787

4.4 based on 787 customer reviews

512
172
57
24
22
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

I am liking the TV more each day

KD-43XH8505 29 July 2021 by Nikon man (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is not a straight out of the box switch it on and all will be great. You have to work on all the settings to achieve the picture quality this TV is capable off. The sound is the same and to get the best one needs a sound bar

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great picture, occasional design fault

KD-43XH8505 09 June 2020 by rod81 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Yet another Sony tv enters the house and this one comes with great picture quality and much improved smart features. This screen has a little shading evident which is a disappointment but no faulty pixels. The one great design fault (cost cutting?) is that, unlike previous sets, it is not possible to have the tv speakers active when the headphone socket is in use. This is a major problem in this house, where one hard of hearing resident uses headphones while the other resident listens to sound through the speakers. We need a solution to this problem and are currently deciding if we should reject the set and change it for another

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

787 Customer Reviews

0

Sony Quality Starting to Slip?

KD-49XH8505 04 December 2021 by Mick01329 (United Kingdom)

Have owned this TV for a little over 6 months now, and the lack of 'Red Button' functionality is a real pain, and is something I wasn't aware of before purchase. Trying to get a browser to function is also causing issues. Further, the TV has completely reset itself a few times recently - sound goes, and a few moments later, the screen goes blank, then the Android graphics commence. I have updated Firmware since then, which appears to have stopped the reset happening. Time will tell. Have noticed image not as clear as expected, and sometimes see blurring around edges of moving objects. Doesn't always output sound to my (Sony) external sound system - 7/10 times will work, but otherwise has to be switched off fully to reset this link. For the first time since owning / being exposed to Sony products in the late '70s, no, I do not recommend this product.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony support team
06 December 2021

Hi Mick01329,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're sorry to learn that you're experiencing multiple issues with your TV.
We recommend resetting the TV to the factory setting to rectify the issue following the instructions here: https://bit.ly/3opwCFU. If the issues persist, we would like to be able to offer some assistance, so please don't hesitate to contact us using the details here: https://bit.ly/2VBcJwW.

Hana @Sony UK

0

Great 4k TV

KD-49XH8505 29 November 2021 by Sctx (United Kingdom)

Replace an older screen fault with this TV and it has excellent picture and sound.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good image, poor sound, bad UI and OS integration

KD-43XH9196 06 October 2021 by Buhtl (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this TV six months ago. To be honest, I use it exclusively for VOD rather than TV-style watching. The image quality is good, the shape of it is pleasant enough, but it suffers from quite a few faults. The sound quality is poor as the TV audio sounds like it is coming out of a tin can. This is not a huge problem, as I've wired it to a sound system. What is really upsetting is the interface of the main menu. The applications I've installed move around with absolutely no logic, sometimes they disappear for a while and come back, the integrations of tiles with apps are annoying as random content gets pulled through and shown which I personally do not want to see (and age controls on those do not work!). But the absolute worse thing about it all is is the application 'bars' where the content from various apps comes in. These also move up and down screen on their own and can't really be managed. The whole 'launcher' experience is appalling and once you set it all up so that it is tolerable, it gets all messed up with app or system updates. It is so poor in fact, that I had been looking at getting a new TV. For instance, we watch BBC iPlayer most of the time, but for some bizzare and unexplainable reason, this is never shown in my favourites and is buried deep down at the bottom of the launcher screen below all the commercial crap like disney, netflix, apple tv, etc. Random channels/apps (like al jazeera for instance, and apps we never really open, all sit higher in some sort of a priority ranking)... I don't know if this is poor sony implementation of andriod tv, or just android tv OS to be fair, but whatever it is, the end experience is poor and navigating to content you want to watch is slow and annoying. Once the films are on, the display is amazing for the price and the watching experience is pleasant enough.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Sony support team
08 October 2021

Hi,

Thank you for your review.

We’re sorry you're facing difficulties navigating through the menus, and setting favourite apps.

First of all we would recommend making sure that the TV is running the latest software version: https://bit.ly/3ApBTQH.
Also, you can always add applications to your favourite list: https://bit.ly/3apDISM & https://bit.ly/3Diz8SS.
And you can check this link for more information about the black bard, and the aspect ratio of your TV: https://bit.ly/3Bq1ZnT

If the issue persists, we would like to be able to offer some assistance, so please don't hesitate to contact us using the details here: https://bit.ly/2VBcJwW.

Sawy @ Sony Support UK

0

Great picture and sound

KD-49XH8505 04 October 2021 by Dollydash (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent choice of tv. Very satisfied with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony support team
06 October 2021

Hi Dollydash,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your TV. We're happy to welcome you into the Sony family!
If you need any assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Hana @Sony Support UK

0

Good picture and sound

KD-43XH8505 04 October 2021 by izzywizz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We use this wall-mounted in the bedroom and the sound and picture quality are very good. A small issue however with the subtitles (my wife and I are both hard of hearing) - these are very seldom available but this may be down to the broadcaster although there is no 'unavailable' message displayed. Sound also varies considerably between films/live and dramas - no auto level control.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony support team
06 October 2021

Hi izzywizz,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your TV. We're happy to welcome you into the Sony family!
If you need any assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Hana @Sony Support UK

0

Good picture but some cost cutting

KD-49XH8505 25 September 2021 by BILLDOG (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have customised the picture and think it better than my previous 2016 model but having deteriorating hearing miss the Sound Zoom feature not included. I have adjusted the equaliser to my needs but not as good I feel However I hate the cheap stand feet which do not hide the cables. The previous set had a substantial well designed stand.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony support team
27 September 2021

Hi BILLDOG,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your TV. We're happy to welcome you into the Sony family!
We'll make sure to pass your feedback about the sound zoom and the stand through the proper channels for future consideration. If you need any assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Hana @Sony Support UK

0

Very Irritating GUI

KD-43XH9196 08 September 2021 by KeepitSimple (United Kingdom)

Due to an EU driven firmware update I now get a Power Consumption message every time I change picture settings and it's so irritating. It can't be switched off. Please fix this Sony. UK doesn't need to comply with this EU regulation.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

Response From Sony support team
10 September 2021

Hi KeepitSimple,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're sorry to learn that you're going through this experience.
We understand your frustration, however, these regulations cannot be changed. We'll make sure to pass your feedback about an option to turn it off by choice through the proper channels for future consideration.

Hana @Sony support UK

0

Sony's quality as standard

KD-43XH8505 07 September 2021 by jimjp (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'd originally gone to buy a updated version of our Samsung. Our local, and very knowledgeable, independent retailer pointed out this TV as a possible, and better, alternative. Side by side comparison of the same programme - no contest! The depth, quality and overall beauty of the Sony picture left the competition by the wayside. Set up was easy and straightforward - simply follow the on screen messages, connect to the internet, and you're away. To be fair, we don't find the operating system as easy to navigate and intuitive as our former TV, but it's early days and we're still finding things out. That's a small niggle against the beauty of the on screen images. You'll not go far wrong with this TV - take look and you'll see!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Brilliant TV

KD-49XH9196 07 September 2021 by Bizzby09 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We always buy Sony Bravia TVs and upgraded our old one from 5 years ago. I am extremely pleased with the new TV, the depth and colours are amazing and it's got everything you need, we have a freesat box and android box attached and it works perfectly with them. The only drawback is that we can't get our local BBC Wales news on the TV but not a problem as we use Freesat for this instead.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sleeper hit?

KD-49XH9196 06 September 2021 by automatom (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After trying a few TVs over the past few months I was always let down in some way or other, and while this one does have its flaws I’m finding it a solid performer on all fronts. I ordered a 2021 50X85J earlier this year as it was a nice 4K/120 set with GoogleTV, and seemed to be everything I needed in a direct-lit VA panel (full-array are too bright for me, my eyes don’t handle powerful HDR very well). When I received it I found the reflection handling to be very poor, and the Sony dark corners (where the LEDs don’t reach) were evident to see. The screen also had a HDR haze too it that I just couldn’t get rid of with settings, so I sent the TV back. Enter the XH91. A TV you won’t find a single review of on YouTube or RTINGS etc. This is a 100/120hz panel, but without HDMI 2.1 (so no 4K/120) but it does have great motion handling because of the high refresh rate. Watching Formula 1 and some football on it through NowTV I instantly noticed how well this panel handled motion compared to the X85J. Smooth camera transitions as cars fly down the track, no judder or smearing of the football when it’s hoofed upfield. Very impressed with the motion handling. Colour accuracy is great out the box. I felt the X85J was overblowing the reds and I couldn’t tone them down. I didn’t have to do anything with the XH91, it was just bang on from the start. Maybe I got lucky with this panel and didn’t with the last? but the colours are natural and gradients are good. Happy with that. In terms of gaming the X85J was said to have a great input lag by multiple review outlets. In reality when I first loaded up Fortnite on it I could tell the lag was nowhere near as good as my old Samsung which was disappointing. The movement felt sluggish, and I was always second best in a 50/50. Thankfully the XH91 is closer to the Samsung and feels really responsive. It’s a very nice gaming experience even if it is limited to 4K/60. I want to go back to backlight issues I was having with the X85J as I think it’s a characteristic of direct-lit Sony panels. the LEDs directly behind the screen produce a haze effect which ruins the contrasty punch you get from a VA panel. This will obviously be less noticeable with a full-array panel as it can dim certain areas of the screen, but with a direct-lit solution I almost feel you’re better off with the old-fashionable edge-lit frame dimming backlight as this produces less haze. The downside of course is edge-lit can give you a patchy backlit, something which is noticeable on the XH91 in a dark room. The first XH91 had a really bad bleed, something the Sony Centre told me all have. I wasn’t happy and asked for a replacement. The new XH91 I received has a similar bleed across the top left of the screen, but it is less noticeable than the other. I don’t understand why Sony struggle with this as the cheap Samsung TU7000 I bought last year had a uniform backlight with no issues. This is probably the only reason I’m giving this TV 4 and not 5 stars. Overall I’m happy enough with this set. The positives for me were good reflection handling, great response time, good selection of apps, brilliant motion handling, accurate colours, and punchy brightness. The negatives: backlight bleed visible (only in a dark room with a totally black background), sound processor isn’t as good as Samsung or 2021 Sony models. Sound with native apps through my AV receiver is noticeably more muddy sounding than the X85J. Sound improves if I use the PS5 leading me to believe it’s a low quality sound chip in the TV itself. This TV is also due to receive an update to Android 10 (GoogleTV) as it’s currently running the old Android 9. It has been confirmed by Sony that this model will get the update, but it has yet to appear for me..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony support team
08 September 2021

Hi automatom,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your TV. We're happy to welcome you into the Sony family!
If you need any assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Hana @Sony Support UK

0

Brilliant TV

KD-49XH8505 23 August 2021 by ChisH (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about a month ago and an so pleased with it. It has all the connection points I was looking for and is incredibly easy to use. Have had no problems getting used to it . Highly recommended

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Getting connected

KD-43XH9196 22 August 2021 by Northern Old Bloke (United Kingdom)

The picture is good and we now have the connections to some of the services we use, but we have a sound bar from a previous TV which we have been using with this TV, BUT sometimes there are problems getting the optical connection to work and also it would be also be good not have to use another remote to control the sound output when using a much needed sound bar.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Not good enough

KD-49XH9196 19 August 2021 by Captchaos (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It doesn’t do what the instructions say that it does.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Sony support team
02 September 2021

Hi Captchaos,

Thank you for your review.
Having read your feedback, we would like to be able to offer some assistance, so please don't hesitate to contact us using the details here: https://bit.ly/2VBcJwW.

Hanan @Sony support UK

0

Really sharp picture

KD-43XH8505 17 August 2021 by Pete b1945 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was looking for a new tv with really great picture for movies mainly and I’m seriously impressed !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Why to dependant on Google

KD-49XH9196 10 August 2021 by Fraggle Rock (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a couple of months ago, the quality of picture and sound is as expected. However, the internet operations are heavily dependant on Google, tedious to use and having to open a Google account and constantly sign in to fully enjoy the TV

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

2

1

Response From Sony support team
12 August 2021

Hi Fraggle,

Thank you for your feedback.
Android/Google TV use the Google Play store and services which require a Google account for full functionality, you can find more about Google TV here: https://bit.ly/37zAZoA. If you need any assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Sony Support UK

0

Great TV

KD-49XH8505 05 August 2021 by RDW62 (United Kingdom)

Excellent product good features great picture… very happy

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great picture quality

KD-49XH8505 05 August 2021 by Keithk11 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

High quality 4k picture, super clear and realistic colours

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent

KD-49XH9196 02 August 2021 by Welsh Jonsey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to install without the booklet. Excellent sound and picture quality. Doesn’t take too much space. Great purchase. AirPods and Alexa works ideal.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

I am liking the TV more each day

KD-43XH8505 29 July 2021 by Nikon man (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is not a straight out of the box switch it on and all will be great. You have to work on all the settings to achieve the picture quality this TV is capable off. The sound is the same and to get the best one needs a sound bar

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

0

Excellent TV

KD-49XH8505 27 July 2021 by Mellifluence (United Kingdom)

First time purchase of a Smart TV. Has all the features (DVB-T, Freesat, Streaming etc.). Very happy so far - only downside is the lack of a centre stand, which was easily remedied.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Good TV

KD-43XH8505 26 July 2021 by HELLOGLAZING (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

No regret at all - From Panasonic to Sony - Due to lack software update from panasonic

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

Response From Customer Support
28 July 2021

Hi HELLOGLAZING,

Thank you for your review.

We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your TV and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come. We're happy to welcome you into the Sony family!

If you need any assistance, feel free to contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL, we will gladly assist you!

Sony support UK

0

Excellent Quality As Always!

KD-49XH8505 25 July 2021 by SpiLaw79 (United Kingdom)

I've had this TV for a while now, but it's always best to do any reviews when some time has passed. This TV is yet another fantastic product from Sony, it's a massive upgrade from my old TV. I use it every day, Live and On-demand content looks fantastic. I play my Atari VCS 800 on it and it looks great. I now have a PS5 as well which really completes the package, everything on screen pops, it's spot on. It really shows how far technology has come in the last 10 years. I would definitely recommend this TV for watching live TV and on-demand content. Plus if you are a gamer, this is a must for any platform. Absolute beast of a TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great television

KD-49XH8505 21 July 2021 by Mulder2019 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have used Sony television’s before. I can’t fault them.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent smart tv features, good video quality

KD-49XH8505 19 July 2021 by Kennethy88 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this 49” XH85 TV two weeks already. It has complete features, 4 HDMI inputs, support both digital TV and satellite TV (either main or main + sub). Built-in up-scaler which can offer acceptable display even playing low resolution source. The only weak point is about its speaker output, you may need a sound bar with subwoofer if bass is needed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Amazing visual clarity

KD-43XH8505 14 July 2021 by Wembred (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was an upgrade, bought because I already owned a Sony av unit. There were a few setup issues which Richer Sounds came out and sorted and I couldn’t be happier with it. I’ve watched F1, Wimbledon and the Euros in uhd and the picture quality is fabulous - couple that with the 5.1 surround speaker system and its the next best thing to watching in a cinema. Proverbial pig in muck.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent product

KD-49XH8505 12 July 2021 by Sha9 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent picture quality. The sound not as good as I expected but I am using a 5.1 surround sound system so I am ok. I am happy with this product and the price I paid it for. i say 4 out of 5.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony support
14 July 2021

Hi Sha9,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your TV. We're happy to welcome you into the Sony family!
If you need any assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Sony Support UK

0

Great hardware, software is insanely poor.

KD-43XH9196 11 July 2021 by alexb123 (United Kingdom)

Netflix/apps will randomly crash. You’ll be watching a movie on Netflix and YouTube will pop open. After running the tv for a few hours is becomes slow. Software updates are few and far between. Do not buy a Song Android TV

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

TV stop working in less than 6 mouths

KD-49XH9196 08 July 2021 by Mug for buying Sony tv (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very poor TV been at repairs for over two weeks and still not repaired

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

Response From Sony support team
12 July 2021

Hi Mug,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're sorry to learn that you went through this experience.
Rest assured that our engineers are doing their best to repair the TV with priority and deliver it at its optimum state. We appreciate your feedback and will make sure to pass it through the proper channels. If you need any assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Sony Support UK

0

Excellent television

KD-43XH8505 07 July 2021 by Aaron TJ (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this model to replace our 14 year old Sony. Excellent picture quality and good sound. Wide range of apps and easy to navigate.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super quality pictures!

KD-49XH8505 06 July 2021 by Golden Brown (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We looked at two 49" Sony TVs and decided to buy the XH85 as it was 100Hz as against 50Hz. Set up was really easy (although disappointed that UKTV Play is not available as an app). The sharpness of the picture is amazing compared to our last Sony Bravia 43" TV, bought in 2016. I used a Sony soundbar previously, but I find that the XH85 doesn't need it. Watching Wimbledon is incredible - the colour is incredible and the motion of the ball is perfect. I watched a match on my mum's LG and it wasn't a patch on the Sony. My only slight criticism is the stand (2 legs!) which is not as nice looking as the oval shaped one on our previous TV. And finally, why do all TV surrounds now have to be black? I prefer silver but Sony don't make those any more.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great TV

KD-49XH8505 06 July 2021 by Best Grandy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had it for about 3 weeks. Very pleased with it, makes watching the Tour de France so much more enjoyable then previous tv

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great picture but lacks features

KD-43XH9196 05 July 2021 by Willh88 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got this on a great deal as it was the last one in stock. Easy to set up, and the picture uality picture is far better than our previous, not smart, TV. However, we were able to set the time on our last TV, which we can't do on this one, and we miss this feature. Once you have set up i-player etc they are accessed instantly, with no delays. I would have preferred a stand instead of the feet supplied with the unit, as these get in the way of our existing sound bar.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Customer Support
07 July 2021

Hi Willh88,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your TV. Having read your review, we recommend that you contact us to provide us with more information regarding the time feature referenced to ensure we can help you using the details in the following link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Sony Support UK

0

Superb TV

KD-49XH8505 04 July 2021 by Davey K2021 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This TV is absolutely amazing - the picture is great, the features are great (especially being able to get Apple TV), even the sound is good which is impressive considering how slim the TV is.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good features easy to use.

KD-49XH8505 03 July 2021 by Jock05 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Happy with the tv the manual is not a lot of information.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Will need an aerial

KD-43XH9196 03 July 2021 by Malc1969 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Still can’t understand why I had to fit an aerial to be able to watch ITV 1 catch up online through my Wifi.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony support
05 July 2021

Hi Malc1969,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're sorry to learn that you're not happy with the TV functionality.
We would like to highlight that third party apps functionality is decided mainly by the providers. If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Sony support UK

0

Fantastic so pleased I bought this

KD-49XH8505 03 July 2021 by Doc85 (United Kingdom)

Easy set up, colours are fantastic, even in bright sunlight and the sound is great even without sound bar. Really pleased

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Superb picture

KD-49XH8505 02 July 2021 by Malcolm 49 (United Kingdom)

Bought 2 weeks ago and very pleased with the picture and colour.Will be investigating its many features when I read the manual.Had a Sony previously for 11 years and would only buy Sony for its quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant

KD-49XH8505 30 June 2021 by Ronrob (United Kingdom)

What more do you need? Absolutely a comprehensive product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant picture

KD-49XH8505 26 June 2021  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this tv two weeks ago am so impressed. Always had a different make but thought would have a change with a sony. Picture quality excellent. Easy set up. Sound quality excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not too bad

KD-43XH8505 25 June 2021 by donmck (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased two weeks ago and a still getting my head around the controls

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony Support UK
29 June 2021

Hi Donmck,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad to learn that you are happy with the overall performance of the TV. We have an online guide that includes all the available features and specifications here: https://bit.ly/2GsVd9K. We have also created an online emulator than can help you on how to adjust any settings required, with detailed instructions including illustrations in the following link and you can start it by pressing the “Start now” button: https://bit.ly/2HYyYZX. If you require any further assistance on setting up the TV, please feel free to contact us by using the details in the link here: https://bit.ly/2Uadm09.

Sony Support UK

0

Nothing special

KD-49XH9196 24 June 2021 by Grimshaw (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Probably the worst purchase I have ever made. It's ok, but nothing remotely out of the ordinary and certainly not worth £750. Being 'smart' it keeps doing irritating things in order to be "helpful". And the picture suddenly went (for good) after 3 months very moderate use. And the seller (Currys) refused to have anything to do with the repair and put me on to Sony. Which turned out to be only a call centre, and put me on to a less than local approved repairer. Who came out and gave me a replacement best part of 2 weeks after the original stopped working.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

Response From Sony Support UK
29 June 2021

Hi Grimshaw,

Thank you for your review.

We’re sorry to about your experience. We usually recommend using the online step by step troubleshooting guide addressing all of the possible issues with the TV available here: https://bit.ly/2zjzXPC. If the issue was still evident, we always recommend contacting us using the details in the following link (by chat, phone call or email) in order to proceed with any require services: https://bit.ly/2Uadm09.

Sony Support UK

0

Good deal

KD-49XH9196 24 June 2021 by Raw B (United Kingdom)

Good deal for good product .......................

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Customer Support
29 June 2021

Hi Raw B,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your TV and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come. We're happy to welcome you into the Sony family!
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Sony Support UK

0

Lovely picture

KD-49XH8505 22 June 2021 by PCee (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was bought to replace a Samsung just over 5 years old which had failed and was not supported for repair- shame on you Samsung! This TV, costing not much more than half of the price of the Samsung is better in so many ways. The picture- set to vibrant- is absolutely pin sharp when displaying HD content and colours really pop. Motion tracking is excellent. Sound is adequate but I play through a Sony AV box so is quality. What do I like about the set? Everything- it’s typical Sony, it just works straight out of the box. It’s a very good user experience. Why don’t I just always buy Sony…?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good value.

KD-49XH8505 20 June 2021 by Starav (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good picture, nice to use, easy to set up. Good price for a lot of features.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Sony!!

KD-49XH8505 18 June 2021 by TV Guy (United Kingdom)

We bought this Sony a few months ago now, it is perhaps the third or fourth Sony we’ve bought, and they have all been brilliant. The screen resolution is fantastic and we’ve connected it up to our home cinema system which really amplifies the sound. We can also access our add on extra apps through the Sony, like Apple TV and Netflix to name but two.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Top quality TV

KD-49XH8505 16 June 2021  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am delighted with the picture quality of this TV and with all of its features. Used with my new Cambridge Amp and Dali speakers the sound quality is superb too

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Disappointed

KD-43XH9196 13 June 2021 by Macaroon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brought the TV a couple of weeks ago - last one in the store, however it has serious faults, it turns its' self on when in Standby mode and suddenly will flash up 'ear phones connected' when they are not, so the sound cuts out and cannot be restored. Sadly being collected by Sony today , we love the TV as the picture is brilliant and the sad thing is we cannot get a replacement as everywhere out of stock .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

THIS IS THE BEST TV I HAVE EVER OWNED

KD-49XH9196 09 June 2021 by BOAB G (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

THE ONLY THING ICAN FIND WRONG IS THAT THE WORDING &NUMBERS ON THE CHANNEL CHANGER ARE TOO SMALL ALSO THE THE COLOURS ARENT VERY VISIBLE APART FROM THAT ITS A GREAT TV AND WOULD RECOMMEND IT

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great picture

KD-49XH8505 09 June 2021 by Bennydog (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My Samsung went after 2 years 5 year warranty TV came back fixed but not the same quality so ditched for Sony what a difference great picture vivid colours no shake and a great price half of what I paid for our Samsung

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent TV

KD-43XH8505 09 June 2021 by CMike (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased the TV a few weeks ago , as our main set for the lounge. Having read reviews etc. I visited a local store where I could see different makes and models working side by side- this Sony TV stood out in terms of picture quality and the advice I was given in-store was excellent. Having setup the TV at home I am very impressed, the build quality it first class & the picture is superb, plus the sound quality is very good from such a very sleek product. As a Smart TV, the menus and interface are very easy to use and has all I need. I have always been a fan of Sony and as usual this model is very impressive and I am extremely pleased

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I am still getting used to it

KD-43XH8505 08 June 2021 by Phil1946 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A superb picture and so many things to learn about it so not mastered every thing yet. A high quality product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Crisp and sharp picture great colour.

KD-49XH9196 08 June 2021 by DeryckL (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought several weeks ago and installed in kitchen diner . Perfect size for space. Key features for us was good anti reflection due to bi fold doors and vaulted ceiling lights and extreme viewing angles. We are very happy with the TV that delivers on everything we wanted and more. Having owned a Bravia TV for the past 15 years we knew Sony was the best product .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Met my expectation! Great speed!

123 cm (49'') 07 June 2021 by Teoyp (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought X85H Smart TV one month ago and was very happy with the features and performance.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Finally I too have entered Sony's amazing 4k video

KD-43XH8596 06 June 2021 by mask73 (United Kingdom)

Thanks to Sony and its technology the show begins.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very good picture

KD-49XH8505 06 June 2021 by Nick101 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the 49" TV about a month ago. The build quality of the TV and the quality of the picture are outstanding. The big disappointment is the sound. I didn't have high expectations to start with but this model's sound is terrible. Tinny and worse than a laptop. Sony should have never accepted this level of quality to be released to the market

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A nice product - recommended.

KD-43XH9196 05 June 2021 by Brinton (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The space available limited the choice of screen size to 43". The local Sony Agents delivered and set up our new TV and we are, so far, very pleased with the performance of our purchase

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

10 days owned so far

KD-49XH8505 05 June 2021 by Bullseye1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my first Sony TV, I have had cd and cassette walkman players in the pasted but not their TV’s, and for 10 days of owning this right now I am impressed with its 4k screen and gaming spec quality, for the money you get a lot of TV and specs as well as add ons with this, just wish there was another two positions for the two stand legs , and that the plug lead was longer as It is really short for where my tv is to plug it in.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony XH85

KD-49XH8505 05 June 2021 by gazman568 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this 49" tv a short time ago to upgrade from a 32" TV. Wow!!!! So impressed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony Support UK
07 June 2021

Hi Gazman568,

Thank you for your review.

We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your TV. We're happy to welcome you into the Sony family! If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Sony Support UK

0

Excellent Picture

KD-49XH9196 03 June 2021 by jasih5 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this as a replacement for a new Panasonic which had to be replaced twice. Very pleased with this Sony . Excellent features and lovely picture quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A smart TV with lots of features

KD-49XH8505 02 June 2021 by griff311 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased 2 weeks ago to replace a 10year old Panasonic TV. The Sony has many extra features and with its very slim construction looks very stylish when compared to the TV its replaced. Picture quality is very good but there are times when the sound is not so good and changes to the equaliser do not eliminate a resonance from the speakers even at moderate volume.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony support
04 June 2021

Hi griff311,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your TV. We're happy to welcome you into the Sony family!
You can adjust the sound quality as described here: https://bit.ly/3lNZsfS. If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Sony Support UK

0

Picture judders

KD-43XH8505 01 June 2021 by JJanej (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this tv about a month ago and very disappointed with picture quality

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Sony support
04 June 2021

Hi JJanej,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're sorry to learn that you're not satisfied with the picture quality.
We recommend adjusting the picture quality as described here: https://bit.ly/2WKm8SZ. If the issue persists, we would like to be able to offer some assistance, so please don't hesitate to contact us using the details here: https://bit.ly/2VBcJwW.

Sony support UK

0

Wonderful TV

KD-49XH8505 01 June 2021 by Kavey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I found the Sony TV has an excellent picture and sound quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great tv

KD-49XH8505 31 May 2021 by Lozzabob (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Lots of features I'm still learning about but so far so good

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Has it all!

KD-43XH9196 31 May 2021 by R100 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really happy with this Sony TV. Lots of capability.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant Picture

KD-49XH9196 28 May 2021 by CDT 1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought 1 week ago and just love it. All my TVs are Sony and they are so reliable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Colour for sport is amazing

KD-49XH9196 28 May 2021 by Snotty (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

So far really impressed and easy to set up for a technophobe

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The picture quality I wanted.

KD-49XH9196 28 May 2021 by Bigun49 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After initial set up which was easy once saterlite needed was found. Only set up for Freesat otherwise the number of stations found on open saterlite would have been too many to control. Very pleased with the picture and sound from the set is great but prefer my soundbar system which was also easy to set up. Preferences for picture and sound are great. Happy for now. Looking forward to using this set.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointing sound and picture sizing

KD-43XH8505 28 May 2021 by Music Mac (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The good things: realistic portrayal of film-to-video transfers like The Saint. Tried watching Apollo 13 but the sound was muffled (Ron Howard's fault?) and I couldn't work out how to fill the whole screen with the picture. It played perfectly on my old 43 inch Sony, so why was there a big black border that made viewing so disappointing on this big expensive model? I love Sony but it seems that technology is getting harder to use, not easier. Ho hum.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony Support UK
31 May 2021

Hi Music Mac,

Thank you for your review.

We’re glad to learn that your happy with the overall performance of your TV. Adjusting the aspect ratio can vary from one source to another. You can find more information about changing the aspect ratio here: http://bit.do/fmMMB. If you require any further assistance, you may contact us using the details here: https://bit.ly/2Uadm09 .

Sony Support Team

0

Very impressive

KD-49XH9196 27 May 2021 by Nota3124 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had to buy a replacement T.V. in a hurry (as my old one "died") and was very nervous about spending that kind of money ( I am no expert when it comes to technology ) but i needn't have worried ! This was simple to set up although setting up Alexa is a bit tricky.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Customer Support
31 May 2021

Hi Nota3124,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your TV and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come. We're happy to welcome you into the Sony family!
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Sony Support UK

0

Great colours!

123 cm (49'') 26 May 2021 by fluffybread0_0 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Been looking for a suitable tv for my room, the sony X85H fits perfectly with my room. The colours on this tv is amazing! Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0