CINEMA LINE FX6 CAMERA

Product Reviews

Rp. 93,999,000

18

4.4 based on 18 customer reviews

12
4
1
0
1
Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

The perfect multi purpose package

Body Only (5.0GHz and 2.4GHz) 13 October 2021 by Guy the pie (United Kingdom)

A joy to operate. No XLR on body, the weak monitor hinge and lack of the A7siii's autofocus being the only minor complains about an otherwise awesome camera.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Unexpected!

Body Only (5.0GHz and 2.4GHz) 02 May 2022 by Caxton Chow (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Decent product overall, performs as stated BUT found two dead pixels within the FIRST DAY of usage (first dead pixel appeared within first 3 hours, then the second death was noticed an hour or two later)! Wouldn't have expected this from Sony! My camera is in the service centre waiting for replacement part right now...

Performance

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

18 Customer Reviews

0

Unexpected!

Body Only (5.0GHz and 2.4GHz) 02 May 2022 by Caxton Chow (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Decent product overall, performs as stated BUT found two dead pixels within the FIRST DAY of usage (first dead pixel appeared within first 3 hours, then the second death was noticed an hour or two later)! Wouldn't have expected this from Sony! My camera is in the service centre waiting for replacement part right now...

Performance

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Customer Support Division
13 May 2022

Hi Caxton Chow,

Greetings from Sony Malaysia.

Firstly, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused to you on this.

We would like to understand better the root cause of the defect and assist you further in this.

Could you please share with us the Job number please to our customer interaction team via the details as below.

Email:http:https://web.sony-asia.com/my/contact-us/
Contact number: 1300 88 1233

Operating Hours:
9:00AM to 6:00PM
(Monday - Friday, except Public Holidays)

Thank you.

0

Absolutely enjoy what I can create!

Body only (5.0 GHz and 2.4 GHz) 03 April 2022 by PonyB (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received the Sony FX6 as part of my degree plan with Full Sail University (Digital Cinematography Bachelors of Science). I am super excited to learn and grow more with this Camera!

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

FX6 -

Body only (5.0 GHz and 2.4 GHz) 23 February 2022 by digitalstoryteller (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I teach a digital cinematography class where we started shipping in November around 50 FX6 cameras a month to our students. The response from the students has been overwhelming. Incredible feature rich camera that is setting a new bar for quality and features from a mid-range digital cinematography camera.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

FX6 Review 10 months on

Body Only (5.0GHz and 2.4GHz) 03 December 2021 by huwcamera (United Kingdom)

Excellent image quality and ease of use. Terrible screen support, I ended up going the Zacuto route with excellent results and have stoped using my FS7 except for American jobs where I need to shoot NTSC which unfortunately the FX6 doesn’t really do. I would have paid double for the inclusion of a global shutter but overall I’m really happy and would hire a Venice for bigger jobs. Please ad Cinematographer or DP or Lighting cameraman to your multiple choice job descriptions. Nobody likes being called a ‘ videographer’ Huw T Walters - Cinematographer

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

5

Response From Customer Support
06 December 2021

Hi,
Thank you for your review, and thank you for your feedback we will pass this feedback to the relevant department for future developments.
Amr @ Sony Support UK

0

Great image quality

Body Only (5.0GHz and 2.4GHz) 13 October 2021 by DiggerDevon (United Kingdom)

I bought the FX6 about 6 months ago and it is a great camera. I guess the frustration is the amount of extortionately expensive extra bits you need to run it in a shoulder rig with V lock batteries, lens etc but once I got that sorted and added a Sony FE4 28-135 it created a great gun and run rig.producing super pictures.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

5

0

The perfect multi purpose package

Body Only (5.0GHz and 2.4GHz) 13 October 2021 by Guy the pie (United Kingdom)

A joy to operate. No XLR on body, the weak monitor hinge and lack of the A7siii's autofocus being the only minor complains about an otherwise awesome camera.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Amazing image quality

Body Only (5.0GHz and 2.4GHz) 13 October 2021 by peterh0291 (United Kingdom)

Amazing professional quality from this simple to use camera.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

7

0

Superb.

Body Only (5.0GHz and 2.4GHz) 13 October 2021 by BrendanR (United Kingdom)

I have been using my FX6 for almost a year now and Its almost perfect. so easy to use, Incredible face detection AF and that built in ND makes this a brilliant camera. I just wish there was an Audio Jack on the body, Maybe Sony can make an adapter from the handle connector?

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great camera

Body Only (5.0GHz and 2.4GHz) 16 September 2021 by Jikey (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Overall is very good product. all i say is its worry free camera. you will have peace in mind when you in doing your job.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great package overall

Body Only (5.0GHz and 2.4GHz) 05 September 2021 by Fred pops (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A step up from my FS7 with much better colour and increased image quality

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

5

0

Easy To Use

Body Only (5.0GHz and 2.4GHz) 28 July 2021 by Shooter McGavin (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The FX6 was my first Cine camera having been shooting on the alpha series for 5 years. Understandably using it the first time was a little daunting. So many features I hadn’t yet had experience with and also hearing reviews of the cluttered menu. However within 48 hours I felt completely comfortable with shooting in various scenarios. With the help of the manual and a few YouTube videos I had learned how to navigate the menus and had customised the camera to suit my specific needs. The camera is light, the focus system is reliable and the image quality is outstanding. I’ve shot in both S-Log and Cinetone and results for both are fantastic. I bigger viewfinder would make this camera perfect for my needs.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony support team
30 July 2021

Hi Shooter,

We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your camera. We're happy to welcome you into the Sony family!
We'll make sure to pass your feedback about the viewfinder through the proper channels for future consideration. If you need any assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Sony Support UK

0

Proxy work flow does not work

ILME-FX6T 06 April 2021 by tribalvideo (USA)

I love shooting proxies simultaneously and this cameras audio channels don't connect in premiere making the proxies useless because premiere wont even let you attach them. This adds many hours to my editing work flow which could be changed with an update. I will change my review when a fix comes out for this bc I think this camera is almost perfect in every way except for this one issue

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Just one thing missing

Body Only (5.0GHz and 2.4GHz) 04 April 2021 by Kwandalist (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It could have been the perfect Cam - nobody ever mentioned it - the af and eye af works great but where is the object tracking feature - I love this feature so much in my a7iii and couldnt find it on the FX6 - I wrote the support and they told me it is implemented - didn’t find it - it’s such a game changer Feature and I would be superhappy of I missed something or it comes with an update- otherwise the cam would be half as nice - fingers crossed

Performance

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

14

3

0

Good camera that needs a firmware update

Body Only (5.0GHz and 2.4GHz) 13 March 2021 by AlexW (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only had this for a few weeks now and so far there's lots to love about the camera. Ergonomics are great - it's lightweight but still feels sturdy and coming from a mirrorless setup, I find a massive benefit in having monitor, ND, XLR audio etc all built in. The image straight out of the box is stunning before you even get into shooting in S-log or doing tweaks in post. The autofocus implementation and lack of touch screen tracking badly needs a firmware update though. The AI of the autofocus seems brilliant when it's making decisions about what should be in focus, but as soon as you want to make any of your own choices, you pretty much have to stop shooting completely and start deep divining in menus to re-configure things. I've got an A6400 costing £750 that can switch modes quickly, track people in frame and tap to focus, so why wouldn't that be in a camera costing £6k which has a much faster processor and more sophisticated autofocus AI system? The FX6 feels like it could be the ultimate run and gun documentary cinema spec camera, but is let down by the lack of these controls. Hoping Sony do something soon to rectify this.

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

17

1

Response From Customer Support
15 March 2021

Hi AlexW,

Thank you for your review.
We appreciate your feedback regarding your experience with touch screen tracking and autofocus, and we've passed it on to the proper channels for future consideration and product development.

Sony Support UK

0

Greatness in a tiny package.

Body Only (5.0GHz and 2.4GHz) 25 February 2021 by Ben Scott (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was one of the earliest FS7 owners in the UK and enjoyed it immensely, even if it did have some quirks and things which required workarounds for. In the end I used other cameras for a few years but came back to Sony for the FX6 which had amazing on-paper specs. The FX6 is basically a mini FS7 with none of the quirks or obstacles to getting great images, with a larger sensor, better framerates, better shadows, excellent low-light capability and variable internal ND. Oh and it's Netflix-approved so is really a perfect documentary workhorse. The XLRS on the handle is the single issue but considering what it gives you in terms of the footprint of the camera it's a decent trade-off. Please Sony, make a MI Shoe adapter for use without the handle! Within 5mins I felt I knew how to use it completely, which is a record for a new camera and a vast improvement on earlier Sony offerings. Would love for Sony to lend me some native AF glass to demo autofocus in some creative settings which is something I've never used on a professional shoot before and would love to try.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

An incredible camera

Body Only (5.0GHz and 2.4GHz) 17 February 2021 by Pete Doherty (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera is amazing. My only concern is that the menus and interface are different to other cameras i have used and so i am taking it slowly before i use it in anger. There are so many choices in the camera, i am waiting for other people to post on youtube, to understand more fully. The quality of the image is mind blowingly good. The autofocus is superb. The cinetone looks awesome. It will take my cinematography to another level. I am very happy i invested in such an amazing camera.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

6

0

Amazing camera

Body Only (5.0GHz and 2.4GHz) 16 February 2021 by Jay Fizzeek (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The best camera i have owned, shame about the poor quailty LCD bracket that keeps on drooping.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

Amazing camera

Body Only (5.0GHz and 2.4GHz) 11 February 2021 by Orlando Stuart (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing camera. Packed with features. It lacks are a viewfinder and shoulder mount which are both essential for handheld work but these can be added on. It's a brilliant camera.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5