. All in all, it's fantastic!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very disappointed

MDR-XB950N1 19 September 2019 by lmiller2281 (USA)

My son, 19 yrs old, loves these headphones. He values all his electronics. The hanger broke easily on these headphones. Last black Friday, I bought a second pair because he loved them so much. I even bought the extra warranty offered by Amazon in case the hanger broke again. My son was extra careful with the headphones. He kept them in a case if he wasn't wearing them. No one else in the house allowed to touch them. The hanger on these broke again after 6 months. I contacted Sony about the warranty. They stated wasn't covered. I contacted the extra warranty I purchased from Amazon. They told me Sony should cover the hanger. I had to send them the Sony warranty. After disputing for 4 months. No one will cover breakage to hanger. Bottom line wonder headphones but the hanger will break even if you handle them like a baby. VERY VERY VERY disappointing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good quality

MDRXB950N1BME 12 September 2019 by Qinnx (Malaysia)

I am satisfied with the product, quality and sounds exellent.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sound quality and amazing bass

MDR-XB950N1 09 September 2019 by Kirula S (USA)

I got these as a gift in December of 2018 and they are easily the best pair of headphones i have used in a while. The sound quality is great, even with maximum bass. The bass however does not take away from the mids and the highs. The ear cups are super thick and are great for extended period of time. The noise canceling are is sub par. Its not great and you shouldn't buy them specifically for the NC. I was able to use them on a 16 hour flight and they held up pretty well. After around 5 hours or so I had to take them off to give my ears a rest since these headphones are pretty big. The headphones are also pretty wide so trying to sleep with them on was very difficult. The app is nice and lets you select how much bass you want. The controls are also great, dedicated NC and extra bass button. The pause play and skip button is easy to use and connecting a phone with NFC is super easy. Overall great pair of headphones!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It's okay

MDR-XB950N1 02 September 2019  (USA)

The sound is so good the bass is best with rap songs which is good...... But the problem is that the swivel broke in 3 months on both sides, of light usage, i dropped it once not where it broke though.. Would I suggest it? (maybe if they actually took action on this and refunded them or actually just notice what is going on with their headphones)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Bass for days

MDR-XB950N1 31 August 2019 by Coco B (United Kingdom)

Always been a fan of sony headphones especially the extra bass. Never disappointed

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good noise cut features

MDR-XB950N1 28 August 2019 by Old bugger (United Kingdom)

Tried a few times sofar and feel satisfied. The sound quality is excellent. Not yet tried it on a flight.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing

MDR-XB950N1 24 August 2019 by Disney6969 (United Kingdom)

Absolutely fantastic but wish it came in a selection of colours. I would of preferred a bright electric blue

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

GREAT headphone. !

MDR-XB950N1 06 August 2019 by whannemann (Thailand)

The bass is amazing. I love it. Great sound and Noise canceling

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good and bad

MDR-XB950N1 05 August 2019 by Benit1 (USA)

These are the best headphones I’ve ever bought, they sounded fantastic with the bass effect on! But the plastic design is horrible I was so disappointed when I was adjusting them and they snapped like nothing and I don’t feel like buying another pair of them. I just wish they were stronger.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Like having the Mega Bass from my old Walkman

MDR-XB950N1 29 July 2019 by mac_mike (United Kingdom)

Absolutely fantastic headphones. As I said in the title, the extra bass reminds me of my old Walkman Mega Bass setting. You don’t need to have this on all the time as the the regular bass is also quite good.This has to be one of the best pairs of headphones I’ve had (and that includes my Bose ones). The app that goes with it is great. I thought the sound centre app was only for your home audio equipment, but it really works well with your headphones if you download the additional headphone app.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sound quality is good, durability is poor

MDR-XB950N1 24 July 2019 by Sonyreveiwer (USA)

I bought this headphone a little over a year ago and the parts of the headphone that connect to the ear piece broke on one side first and then the other side recently. With the amount I paid for these, I honestly thought they would and should be more durable. The sound quality is good tho.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Features / Poor Quality in Parts

MDR-XB950N1 20 July 2019 by BigE607 (USA)

I bought this product and loved everything about these headphones from performance to comfort. After three months the "left hanger" broke. This seems to be a common flaw with this model. I have been searching for the replacement "left hanger" and they are available for the previous model on ebay and amazon which is the B1. If you bought the N1 listed in this review you are out of luck. Sony was NOT supportive and pretty much useless when it came to this issue. Looks like i am out $240. Still using them thanks to gorilla glue and electrical tape which is unacceptable. Last pair of headphones I'll be purchasing from Sony.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great deal!

MDR-XB950N1 11 July 2019 by G2007 (USA)

My mom bought this for me as a gift renewed from Amazon and they are amazing. Even if they are 2 years old I don't care. When the time is right I think Sony should release a newer version of this. Like and XB950N2.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Okay

MDR-XB950N1 06 July 2019 by nikki2019 (USA)

I received these headphones as a birthday present from my husband. When I think noise cancelling, I was thinking that it wouldn’t pick up conversations from across the room. That’s not the case. I can still hear conversations that are further than 5 feet away. The only way to drown out background noise is to turn the volume up to a high level. It does cancel out indoor air movement but other noises becoming clearer.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great sound & love the noise cancelling

MDR-XB950N1 01 July 2019 by Terry79 (United Kingdom)

I was bought these for my birthday & am very pleased with them, the sound quality is amazing, noise cancelling function is excellent, the app that goes with them is very good especially how you can change the sound effect & I didn't realise you could take a phone call through them which was a very nice surprise.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb sound & quality

MDR-XB950N1 01 July 2019 by Sony Guy (United Kingdom)

Excellent product, well designed, just what I was looking for.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good for music, Extremely bad for calls

MDR-XB950N1 22 June 2019 by mzheng (USA)

I got these headphones a few months ago, and while they have been pretty good for listening to music, the microphone picks up an incredible amount of background noise when making calls, and it is virtually impossible for people on the other end to hear. I've had to disconnect bluetooth and switch the calls to my phone which is incredibly inconvenient given that I spend a lot of time in airports. Wish they could do something about this, or maybe it is an issue that has just come up recently.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Solid and high-quality

MDR-XB950N1 20 June 2019 by iCookie (United Kingdom)

I have always enjoyed deep bass in my music, and these headphones provide that in its entirety. They are very well made and provide a crisp and broad sound range even through bluetooth.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

All about the BASS!

MDR-XB950N1 14 June 2019 by tjlim1202 (Malaysia)

Love the bass, the sound quality and the built. The only downsides are the the noise canceling feature and the lack of apps equalizer.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

do not buy

MDR-XB950N1 08 June 2019 by Bimmer (USA)

Had the headphone for 4 months, now the sound lacks bass and there is scraping sound.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

these suck!

MDR-XB950N1 08 June 2019 by warhammer5 (USA)

these are terrible!! i cant stretch this enough, NEVER BUY THESE! They always break where they attach to the muff, they have broken THREE TIMES SINCE I GOT THEM 6 MONTHS AGO! IVE HAD TO REPARE THEM THREE TIMES NOW WITH GORILLA GLUE!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

One of the best headphones from Sony so far

MDR-XB950N1 31 May 2019 by Ajan (United Kingdom)

Looks - great Feels - great Sounds - Great Design - Delicate handling required

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Headphones are the best BUT...

MDR-XB950N1 25 May 2019 by Mtas2887 (USA)

Wish I knew how to write sony because I owed the sony xb-950N1s and even the BTs before that, and both models had the speakers go out and start rattling! I listen to my headphones at work Monday through Friday 40 plus hours a week and even on the weekends so I use them A LOT!! But it's like these headphones had a certain life span because both models had speakers that failed in about 3 to 4 months of using them everyday like I just mentioned.. I Never dropped them nor had any type of damage done to them at all. Just simply using them daily.. Then one day you go to put them on and BAM RATTLED SPEAKERS! So frustrating so disappointing!! I love the sony N1's so much!! This is now my 2nd pair I will be returning to Amazon which is just a hassle to do every few months because that means I have to go without headphones just to get my money back and then reorder new ones! I even avoided using the bass affect entirely with my 2nd pair because I thought the speakers blew because of the bass affect.. I didn't turn on the bass effect one time on my 2nd go with these headphones and they still did the same thing the BTs did to me! Heartbreaking.. Oh how I wish I could share this with Sony!! I want these headphones so bad but I would love a lifetime warranty for this issue because how is this my fault.. These headphones are almost perfect! And would be if Sony could help me here..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The noise cancelling feature is lacking

MDR-XB950N1 17 May 2019 by Christina R (USA)

I bought these as a home set so I don't have to take my work pair back and forth, as I need NC headphones to be able to concentrate on things at home while other people are running around the space. My work pair are the Sony MX100XM2, but I didn't want to pay that much money for noise cancellers. I saw good reviews for this pair, so went for it, but after using these, am regretting this purchase. The noise cancelling feature barely makes a difference, as I can hear everything around me (near and far) with noise cancelling enabled, with and without music. I'm regretting buying these because of how ineffective the NC is, especially compared the the MX1000XM2s.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

ace headphones

MDR-XB950N1 12 May 2019 by himself13 (United Kingdom)

Bought these as i wanted a good pair of wireless headphones, but not stupid prices and noise reduction. There comfortable to wear and the sound is brilliant, but whats even more brilliant is i can be in the garden and connect to my pc in the front room with no loss of sound and still control my music.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Class

MDR-XB950N1 10 May 2019 by JSP55 (United Kingdom)

Great product if a bit over priced Comfortable ☆☆☆

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Experience !

MDRXB950N1BME 06 May 2019 by Amir Jalal (Malaysia)

The features is good, with noise cancellation and extra bass.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Poor Quality - Amazing sound.

MDR-XB950N1 03 May 2019 by seb23 (United Kingdom)

Do not buy these!! They have Amazing sound. But the design quality is absolutely terrible. You will only realise this 6 months down the line!! I have bought these twice and have had the same issues. The first time, my headphones got sent to sony and they said it will not be covered in warranty and they will not repair for free. In fac t, they said the repair will cost more than the actual headphones. Can you believe that? I was left extremely upset because I know this is down to how they are designed. I have found that many people have had the same issue. So - I bought another pair hoping that I can avoid this issue. I also bought a hard-case for them (Which I had to get from a third party on amazon as they do not offer this). To ensure extra protection. My second pair have broken (See the picture). In the exact same place. I have never dropped them or anything. I take care of my products. These headphones do have great base. But it's not worth the stress. Do not by these at all. Get something that is built stronger and reflects the cost. Many people have had these issues online!! I really did not expect this for a product that is not cheap! I'm disappointed as a fan of sony and the headphones. I'm writting this to try and help others. Cause I have been ripped off twice now. Do NOT Buy!!!!!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

20

0

0

Good Sound Quality - Poor Construction

MDR-XB950N1 27 April 2019 by Thatguy9999 (USA)

This is the fourth pair of Sony Bluetooth headphones I have owned in the last 3 years. All pair have broken at the swivel connection. This is the last anything Sony I’m buying. This pair MDR9501NT lasted approximately 4 months; the shortest period of any of the Sonys I have owned. I take care of my tools and equipment. I use these daily approximately 8-12hrs a day; while driving. I like the noise cancelling tech; but hate that they don’t last. At the current price point, I’d have been better off buying expensive aviation headphones; had I only known in the beginning.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Product is of a very poor quality

MDR-XB950N1 26 April 2019 by Unhappy STEVE (USA)

Headed phones broke at pivot point. Not covered by warranty. 4 months old. These headphones are made of the poorest quality materials and where not abused fell apart while I was wearing them

4

0

0

Great Useful Features

MDR-XB950N1 08 April 2019 by Toure (USA)

I had the Sony MDR-XB950N1 for a month now. They are really good on the bass, and nice on the mids and highs. Noise Cancelling is a great feature for travelling. Extra Bass is useful for songs lacking bass. One full charge would last me several days. The earpads are very comfortable. However, I'm just being real careful on these. They could probably break on the swivel.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great headphones! But can't connect to PS4

MDR-XB950N1 02 April 2019 by Pablorengo (USA)

Sync with your phone is not really straightforward the first time, but then they work perfectly. The bad thing is that they can't connect to the PlayStation 4 via Bluetooth

Design

Excellent

1

0

0

The best headphones for bass lovers

MDR-XB950N1 15 March 2019 by Mikki555 (USA)

It’s been over a year since I have been using this lot of headphones. Bass is excellent,perfect for anyway that you listen to music. Noise canceling is great I can’t hear a thing. I would recommend these to anyone looking for a quality pair of Noise Canceling,Bass headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Unfortunately I can not recommend

MDR-XB950N1 07 March 2019 by devoperandi (USA)

I bought these headphones Nov 28th, 2018 from BestBuy. By mid February 2019, the battery is dead and even after repeated attempts, reading the manual etc etc, it is not chargeable. This product has great sound, excellent features and all the makings of a great product, except the battery.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Bass is crazy -compared with Bose qc 35 ii

MDR-XB950N1 06 March 2019 by Gangster mac (USA)

Just crazy good. Bass is the best around so far...,............

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

One of the best bang for bucks!

MDRXB950N1GME 01 March 2019 by kidwheadphones (Singapore)

The overall sound quality is fantastic, and with the extra bass effect, it can really get you into a groove. Overall comfort is good, doesnt feel like though its pressing against your head, and the ear cups dont really make your ears feel warm

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Good bluetooth, terrible, cheap 3.5 connection

MDRXB950N1/B 28 February 2019 by statickinematic (USA)

Firstly, the audio, when it works, is great. The headphone jack however, is incredibly cheap, it must have cost Sony 2 cents per unit. It does not hold onto the cable properly and busts quickly. My first pair was going strong for about 1.5 months before the audio stopped working through the headphone jack. The audio was barely audible. I got to use the replacement pair only once, the headphone jack NEVER worked properly. The midrange audio or something was not working, no voices were coming through. At this price, Sony should provide proper hardware. This experience has severely tarnished my view of Sony, I can no longer rely on their name for quality products.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Overall Review

MDRXB950N1BME 28 February 2019 by Ericlee95 (Malaysia)

Nice comfort, solid build, amazing bass and nice clarity...... I hope the ear cup space is bigger , because it makes the ears sweat. And provide more colour options..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Product...Poor design

MDR-XB950N1 20 February 2019 by JDubs (USA)

The headphones have beautiful audio quality whether it be connected to my phone or to my computer or wired. But the design is just so incredibly poor for their price. At $250 dollars they should not break at all. Mine broke at both hangers after about 8 months - 1 year and I have been zip-tying them and taping them for the remaining year. This is completely ridiculous. I've been gentle and babied them too. My suggestion SONY, make the hangers very strong aluminum, lightweight but durable. Milled, not cast. Id pay $300 for these with hangers that would never break.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Good Sound / Poor Construction

MDR-XB950N1 19 February 2019 by mrugglesaz (USA)

My wife bought these as a gift for me last June from Best Buy. I use these every day at work and carry them back and forth using a hard clamshell case that I bought only days after my wife gave them to me. I treat these phones with care and respect since they were a gift from my wife and, at $125.00, they represent a significant price upgrade from the $50.00 Skullcandy Hesh 2 phones I lost. I take care of my things and expect them to last. The sound on these is pretty good and the features are nice. I enjoy the noise cancelling feature and the extra base feature works fine. One thing that does annoy is an occasional, repeated drop of the sound signal, which can only be described as a “hiccup” during song playback. There are supposed to be different playing modes that you can enter by turning the phones on while holding a combination of buttons that’s supposed to suppress this problem. These different playing modes have never worked for me. Furthermore, this is a problem that I have never experienced using any Skullcandy phones at half the price of these. Now on to the real reason for this review. As I said before, I transport these phones in a hard case and treat them very gently. Last week I rotated the left cup and held it to my ear to listen to something without putting them completely on. The cups on these phones rotate so that they can lay flat for easier packing and also for “DJ” style listening. A little while later when I went to put them on, I noticed one of the arms that held the left ear cup was broken. So the weight of the phones being held sideways to listen to only one cup must have broken the arm. To say that I was disappointed is a vast understatement. However, the disappointment was only beginning. I went home and located the receipt. These phones are only eight months old and there’s a one-year warranty. Cool. I still had the box with the original paperwork (that’s how new they are) so I broke it out and called Sony Customer Support and told them my story expecting them to replace these defective phones. Less than ten minutes into the call the guy on the other end says, “Let me check our database.” [Keyboard typing sounds…] “No, I don’t see any reports of this type of problem with this model so this would fall under physical damage, which is not covered under the warranty. You can try calling an authorized repair shop to see if they can be fixed.” What?! Frustrated, I took the number and called the repair center, which is located in New York. They said they could be fixed. It would be $18.00 to ship them, $75.00/hour for labor, plus parts. So $93.00 before parts to fix some phones that my wife originally paid $125.00 for? “No thanks,” I told the lady, “I’ll try to glue them back together myself or get a different pair.” I guarantee if it comes to the latter option, it won’t be another pair of Sony phones. By the way, now that I’m looking on the Sony website, I see that there are several reports of the exact same problem that I had. I don’t know what database the Sony Customer Rep was searching, but obviously it wasn’t their own website. Avoid this model unless you want the same hassle. Seriously. You’ve been warned.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

11

0

0

The sound was good, phenomenal..BUT..

MDRXB950N1BME 19 February 2019 by Rabani89 (Malaysia)

I bought this last week and honestly the headphone was good. You literally in your own world when listening to this music. The bass boost is always on, however I dont increase nor decrease the bass level on the apps. The noise cancelling is average. Overall, I enjoy this when I am using it to play PUBG or listening to music.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Breaks Really Easily

MDR-XB950N1 18 February 2019 by Chettri25 (USA)

These headphones lasted around 2 years for me. I dropped it three times over those years and they finally broke. The sound quality is ok and the bass effect is cool. But again these broke only after 2 years, c'mon.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

1

0

The BASS is AMAZING!!! (So is the noise canceling)

MDR-XB950N1 17 February 2019 by exsuperboy (USA)

Got these a couple of weeks back for my birthday, and the bass in really good, and the digital noise canceling is also pretty good, and the app lets you change the bass level, so even if you want clear bass, it still works with the noise canceling and the amazing sound quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Broke after a few months

MDR-XB950N1 15 February 2019 by quatsch (USA)

Bought these six months ago, and until recently was relatively happy. They work Great with my iPhone, however I am unable to connect by Bluetooth to my Mac which is a bit annoying. Also was using them with an android for a bit, was able to connect, but had problems with the volume being extremely low, even when it was turned all the way up on the device. A bit hard to figure out how to use as well. Then last week, the plastic holding the ear piece on started cracking and is continuing to get worse. These were extremely expensive, the guy even talked me into buying these over the other option which was ~$100 less. If these are only going to work for 6 months, they are definitely not worth the high price. Before these, I had a similar pair of Bose headphones for almost four years and only replaced them because they had finally naturally worn out. Now I'm thinking I should have replaced them and stayed with Bose and not switched to Sony

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

8

0

0

It's is very good in bass

MDRXB950N1BME 15 February 2019 by Weedontyh (Malaysia)

So happy to having this earphone, recommend bass lover to buy it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Extreme Bass

MDR-XB950N1 14 February 2019 by Jeffery12345 (United Kingdom)

I bought these so I could listen to my bassline tunes and the quality is excellent.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Only compatible with I-phone!!

MDR-XB950N1 13 February 2019 by Gatorjoe (USA)

I loved how this sounded with my i-phone in the store so much that I bought one for my brother. it was on sale for $119 at Best Buy. Even though it has android logos on the box, it's made for i-phone, so no non apple devices can locate these in blue tooth mode. Very disappointing. I would have liked to use these wireless with my laptop. Also, don't ever loose the charging cable. It will only charge well with the one it came with. If it weren't for the blue tooth problems with compatibility outside I-phones, this would be a 5 for sound quality for the money. Noise reduction takes away low humming of electronics, AC. Very peaceful to use at work or when traveling. The headset is heavy /bulky, but comfortable.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

7

0

Nice piece of equipment

MDR-XB950N1 12 February 2019 by Stingray66 (United Kingdom)

I bought the headphones three weeks ago. Although I'm pleased with the product, I had been expecting more noise "cancelling" (as described), rather than merely a degree of noise mitigation.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Almost Good

MDR-XB950N1 11 February 2019 by winklevi (USA)

These headphones have great sound quality and battery life, but the uncomfortably tight fit and horrid "noise cancelling" ruin what could have been a great product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound, terrible durability

MDR-XB950N1 08 February 2019 by Stevenco33 (USA)

I bought these for the bass heavy profile due to the types of music I like to listen to. These were the first headphones I ever bought that cost more than a hundred bucks. And I have to say the sound quality is awesome if you love bass. Not the best for other genres however. But the controls are easy to use. Overall I was very satisfied with my purchase. But then after only a couple of months of regular use the part above the hangars where they swivel just cracked while I was walking through the mall with them on. I felt it loose on my head so I reached up to see what the matter and could feel the break with my hand. I took them off and became heartbroken to find that they had indeed broken. I have had to super glue it back together. Now I am scared to even wear them at all, because I am afraid ether the other side will do the same thing or else my super glue is not going to hold. I am so very disappointed. I have owned a lot of Sony products over the years. Multiple PlayStations, surround sound receivers and speakers. Car stereos, ear buds, jam boxes, you name it and I've probably had it. But this has been the most disappointing experience I have had so far. I just don't think this particular choice of plastic was a very good one. If you buy these, I really don't know what to tell you when it comes to how to handle them. Because I was very delicate with mine. I cannot believe they just popped while they were on my head. That's unbelievable. And I don't consider myself to have a big head. So if you buy these, good luck to you.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Headphones

MDRXB950N1/B 03 February 2019 by Skylar (USA)

The MRD-XB9500N1 suck and will not link to my phone after about a month of use. I wouldn’t suggest these things to anyone and I really want my money back. Your online support sucks too because I cannot message anyone, I can’t figure these headphones out but thanks for wasting my money and time!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

2

0

Great features!

MDR-XB950N1 03 February 2019 by Valle 41 (United Kingdom)

Easy to handle, attractive design. Works excellent with high quality sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Headphone Jack Breaks

MDR-XB950N1 28 January 2019 by Bradley35 (USA)

I mainly use the Bluetooth connection which works great and has good sound. But when I needed to use an aux wire to hook them up to my electric drum set the female end pushed up into the headphones and is no longer usable. The Bluetooth still works but now I need to buy another pair of headphones for my drum set and not gonna waste another $250 again.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

The good and bad

MDRXB950N1/B 28 January 2019 by Makus (USA)

Great sound and great noise cancellation. That would give this product 5 stars. In less than one year the plastic holding the swivel ear cup cracked. Its only a matter of time till it falls off and the headphones are not usable. Life span of the headphones less than one year...unacceptable. Was going to get a Sony UHDTV but that is unlikely now.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

0

Excellent sound reproduction

MDR-XB950N1 12 January 2019 by Ant49 (United Kingdom)

I use headphones to work out bass lines so extra bass is very helpful and there are no cables to restrict movement.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Loved headphones, but broke in less than a month.

MDRXB950N1/B 07 January 2019 by BamaMac (USA)

I bought them less than a month ago and plastic broke that holds the ear muff. I never traveled with the headphones only used them at my desk. Sound was good for the price, app was easy to use. Loved them till they broke. But cannot recommend them due to lack of durability.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Great Product!

MDR-XB950N1 03 January 2019 by Katey_H (USA)

I received these headphones as a Christmas gift. They have a wonderful sound and they feel very sturdy. I basically haven't taken them off since I received them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

I'd give it six stars if possible.

MDR-XB950N1 19 December 2018 by revdavidmarshall (USA)

I write a lot and needed to cut out noise from Starbucks. My old headphones required that I turn up the volume to drown out the noise. But, with these, I can keep the volume quite low (saving my hearing in the process). Somedays, I just keep the noise cancelling on and don't even play music. I have charged the headphones only a few times. The battery life is simply amazing. Lastly, yesterday I played Abbey Road and it was like I was hearing it again for the first time. It has unbelievable sound. I paired the headphones with the Jet Audio music app (and I paid the $3 for the upgraded version - well worth it!). Somehow, that app works well with these headphones and can give a soundstage that is truly incredible. I listen to a lot of classical and choral music while writing. The headphones are able to handle that style of music as well as the Beatles and Foster the People. Great job Sony!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great bass and amazing battery!

MDR-XB950N1 18 December 2018 by Angelo96m (USA)

They sounds amazing and can go days without having to charge it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Sounds great, but ridiculously fragile

MDR-XB950N1 28 November 2018 by caffeinewriter (USA)

I loved the sound quality of these headphones so much, I bought two pairs. Now, I regret it because they're built like liquid glass. Both pairs broke within a year in the exact same manner: The plastic bits holding the actual headphones to the band snapped. They weren't subjected to any abnormal wear. They didn't travel. They either sat on my desk, or were on my head, and the plastic bits snapped. Twice on one pair, and once on the other. I've held it together using Bondic and Sugru for now, but I will absolutely not be buying another pair unless some material changes are made.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

1

0

Best Extra Bass headphones ever

MDRXB950N1BME 21 November 2018 by Hiro Tay (Malaysia)

The sound quality and the bass are amazing on this headphones. I enjoyed a lot especially on EDM and heavy bass songs. However, the build quality is not really satisfied. The hinges are made of plastic and weird sound are produced every time adjust my headphones. Overall, good headphones and really hope to see the improvement on built quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Poor construction

MDR-XB950N1 19 November 2018 by Kyle14 (USA)

No complaints on the sound quality or noise cancellation: both are excellent. The design, however, is cumbersome, and the plastics used to shape the headband and support the cups are not sturdy. After one year and ten days of use (just outside of warranty) the plastic supporting the left ear cup broke today. I will not purchase from Sony again, a $250 pair of headphones should last more than 375 days.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Poor materials

MDR-XB950N1 17 November 2018 by Madmaddox (USA)

I Bought the headphones 1 year ago and 6 months of using them they cracked where the headphone connects to head band .So I called Sony to see if I could get a new pair of headphones and they sent them to me. 1 year later they are cracking and falling apart and now held together my super glue and electrical tape.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

8

0

0

Not Bad

MDR-XB950N1 09 November 2018 by WheatGuy (USA)

Overall good sound quality and bass, feels a bit flimsy and sometimes takes a while to connect.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awsome

MDRXB950N1/B 25 October 2018 by Adrian0078 (USA)

I bought it today and am so really happy that I did ..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Great headphones with really bad plastic

MDR-XB950N1 21 October 2018 by bountyhuntrz74 (USA)

I got these headphones about 6 months ago and the plastic holding the earcup to the headband completely sheared off, luckily I can use epoxy to fix this but still really cheap weak plastic, please update on the next iteration of these headphones

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Great Sound

MDR-XB950N1 18 October 2018 by Labs (Philippines)

Amazing sound , phenomenal bass , good price , great build.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super bass and comfort

MDRXB950N1GME 15 October 2018 by sstanz85 (Malaysia)

This headphone was comfortable to wear in long hours, all adjustable button features on ear cup which is very convenient. The Sony headphones apps need to improve due to always refresh upon reassess into the app

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Surprising sound quality, punchy bass on demand

MDR-XB950N1 10 October 2018 by The Bug (USA)

I bought these at the beginning of summer - June - and I’ve enjoyed them when I’m home and want more punch than Airpods. You can hear everything in the recording, from string noise to the intake of breath. The noise cancelling works pretty well; there’s still a slight pass through of sound, but it make a bigger difference the louder the environment is: in a jet they’re perfect, at a construction site, not so much. I think they’re tuned to let a little of the vocal range in. But for the price ( 150 on Amazon sale ) I couldn’t imagine a better headset. The sound stage is a total waste of a good technology- Sony should have allowed us to customize the 3D soundscape better - 5 presets are more of a demo. And as for the bass enhancement, they’re well tuned with just turning it on - increasing it makes the bass almost overpowering and exhausting. Bottom line is these are seriously great headphones, they’re big, big on bass and big on clean sound - which is enhanced with the noise canceling feature. The other features are really a let down: they could have done so much more. Instead we get a demo of 5 3D sound stages showing the potential but have no way to tune it. The enhanced bass is ok at +2 or 3, but after that it just get absurd which is fun for a while but really makes your ears tired. Get these if your looking for good sound and like beautiful pure bass. You’ll love them too!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Is a Great SONY HEADPHONE ever

MDR-XB950N1 27 September 2018 by JeremyYHS (Malaysia)

Long time ago I was child I try wear sony headphone from my father that sony headphone was a nice sound and so better than other headphones that why I bought it and now still nice sound I so happy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0