136

4.6 based on 136 customer reviews

102
23
5
3
3
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product models, variations and/or features and services mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Amazing!

ILCE-7RM4/BQAP2 08 January 2020 by Zantistic (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have been using this beast almost a month now, and I have say it has lives up to his name "Alpha" and expectation. Coming from someone who have been using Nikon DSLR for years, well I'm very please and impressed with this mirrorless performance, on how it focus, tracks and detects face and eyes with ease. I'm always looking forward to shoot more pictures with this camera cause I know I will get amazing result. Here are some samples on what this camera can do.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

14

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Very poor in low light

ILCE-7RM4 09 February 2020 by MikkiY (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pros - superb detail in a studio or good light. Better ergonomics than the Riii. Cons - atrocious noise even at very low ISO. This is probably a side effect of the huge number of pixels but it is unacceptable in a high end camera.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

16

1

137 Customer Reviews

0

Great Camera

ILCE-7RM4 29 July 2021 by Alantq12 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great camera but you will need the best lenses to get the most out of it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great so far

ILCE-7RM4A 26 July 2021 by TGMi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my first full frame digital camera having had a A6000 for the few years. So far the difference has been impressive, picture quality, auto focus speed, flexibility/ customisability and robustness. I am still finding my way around it but there is plenty of different support resources on line. Biggest learning point so far; with continuous focus tracking on, and fast burst speeds you can fill up a very expensive fast Sd card very quickly. The results are worth it though.,

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brilliant but complex

ILCE-7RM4 25 July 2021 by Wideangle (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased 2 months ago and still learning it I have a good book on it but it’s learning not to forget something when setting it up. By that time the subjects disappeared

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

All round performance supetb

ILCE-7RM4 13 July 2021 by Jimmy one shot (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

All aways had sony cameras and the A7r iv is the best by far

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Not good, so far

ILCE-7RM4 10 July 2021 by Red Lightbulb Photography (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very, very disappointed thus far with the A7Riv. Blurry pictures, grainy images and I have tried four different computers (Win 7 and 10) and NONE of them will connect to the camera to download the new firmware and yet ALL of the computers KNOW that the camera is connected and will let me download images. All in all, it's not a patch on the A7Riii (which I also have and absolutely love). I bought the A7Riv for the extra megapixels and the advance animal eye AF (something else that the camera struggles with). On the upside, the larger grip is great and it feels solid in my hand, whereas the iii always feels small. Save your money and get the Riii.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

Don’t Hesitate…Just Get It

ILCE7RM4/B 08 July 2021 by chyppyz (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After a lot of research I purchased this camera a few weeks ago and it is everything I expected and more. I considered other manufacturers and Sony full frame cameras, however, in 2021 the A7R IV is still a fantastic camera. I moved up from the superb A6400 and this camera is simply fantastic. The dynamic range, resolution and colors are superb. The ability to crop due to the high number of pixels opens up a whole new world. I am just an enthusiast and this camera is easy to use also. Don’t listen to those that say you don’t need 61 MP or the files are to large etc. I have had zero issues and am constantly amazed at the high quality pictures I am getting.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Canera

ILCE-7RM4/BQAP2 03 July 2021 by jwjwfk (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

The best A7R series camera! Excellent for architecture and landscape photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera

ILCE-7RM4/BQAF1 30 June 2021 by Candra0605 (Indonesia) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my 1st Sony product, i love it so much, it’s so beautiful. Love all the features. This is my high end product i ever had

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It can do everything!

ILCE-7RM4 21 June 2021 by David55555555555555 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera does everything excellently - unbelievable amount of customisation. It can be whatever you want.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic!

ILCE-7RM4 19 June 2021 by njp97 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been using sony cameras for quite a few years now and each change exceeds the last but this one is just phenomenal! The quality is insane in all images! And the auto focus takes a step up from anything i have had in the past!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great feature

ILCE-7RM4/BQAP2 16 June 2021 by Theodulus (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had my eyes on this beauty for a while now and I have just taken it out for a a couple of shots. Just waiting for the Covid-19 P2HA to be over before I get to do some serious photo taking. I love my A7r4.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The Best Full-Frame Mirrorless Camera

ILCE-7RM4 07 June 2021 by Pharris (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

From α7RII,α7RIII and α7RIV is my third baby. I love it. The only thing I'm not very keen is the grip is a little bit big for my hand.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant camera

ILCE-7RM4 04 June 2021 by Bashee (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera in March after 40 years of using Pentax equipment. It is quite simply the best camera I have ever owned or used. It produces images that are pin sharp over the whole area and even seriously cropped pictures are very good. It is well constructed and after getting used to the layout of the controls, is easy to use. The basic controls of shutter speed and/or aperture, ISO, and focus area can all be easily manipulated without removing the camera from the eye. I have not used it yet for video, but idf that is as good as the stills then it will blow me away.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic res, shame about UI.

ILCE-7RM4 03 June 2021 by Ell11 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this as an upgrade to my A7Rii for the only reason that I always found the autofocus woeful. The A7Riv makes notable leaps in real life performance so I’m happy in that respect. The menu system is still awful, especially if you are in the Apple Eco-system and get so used to all of your tech working intuitively and smartly. The touchscreen is under-utilised, just tap to focus, and the resolution is low, but the EVF is extremely good and a huge upgrade from the A7Rii. Image quality, especially JPEG straight from camera is excellent though and with the Sony trade-in, sale of my old camera and the cash back from Sony all-in-all I am very pleased I upgraded!!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

State of the Art

ILCE-7RM4 24 May 2021 by CW77 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Did a lot of research before deciding to go for the A7RIV. Compared it to all of the current premier models from other manufacturers and the A7Riv was the obvious choice in the end. It has not disappointed. If quality and versatility is your priority then I wouldn't hesitate to recommend. Ignore rubbish you may read from Canon users in particular. I downloaded countless full res images from many different makes and models online. Consistently the sony images trounce anything I saw from other makes, Canon in particular. The same goes for sony Lenses. The resolution and subjective quality is just superb. The high 61mp sensor also has the significant benefit of being able to be switched into a 26mp APS-C camera if required.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing camera!

ILCE-7RM4 20 May 2021 by AW1045 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have always been a Nikon DSLR user, but reviews on the web made me want to switch to Mirrorless and Sony looked like the best choice. At first I was a little worried about selling all of my gear but now I know it was worth it! Since changing to Sony, I have fallen in love with photography again and go out to shoot more often than I used to. All of the pictures are always razor sharp and EVF makes it really easy to spot any issues with my exposure of DoF and correct them (instead of finding out in the post-production). Animal AF, which I use the most, works like a charm and I hardly ever need to worry about it while taking a photo. I strongly recommend this camera!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

An amazing camera

ILCE-7RM4 17 May 2021 by CJBlues22 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was after a sony a99ii but a website had a7rvi at a saving of over £1000.! So choose it and wow what a camera. Still working my way through it ( brought David Bishc's book to help me). Picture quality amazing. Also invested in 2nd hand 24mm to 105mm f 4 g master lens and then bit the bullet and purchased 70-200mm f2.8...go together so well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Does what it says on the can - superlatively.

ILCE-7RM4 11 May 2021  (United Kingdom)

Have only recently joined the Sony ecosystem. One of the draws was a mirrorless camera that could technically outperform my old Nikon DSLR. This meant that it needed to match Nikon for colour reproduction, have a sturdy form factor, was capable of all-weather use, with a large megapixel count and the technology capable of dealing with it; from low light static shooting to high speed sports and nature photography. This camera has rekindled the interest I have in photography, something reinforced by the online support I've found from accessing the knowledge of the Sony ambassadors.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

I love r4

ILCE7RM4/B 09 May 2021 by PPK008 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera for 2 months now. It is perfect for landscape and portrait photos. My mother looks great in the picture with 61mp. Happy with mega pixels.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It’s nearly perfect

ILCE-7RM4/BQAP2 04 May 2021 by aCare (Thailand) Verified Purchaser Verified

I move from another brand since I used it for 2 years. I accidentally receive a7r mk IV for one months.This gave a good experience for me. Sony had strong impact in nearly aspect including focus, build quality, file quality, easy to find accessories. I am very impressed to use it. Especially I use the manual focus lens, It is very easy to get a beautiful picture and reduce the mistake during taking a photo. One thing I dislike is the complicated menu, I cannot easily find things that I want. However, I knew that Sony had adjust skin tone for the new generation camera including this model. For me, who never use the Lightroom or any program for adjusting the pictures, Skin tone is still not so impressed. Now I use PP2, even it give a better look. I still hope that Sony will improve it and please upgrade it for us soon. For those who use computers for adjust pictures with any programs, I think this is a perfect camera for all photographers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

My New A7R iv

ILCE-7RM4 29 April 2021 by Rog42 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I did not intend to buy this mega-pixel beast but am generally pleased that I did. The image quality is excellent and the files are not as large as I expected. The documentation is poor and gives no insights into how the camera can be set-up. The WEb material is rambling and not particularly. The autofocus seems excellent but requires a bit of getting used to as the various settings are tied together in non-obvious ways. The auto-exposure, likewise, is tricky but seems accurate. The level gauge in the viewfinder is faint and needs to be found. I found it difficult to use the finder in bright light - probably not set it up properly yet. This camera will undoubtedly produce excellent images but its initial impact is spoiled by inadequate documentation and some quirks.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

One of the best cameras with a minor drawback

ILCE-7RM4 18 April 2021 by rollingneurons (USA)

This still is one of the best cameras for stills 1.5 years after its initial release. I like everything of it except the huge file size. I hope Sony could enable either a "Small Raw" file feature in-camera or develop a raw file resize feature within Imaging Edge Desktop. I think even for professional photographers, 61MP is not always appreciated.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera, but flawed

ILCE-7RM4 18 April 2021 by Jamsey Boy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this camera new, from a Uk supplier, in late March 2021 only to find that a face-lift version was to be released in the following month. Still, apart from that, the camera is beginning to show me what it's capable of now for the principle reasons I purchased it, which is portrait, product and landscape photography, with back up use as a video camera to my Fuji Cameras. The features and menus are comprehensive and in my opinion those that criticise Sony, for the menu system, fail to grasp that this camera is intended for you to customise in the way that suits your workflow. Once you've set it up correctly, the results are truly remarkable. Even old manual adapted lenses that I have, mostly fast primes, the character and detail retrieval is astounding. I highly recommend it as the best value camera at the moment, with a price point at around 40% of a new A1 with little discernable photographic disadvantage, quite the contrary in my view, although the video features are better in the A1. So, a great camera then, marked down a little for no touch screen and a lower resolution rear screen. Did that stop me purchasing it? Obviously not! Should it stop you from purchasing it? I would say go for the newer version, but certainly, at least for now, the lenses in Sony's line up are often to be had for less than Nikon and Canon's offerings, and that, ultimately, played a large part in my decision making process.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

A7Riv review

ILCE-7RM4 08 April 2021  (United Kingdom)

I upgraded from an A7iii and am glad I did. This camera exhibits insane levels of detail and resolution. One hardly needs a telephoto lens, you can crop as much as you want without losing detail. Simply brilliant once you get used to the over complex menu system.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great photography capability, but video lacks a lo

ILCE-7RM4 14 March 2021 by Dmaiano (United Kingdom)

I have been using this monster of a camera for over a year for photography and I'm fully satisfied! impressive quality, speed and reliability. What I'm expecting is a better video capability like internal 10bit recoding (or at least external) just to have the flexibility to shoot some nice video without being restricted to the very limited 8bit codec which shows too much banging in some circumstances

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

10

0

Change from Nikon

ILCE-7RM4 13 March 2021 by rmande (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having been a Nikon DSLR user for many decades culminating with the D850 which is a truely outstanding camera for many aspects of photography - I decide to go for a mirroless camera and chose Sony for wildlife photography because of the lenses avaiable - (ie 200-600mm and 600mm and the high resolution of the A7R IV. It has taken a while to adapt but getting very familar with it and its great felxibility in settings and controls via the many possible function assignment buttons or toggles. At last I am getting truely sharp images in most light settings and have become an admirer of the camera and the 200-600mm lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

4

2

0

Great with exception

ILCE-7RM4 11 March 2021 by DoctorB (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fantastic camera, marginally disappointed with higher ISO noise.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

8

0

Fantastic quality photos, loads of options.

ILCE-7RM4 06 March 2021 by Grahammason5410 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have taken many photos of garden birds and wildlife, the images are fantastic quality. I can now crop into a photo and keep crystal clear focus

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

A 'real camera': technically A1, great to use

ILCE-7RM4 06 March 2021  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had an A7R2 for many years, but did not use it a lot because it felt like a piece of consumer electronics rather than a 'real' camera. Hence I was dubious about the R4, but decided to go for the extra pixels! I have been pleasantly surprised. I won't go into the technical - there is no doubt that this camera is far more techincally capable than the A7R2, or the RAW image quality which is what you would expect from a 61MP Sony. However, importantly, this piece of electronic wizardry feels like a camera, and is a pleasure to use. I have finally got it set up (the menu's remain complicated) so that everything I need (in A-priority) is at the fingertips of my right hand - hence I can operate this camera fully, for my needs, without removing the camera from my eye. (Aperture, EComp, Drive Mode, ISO, Aspect Ratio (great to have 4:3 and 1:1), Creative Style, Display, Review and Review Zoom - all with one hand!.) This ia an excellent camera!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Great quality camera, with less intuitive menus.

ILCE7RM4/B 26 February 2021 by brigancook (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great quality camera, with less intuitive menus. Still happy with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera

ILCE-7RM4 12 February 2021 by zach1992 (USA)

Great camera, easy to setup and use. Amazing image quality. Only downside is buffer fills up quick

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

An Amazing Camera

ILCE-7RM4 04 February 2021 by Mearnshowe (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this 4 weeks ago and to say I am well impressed would be an understatement. An amazing piece of kit which definitely benefits from good glass on it. It takes a little time to setup but is infinitely customisable to suit your own requirements.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

6

0

A stunning camera

ILCE-7RM4 21 January 2021 by Nate Dizzle (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I cannot believe how good this camera is! A stunning piece of kit. Great menu system. I was unsure about moving from nikon to Sony! NOT ANYMORE !!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

3

0

Amazing features

ILCE-7RM4 16 January 2021 by Buyi (United Kingdom)

Bought this recently and it is great! Just starting out the photography officially

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Not surprising, but absolutely top notch.

ILCE-7RM4 24 December 2020 by Anglesey (United Kingdom)

I swore I wouldn't review until I'd lived with the camera for a while, but how could you not be completely wowed by a camera like this. I admit it, I'm a pixel peeper and I have no need to produce massive prints for commercial use, but sharpness is important to me and I've always been disappointed by APSC sensors. Have plasters handy- this is sharp! The EVF is also important to me and this is magnificent. Manual focussing reminds me of my old manual medium format cameras. There's no guess work with focus peaking needed. The magnified image shows you exactly where your focus area is at. The ergonomics are great for me: I've large hands and was concerned it might be too small, but no. I worried about the menu system from reviews I'd seen but I've found it ok so far. The only issue I've experienced was a very dusty sensor from the off- which I'd also read about. It took a few attempts to get it as clean as I wanted and I don't know how it will fair in practice.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Silent focus

ILCE-7RM4/BQAP2 24 December 2020 by Faddiezz (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

The focus motor is fast and silent good for video lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great mirrorless camera

ILCE-7RM4 22 December 2020 by Brian58 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought as a replacement for a much loved canon 5d mk 4, which I was starting to find heavy and bulky for carrying for a long time. Initially I found the menu and lack of touch screen a nuisance but you soon get used to the Sony way of working. The af is first class though I would like a firmware update to improve the animal af. Build quality I would describe as adequate, battery life is poor after a dslr but that it to be expected. The lens selection from both Sony and third party makers is great. It is a shame that some of the Sony lenses such as the f2.8 70-200 are so heavy and I found the tamron 70-180 suits the camera much better. Overall a great introduction to mirrorless

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

1

0

This camera made me switch brands

ILCE-7RM4/BQAP2 21 December 2020 by Aram Pan (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

After using another brand for over 20 years, the A7RIV was instrumental in making me switch over my entire collection over to Sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Exelent Camera

ILCE7RM4/B 20 December 2020 by Karl61 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera about 12 days ago This is my 3rd Sony Camera love it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Amazing!

ILCE-7RM4 17 December 2020 by Mahmud (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm really happy with my purchase , i wiwh you good luck Sony !!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Awesome resolution

ILCE-7RM4/BQAP2 17 December 2020 by paulsingapore (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having a wild time with my new purchase. One thing to note for those intending to buy. Make sure your computer has sufficient capability to handle the huge files.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great file quality but RAW file is very large.

ILCE-7RM4/BQAP2 09 December 2020 by Rattanon (Thailand) Verified Purchaser Verified

Auto focus is great and file quality is outstanding. But the size of RAW is very large. I would suggest Sony to provide possibility to reduce the resolution by user selected and increase low light performance while using low resolution.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Improve the firmware stated below

ILCE-7RM4/BQAP2 07 December 2020 by TooHandsome (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is a great 61 megapixels cameras for Landscapes, Micro, Nature, Seascapes, Wildlife photographers and more. It would be better to improve the CONTINUOUS DRIVE SPEED from 10 FPS to 20 FPS and better tracking in birds in flight as well as birds eyes tracking functions in the firmware for birds photographers, Improve the menu function and NO. OF RECORDABLE FRAMES. I use it for the first time, the first RAW file is very bright.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

This Camera is SERIOUS!

ILCE7RM4/B 25 November 2020 by Picsmiths (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought a So y a7iii a couple years ago & just bought another one but got the new a7r4 & WOW! The a7iii is an awesome camera but this one is next level! If you’re thinking about buying a camera DO NOT BUY A NIKON OR A CANON! Spend the extra money & get a Sony Alpha & you will not be disappointed. Pictures equal space saving memories & Sony clarity is where it’s at! Thank you Sony for helping me take my photography to the next level, @picsmiths

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

0

ideal work machine

ILCE-7RM4 09 November 2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i have had it for two weeks and am happy. also works as a family camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Good Camera...but need option for lower resolution

ILCE-7RM4 07 November 2020 by avng (USA)

While 61MP is a high resolution, it slows down the entire photography workflow from taking photos to editing.  It would be great if this camera allowed options to take full frame raw files at a lower resolution.  Please consider changing software or other things such that the camera can take full frame raw file at a lower resolution.  This would be a great feature and boost more sale if Sony can do it.  Other competitors can do it, no reason why Sony can’t.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

7

5

0

Great resolution

ILCE-7RM4/BQAF1 02 November 2020  (Indonesia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I really impressed with the picture quality of my Sony A7R4. The focusing also fast & accurate. For me the new design of A7R4 is very convenience with my hand (grip).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best camera I have ever owned

ILCE-7RM4 23 October 2020 by GMW50 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had the camera for 9 months and I am delighted with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

R=Resolution

ILCE-7RM4 23 October 2020 by Markn9115 (USA)

The first time is held the new grip, I smiled. It felt as though the camera was shaking my hand. It felt as though, from that day on, this camera and I had made a pact to create some mind-blowing and work. Sounds silly, right. Who has an actual relationship with their gear? I never had. After a year, the camera feels as if it is an extension of my arm. Once all of my customers menus were dialed in, it became a part of me. I know this sounds ridiculous. But I feel quite confident no other camera is configured quite like mine is. It is customized to my style of stills and video. knowing I have this flexibility is extremely liberating. As I grow as a photographer, I find néw and exciting ways to properly customize my camera. Do I feel as if I am the best photographer? Of course not. But this tool has definitely “upped” my skills to a level I hadn’t though possible. The resolution is just a bonus, but blows my mind when I capture a little something special which can be recompose in post. As if I were so good I captured the exposure intentionally...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

11

0

0

good but with flaws

ILCE-7RM4 07 October 2020 by geoff102 (United Kingdom)

SENSOR IS A DUST MAGNET!! Urgently need option to close shutter on power down as introduced in latest firmware for A9ii. No lossless compression despite being asked for multiple times. No focus stacking. Looses bluetooth connection to phone on power save when location sharing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

4

2

0

GAME CHANGER!

ILCE-7RM4 03 October 2020  (United Kingdom)

I bought this in March, so I've been using this for personal work and three international jobs now, The camera is awesome! The Image quality is incredible, its fast reliable and just lovely to shoot on, images are great out of camera and great to work with in post.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great camera

ILCE-7RM4 26 September 2020 by Trev12 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great view finder ,fantastic picture quality easy to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great value competing with medium format cameras

ILCE-7RM4/BQAP2 18 September 2020 by JLee53 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's a great alternative to medium format cameras. However it lacks alot of features such as a touch menu system, articulating screen and 4K/60P 4:2:2 video recording.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Thee best stills, landscape camera of 2019-2020

ILCE-7RM4 18 September 2020 by Chris the Photographer (USA)

So, honestly so much is good with this camera I'll make it quick. This is literally the best stills, protrait, landscape camera there is on market in 2019-2020 and probably will be for 2021. This is comfortable in hand, it takes sharp images, definitely geared for the stills person but I've gotten some great moving sports shots, great 4k video, and everything else. Like you could not go wrong. Heck, 5 years from now this camera will still be a serious contender. All a camera is a tool and you make it work. This "tool" in particular though will really help you do your craft. When shooting with it the camera just works with me becoming an extension of my visual art, when I'm doing protraits, landscapes, photo journalism it disappears and becomes part of me. The only cons are the touchscreen is only useful for selecting focus points. If it worked for menus it would be a huge improvement! The other the other downside is the menus. Which really aren't too bad especially after you get the hang of them.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

One word: unbelievable

ILCE-7RM4 02 September 2020 by IcyMile (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Swapped over after 20 years of Canon, and completely blown away with the quality, lightness, and performance of the Mk 4. It wasn’t love at first sight, but have now learnt the menus and how to set up the camera The resolution and image quality is impressive, and at 10 fps, + the lightness of the body and G Master lenses means it’s easier to lug about, and great results. Very happy with this equipment, not cheap, but for me a massive step to improving useability and love of photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

1

0

Real time tracking

ILCE-7RM4/BQAP2 30 August 2020 by aiscen (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it a month ago and I’m so happy!!!!!!!!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Does most things .. 'ok'

ILCE-7RM4 09 August 2020 by JimmyOs (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Two main problems. Focus 'hits' aren't great, giving about a 90% 'in-focus result. This is unlike the A73 which is up to about 99% (same mix of native prime lenses tried). Secondly, the write buffer is awful.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

4

0

Ziggysmalls Photography

ILCE-7RM4 06 August 2020 by Ziggysmalls (United Kingdom)

Excellent no complaints very worth while purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

9

1

0

the A7r3 was great: this is even better

ILCE-7RM4 04 August 2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only just bought it so too soon to have many results, but it's beautifully compact, the 60 megapixels feature is remarkable, I already have great lenses from my old A7r3. What else could I want?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Just great!

ILCE-7RM4 31 July 2020 by TibAndy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Early days yet, I only had it for 2 weeks. But certain things stand out immediately apart from the mind-blowing 61 Mpx detail. Ergonomics: A7 which finally feels right in the hand from the moment you pick it up. New buttons and their locations - fall naturally under you fingers, the joystick particularly useful. Huge amount of customisation incl. 'My Menu', where you can keep the most used menu options for quick retrieval. The viewfinder: you forget it is electronic - looks very natural, without any graininess and even its standard frame rate gives a smooth viewing experience. Huge dynamic range. Manual focusing, is finally possible (even pleasurable) with great precision even with the old lenses (via adaptor). I didn't need 61 Mpx, but thought it worthy upgrading from A7RII for many of these features. But 61 MPx is great: much better images even if you only output them at 1920x1200 or similar. But you might need a new computer if you mainly shoot RAWs - the 60 MB files are quite demanding. All in all I'm in love with it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Love my new camera

ILCE-7RM4 30 July 2020 by Boban1963 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After two weeks I can see clear advantages of M4 over my previous A7RM3. Ergonomics much better. Autofocus is so much better and faster. My only problem is that old Lightroom version is not recognising AW format. Need to move to Capture One. Also need to learn to handle large RAW files. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Still in love with the Sony a7R IV...

ILCE7RM4/B 29 July 2020 by efactor (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The a7R IV has become my go to camera for travel. In the past I've traveled with full frame DSLRs and even medium format digital cameras for their file quality. Now there is no comparison. The Sony a7R IV gives me that file quality, in a small package that can take the rigors of travel photography. Combine that with the wide variety of Sony lenses that take up very little room and traveling a breeze. Now I have room for a snack or even a jacket in the camera bag...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

4

0

Superb camera

ILCE-7RM4 20 July 2020 by Peppercrew (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I already owned the A7 RII and whilst it is still going strong I wanted first a second camera body, a quicker write rate and great number of frames per second. I now have two excellent cameras that photograph anything.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

1

0

Fabulous. The ultimate all rounder.

ILCE-7RM4 17 July 2020 by Dbraz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very high quality images and superb focus tracking.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Amazing Camera

ILCE-7RM4 09 July 2020  (USA)

Great photos, great features. My only issue is that the menu is still subpar. Also I wish we could use the touchscreen zero navigate the menu, zoom into photos and other things.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best hybrid camera out there!

ILCE-7RM4 07 June 2020 by Jackster (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve had mine for about a month, and I’m blown away. I used to have a Nikon DSLR and compared to that it is night and day. The resolution, colour and other features you get with this camera are next level compared with the Nikon.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Phenomenal Camera

ILCE-7RM4 31 May 2020 by Blenn72 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this thing! It's my second camera, and although I started off on a very basic Canon, I decided the time to play with the grown ups, was here. So I bought one of the best reviewed camera's, to date. I was not dissapointed! The learning curve, obviously, is steep. But I have a simple methodly. If my pictures are not great then it cannot be the equipment. Therefore I can grow onto what the this thing can do. But my first few pics I took, was mind blowing in difference to what I had.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

0

Wanted

ILCE-7RM4 29 May 2020 by Geoff101 (United Kingdom)

Raw uncompredssed is huge. Raw compressed is lossy!! For God's sake provide lossless compression as many people have requested. Most cameras of this and lesser spec offer focus stacking. When are you going to catch up?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

0

0

Wonderful camera

ILCE-7RM4 18 May 2020 by Harribobs (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve had this camera for a month now, using it a lot for a book of photos ”Springtime in lock-down”. I had the original 7R a long time ago but this is in a different class. Its resolution and the 3D quality of the images it produces with my Zeiss lenses are awesome and the AF and eye-AF systems impressive. In use it is much like my 7III, which I am used to and can customise to my preferences using the control buttons and very versatile function menu button.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Lovely camera but a few extras still needed

ILCE-7RM4 16 May 2020 by Motor Show Photography (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I don't have a problem with the fact you cam assign many options to buttons what I have the problem with is the overall lack of available buttons on the camera as a whole. When compared to the nikon D850 I have come from there is a dedicated iso on top that can be used on the fly and also 3 buttons on the front around the lens you can assign. Also when I use this in the dark nothing lights up like on many other brands. Quite disappointed as these are really important features to be in a camera of this excellent quality

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A technically advanced camera

ILCE-7RM4 08 May 2020 by Billy D (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera has taken my photography to a new levey

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Impressive photo quality

ILCE-7RM4 02 May 2020 by borolr (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera when it was released and after using it for a long time I can confirm that the features of this camera are really impressive. This is my power horse that never fails when focusing. Having 61MP is a bonus, you can crop the picture at any size and still have a great size. I really recommend it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0