98

3.8 based on 98 customer reviews

37
25
22
7
7
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Rich sound - gives me T-Rex ripples at 10'!

htct390 26 November 2016 by Arawho (USA)

Sound from older Sony TV wasn't cutting it and I didn't have the money to upgrade my set - so this was a compromise - and what a compromise! Sound is great - woofer packs a rumble - only drawback is the wireless sub occasionally loses connection and system needs a hard reboot - minor inconvenience for the sound. Just upgraded to a 4K 55" and sound bar still synchs beautifully. Thanks folks!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good when it works

HT-CT390 23 October 2016 by 581eyk (United Kingdom)

Bought this soundbar at the same time to go with a new Sony TV. It's connected through HDMI lead to ARC HDMI port and although the TV recognises the audio system half the time it does not work very very disappointed. Even Sony help line can not help. Having said that when it does works very pleased with it, loud enough and the subwoofer gives plenty of bass.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

5

0

125 Customer Reviews

0

not so bad

300W 17 May 2019 by Yokies (Malaysia)

-Less bass -dialogue is clear -not the best soundbar for movies freak -easy to setup -best for documentaries or news because the clear voice system

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great product

300W 09 May 2019 by Andrewch123 (Malaysia)

I bought this a month ago and the sound is great. love the sounder so much

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Plug and play

HT-CT390 12 April 2019 by eany78 (Malaysia)

i bought this around 2 years ago. and after 1 year, the subwoofer starts to disconnect from the main unit. It's quite frustrating to keep resetting it so that it links again. lately the resetting doesn't seem to work. Have called Sony and might need to send for their technician to take a look. Frankly, it's a bit disappointing.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony for sound

300W 05 April 2019 by ThomasTan (Singapore)

I bought Sony audio products for decades. Earphones. Speakers. They have the best sound.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Clear sound

300W 05 April 2019 by Hudzaifah (Malaysia)

used for several month. overall performance for condo type house is acceptably great. The sound and bass is awesome. Worth for money if you want to spend for affordable sound bar.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Better audio than tv

300W 29 March 2019 by HeliS76 (Malaysia)

It’s better than my tv audio. Good bass but tweeter not sharp.Cant hear high frequency range.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Sounds Great

HT-CT390 24 March 2019 by Woo20 (USA)

Bought this a few years ago. Only dislike is the sub woofer randomly disconnects. This last time I can'tj get it to reconnect. Read manual and tried pairing it again with no luck.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Neat but flawed

HT-CT390 20 February 2019 by Arlo Flang (United Kingdom)

I've had this unit for a couple of years now. The sound is not bad for the price, but I wish I'd gone up the range a bit. A particular gripe is how often the soundbar and sub woofer do not connect.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Absolute RUBBISH DO NOT BUY!

HT-CT390 16 December 2018 by TechNut69 (Malaysia)

Only had mine for a 1 year since new and I have many issues with this. For example the subwoofer not connecting to the soundbar. This is the last time I would purchase a SONY product. Samsung products are far more superior and have much better quality.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Love the sound

htct390 12 November 2018 by Brady 12 (USA)

We have owned it for a week and love the sound, especially music. My only dissapointment is lack control of bass and treble. I'd like more bass.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Not Bad But !

HT-CT390 09 November 2018 by Tony 99 (USA)

Okay I have had this system for 2 years now and it still works. The audio is clear but lower than my 120$ Vizio sounderbar. The sub likes to disconnect at random times. ON certain times the audio never matches up unless it is 4K I am running a Sony 55 4K bravia via ARk and I have no idea why I some of these issues but I do. Wish it was mountable to the tv stand and not the wall. When it works properly its not bad but very not worth the cost they charge>

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sound keep reverting to TV Speaker on HDMI

HT-CT390 02 November 2018 by rahman1357 (Malaysia)

I own a This Sound bar connected to my LED TV W804A via HDMI Arc connection. Since day 1 I had tested, when turn on the soundbar, the TV screen started showing the following message "TV speakers active due to Audio System Communication failure". After this message, audio is played through the TV speakers. Please note that during the start up, the TV shows the message as " Audio System Active", but later displays the previous message mentioned and the audio comes through the TV speakers. Please help how to solve this. I have made sure that the settings are made in such a way that for the audio output, I chose Audio System NOT the TV speakers. Also when I try to do Bravia Sync between these two devices, the TV seems like sending some signals to detect connected devices, but then it shows no devices as listed. In both TV and the sound bar I have kept on the Bravia sync. options. Sent the Soundbar to service center and the representative changed the whole soundbar electronic board. But same problem. Optical cable works fine. I guess have to live with it using 2 remotes. Poor Quality product.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

3

0

Value for money

300W 28 October 2018 by PL1949 (Malaysia)

Met my needs for audio and bass. Bought because of discounted price

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Bass, Voice is muffled

300W 17 October 2018 by Jatt (Malaysia)

I feel this is a good product. Sound reproduction during movie playback is great. However, i feel that the vocal/background sound is a bit off. Voice seems muffled, even i change the voice focus up still cannot discern completely. then it is prone to interfere with wireless access point 2.4GHz & 5GHz. So i have to move the wireless subwoofer away from my Dual Band Router. By doing this, i dont see any drop in internet connectivity.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

for the cost , this is a disappointment

HT-CT390 15 August 2018 by TaxmanOriginal (United Kingdom)

Sadly this soundbar is not what I would have expected from Sony. I had a Samsung sound bar prior to this and it was also a 2.1 system , however I guess in the electronic wizardry department, the Samsung was able to give the illusion of 5.1 surround sound , in the fact that sound of movement would appear to coincide with the action on the screen. IE footsteps appearing to move from left to right behind me as was displayed on the screen. The Sony appears to be locked into a flat 2 dimensional space and lacks the ability to produce a good 3d sound experience. The design is good for the wall mounted bar , however the sub-woofer lacks character. There are some good features to the soundbar , the remote control from my I phone. the blue tooth connectivity. However given the price tag I would have thought the system could have lent itself to be able to tirelessly connect additional speakers to the system to enable expansion.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Value for money

300W 06 July 2018 by Arham S (Malaysia)

With the price tag, i'd say this product really worth to buy. Although the bass not deep enough for me, its still acceptable. Good when watching movie and drama but not a good one for music playing.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Buggy connection with TV

300W 27 June 2018 by Augus (Singapore)

Pro: - Nice and loud sound, convenient at level 20-30. Listening music is very enjoyable. Mostly for watching youtube. - Soundbar automatically off when TV turned off - Bought at attractive discounted price. Cons: - Connected through HDMI ARC, but need to set the sound separately with TV. - Soundbar not automatically on when turned on the TV - If soundbar is on manually before TV is on, need to restart the soundbar, because no sound at all. - One time subwoofer lose connection with soundbar, the only way to fix it is to power off the subwoofer.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy Setup and Great Features

HT-CT390 11 June 2018 by niezam (Malaysia)

I bought yesterday at SengHeng. Plug & play. easy installation and excellent sound.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Easy to set up - great to use

HT-CT390 05 June 2018 by Chrisdesford (United Kingdom)

Been meaning to get a sound bar for our Sony TV for ages- what a difference it makes.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Sound, Easy Setup

300W 26 May 2018 by mnoordin (Malaysia)

Bought this product a month a ago. Improves the tv sound output tremendously and matches the Sony TV very well. Easy and fast setup.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good design and sound quality

htct390 19 May 2018 by stephen7 (USA)

The design and the sound quality are much better than my previous sound bar, and it fits my surrounding and Song TV

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sound bar

300W 11 May 2018 by Jerry9399 (Singapore)

It was gift to me but set has many problems. Had to send back service center for repairs

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Neat and compact with good sound

HT-CT390 03 May 2018 by Stevie78 (United Kingdom)

Really nice product - very easy set up and pleased with the results for a reasonably priced and compact system. This replaced a 5.1 system with separate amp, and the low profile design really suits the room. I would have liked to connect to my Sony Bravia TV via HDMI, but the TV is lacking sockets, so am using the optical link - but working fine. Overall, happy with purchase.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Critical positioning

HT-CT390 17 April 2018 by JohnGK (United Kingdom)

For new Sony Bravia 43ins including metal stand mounted on same platform as sound bar. Sound bar has to slope 45 deg otherwise sensor for TV remote is obscured. Also no fixings to install on same platform but are to install sound bar on wall.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Love the sound! Great bass!

HT-CT390 15 April 2018 by Magana19 (USA)

Bought this last year on special! No regrets!!!!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Design flaw

HT-CT390 01 March 2018 by Mosbr (United Kingdom)

Bought this to go with oils new Sony Bravia 43inch tv. The illustration showed the sound bar either wall mounted or in front of the tv which was on it stand. However the sound bar block is the remote sensor on the tv when placed in front of the tv. The sound bar itself is great. Would have scored 4 stars apart from this.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

no control over treble

HT-CT390 23 February 2018 by lenny69 (United Kingdom)

sounds good for music but tinny on everything else, you can control the bass but not the treble and it tends to sound tinny on tv programs, connecting via hdmi arc the volume is a lot lower than optical and no way is it 300 watts, overall a good looking soundbar and well made but seeing as its from sony am dissapointed with the sound quality.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Piece of Kit

HT-CT390 19 February 2018 by MacaCivico (United Kingdom)

I am so Happy with the sound quality that I sold my Hi Fi equipment which I was using for TV sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Great features! Bluetooth/DVD music & karaoke.

300W 14 February 2018  (Singapore)

I bought it a month ago and am so glad that even play music via Bluetooth as well as DVD player for karaoke sounds very good.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

My first soundbar

HT-CT390 10 February 2018 by JKJEK (United Kingdom)

This is my first soundbar so difficult to compare to others but it certainly vastly improves the sound to that put out by the TV speakers. The sub-woofer is not noticable, at all, when watching live TV but comes into it's own when watching BluRay disc's from my connected BluRay player. It is very sleek design and sits well on the same shelf under the TV.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Poor sound bar

HT-CT390 08 February 2018 by Robert 29 (United Kingdom)

I bought this sound bar hoping for an enhanced sound experience but was left less than impressed with it's performance.Tried it in different settings but still unimpressed with it so much so that I returned it .

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

A Great Soundbar!

htct390 07 February 2018  (USA)

I recieved this Soundbar as a CHristmas gift and am reall enjoying the opportunity to get the speaker wires our of my family room. The quality of the sound is very rich. I also enjoyed the ease and simplicity of installation/set up.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good quality sound

HT-CT390 07 February 2018 by Mikei (United Kingdom)

Bought this in the hope to hear speech clearer, only fault I have got is tha the height causes me to have to raise my tv controls higher as the sound bar slightly obstructs the remote receiver. This stopped me awarding 5 stars as I have a Sony tv and thought this problem would not account with having both Sony appliances.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Christmas gift

htct390 02 February 2018 by Peace123 (USA)

I was excited to get the sound system but the volume isn't good. The sound is nice but you have to turn the volume on highest level . I have my tv on 15 since I added the sound bar & the subwoofer I play it on 30.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Disappointed

htct390 31 January 2018 by GB 84 (USA)

I have owned this unit for a month. Poor sound quality, poor design. Sub woofer stopped working after 2 weeks.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great design and audio

HT-CT390 26 January 2018  (USA)

I choose this soundbar for the design, and the audio in my livingroom was a surprise, wa great and inmerse us in the movies. The subwoofer is great too. I have a cuestion, Is better a HDMI ARC conection o opticval conection? I have both option in my tv.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Better sound from tv

HT-CT390 26 January 2018 by Dave F (United Kingdom)

I have used the sound bar on different settings and found that the quality of sound when watching a film is terrible not clear sounds hollow and echoes

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Sounds great when it works

HT-CT390 23 January 2018  (United Kingdom)

Sounds great when it works :-( The soundbar is connected via HDMI / ARC to a Sony Bravia 55" TV, but loses its connectivity constantly. Using Bravia Sync makes no difference

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Sony 2.1 soundbar

htct390 09 January 2018 by ringleider (USA)

Purchased over a month ago, open box excellent condition! sound is great amd I don't even have to turn it up very loud. very easy set up for a non tech person. use in master bedroom. Sony outdid themselves again!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Features

300W 04 January 2018 by Sith Lord (Singapore)

I'm glad i got it. Hope they come out with a 5.1ch Soundbar.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great product and awesome value!

htct390 26 December 2017 by helcat5 (USA)

This is a wonderful product for the value. I didn't expect much, but was totally blown away by the sound quality and ease of installation. I'm very satisfied!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good besides connectivity problems with the Sub

htct390 18 December 2017 by JBJD (USA)

When the soundbar and subwoofer work, the sound is excellent. However, I purchased this unit a month ago and I already have issues with the subwoofer connecting to the soundbar. I have followed all of the troubleshooting instructions in the manual and the subwoofer will still not pair with the soundbar. Very disappointed that a problem like this happened so quickly. After the problem happened and I tried fixing the issue I did a little research and it appears that this is a common problem with this unit. Either there was a large batch that somehow made it through quality control, or there is a serious issue with this unit as a whole. Buyer beware.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Meets the Quality(total entertainment)

HT-CT390 14 December 2017  (Philippines)

Excellent for Gaming,Movies and Music Love it, ill give it A+++ quality!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent sound,brilliant connection features

HT-CT390 10 December 2017 by LEEEEE (United Kingdom)

Value for money,sounds fantastic,bring a rich sound for such a compact unit,looks are very deceiving.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

HT-CT390 06 December 2017 by John the fat one (United Kingdom)

Great sound compliments my Sony tv like the fact that it helps the hard of hearing

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It's a Sony

htct390 03 December 2017 by Valker (USA)

I have other Sony products and this soundbar fit with my Bravia TV with little to no problems syncing them together, easy and perfect.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Generally good

htct390 30 November 2017 by Jas7 (USA)

The volume on movies (via Apple TV -> iTunes, Netflix) is surprisingly low, but volume on music (via Apple TV iTune) is really great. I don’t know why that is and I’m thinking of sending it back.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Won't connect

HT-CT390 23 November 2017 by Trollyboy (USA)

When i bought it. It didn't work. I send it 2 times for a repare and now. It's agan broken. It won't connect with the subwoofer

0

0

0

Great sound

300W 25 October 2017 by Jap1950 (Malaysia)

I bought this soundbar a couple of weeks ago I am enjoying MOVIES even more because of the sound effects. Also playing my music via blue tooth from my tab is enjoyable. Nice base sound. Overal I am very content with this piece of equipment and for a very reasonable price.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy setup with great sound

HT-CT390 20 October 2017 by Linx1 (United Kingdom)

Purchased along with new Sony smart TV. Sound is excellent and because of its low profile sits beautifully below the screen. The wireless sub gives added oomph to movies. An all round great performer.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent

HT-CT390 18 October 2017 by Derk 1 (United Kingdom)

Great improvement over TV speakers, more depth and clarity with the ability to adjust the clarity of the spoken word

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A great item.

HT-CT390 12 October 2017 by ozzie 7 (United Kingdom)

It is a great product and the sound is very good i would recommend it,

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Features

HT-CT390 28 September 2017 by Brother Louie (USA)

I am completely satisfied with the performance of my sound bar. A great value for such a reasonable price . I would strongly recommend it.

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Just a fair soundbar

300W 23 September 2017 by teppanyaki (Singapore)

Bought the soundbar together with TV during IC show in March 2017, just about 5months, the system could not remotely controlled. Sony should intergrate the TV or soundbar in one remote controller for easy operation.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Beware of DTS-HD/TrueHD Audio Support

HT-CT390 18 August 2017 by bk117a4 (USA)

I bought this Soundbar, believing it supported both formats, because the photo under the "Get connected" section erroneously displays the DTS-HD and TrueHD audio format logos, but in reality, the Soundbar only supports Dolby Digital and DTS, which is DVD quality sound support, not Blu-ray. I was unable to return the Soundbar, because the seller won't take responsibility for Sony advertising error. I reported the advertising error to technical support 2 days ago, but the old picture is still on the website.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Grate 2.1 ch Soundbar

300W 13 July 2017  (Singapore)

Excellent sound quality with 2.1ch and design of the product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Inconsistent

htct390 09 July 2017 by ctw35 (USA)

Audio started to stutter recently and bt doesn't pair always

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Decent Soundbar

300W 03 July 2017 by Yunz (Singapore)

I bought it a few weeks ago at courts, even thought its one of the lower end soundbar. Its still give you a decent sound effect and it feels like you in a cinema.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Features!!

htct390 25 June 2017 by MJBand2 (USA)

Bought this to replace an LG sound bar. The sound is excellent and being and Bluetooth ability is fantastic. Setting up access to soundbar through a cell phone app is also fantastic.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Happy

300W 20 June 2017 by Asher79 (Singapore)

Happy with everything, great product and sound quality is good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0