99

4.5 based on 99 customer reviews

74
12
6
3
4
Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Brilliant steep forward

WH-1000XM5 30 May 2022 by _b12 (United Kingdom)

## Design - No folding available in this iteration, just the usual cup tilt and pan. Works for me, don't mind the lack of foldability. - I personally appreciate the new design and can describe it as far more sturdy and quality feel. No more plasticy sounds when adjusting the headphones or moving your head - The cups are comfortable, with memory foam, coated with some kind of artificial leather - The proximity sensor is no longer visible(compared to M4), but is still there - Headband is comfortable and narrower. However, when at the gym and bench-pressing/dumbbell fly they still slide back off my head. - Approx. 5gr lighter on the scales than previous models. I can't really tell the difference when wearing either model, so doesn't make a difference to me but appreciate the change. Overall a welcome change. The cups seem a bit thicker in profile than previous iterations but overall with same comfort and nice fake leather coating material. Those are a fingerprint magnet(if you have the black headphones). Yet I prefer this design. The mics are quite visible though and given the grills are the trademark bronze/gold colour they stand out. Not really a fan of that color choice but given what it provides in other departments I have made my piece with it. Might not be for anyone. Definitely though would prefer the mics grills color to be same as the cups color. ## Active Noise Cancelling and mics - 7 visible mics positioned strategically around the ear cup for noise cancelling and voice calls - wind noise reduction is significantly improved (in NC mode only) - while listening and for the other side of a phone call - voice calls recipients no longer complaint about muffled or unclear speech, difference is quite audible. - Adaptive mode is very accurate in changing profiles both action and location based. Super useful in your everyday commute, gym, run/walk and in the office due to personalised ambient sound levels available through the app. You can save frequent locations with predefined ANC/ambient sound levels. Manually entered several of those and all worked well. But that is more on usability and the mobile app, yet worth mentioning. Overall very happy with the improvement in noise cancelling, especially in windy conditions such as the one I encounter every day in my park walks. Gym feeling is the same top notch. ## Buttons, controls and inputs - Same two button operation plus the same gesture controls as before: double tap, swipe up/down/left and right and tap and hold with palm - Still no dedicated button for multipoint connection control. You can pair the headphones with two devices and switch between them but only through the app. I really believe a dedicated button provides far better user experience - Same USB-C charging with fast charging available - Same audio cable provided to connect to your device if you do not want to use wireless - Same touch controls on the right cup, quite responsive and with nice sound feedback ## Connectivity - BT 5.2 - I appreciate that every iteration is supporting the latest BT protocol - Same frequency response as previous models in wired or wireless mode ## Features - Supports most Digital assistants - Google/Alexa/Siri - Connected apps option - chose what connected and supported app to run when double or triple clicking the NC button. I am using Spotify and when double click the NC button music starts playing from that app. - Speak-to-chat feature where once you speak transparency mode is activated until your voice is no longer picked by the headphones mics(5/15/30s or auto timeout). No more sing along in this mode :) - Battery life claimed is same as previous models - around 30h. I managed to get ~22h(100% down to 20%) with adaptive mode on and volume 30-50% . Quite a good deal. It could be different for you based on your prefered volume levels, EQ and NC mode. Worth noting that I received a firmware upgrade(1.1.1) right after the test. ## Sound - Playing the same song with default EQ seem to give this new XM5 a clearer mid-range than previous iterations(XM3 and XM4). For the casual listener I doubt it would make any change. For me personally I always use the EQ to adjust mid-high frequencies and also crank up the Clear Bass to +7. You must hear it for yourself with your favourite track to be able to appreciate the difference. - Quite a big technical change is the new drive - 30mm down from 40mm but with some better insulation and lighter mats such as carbon. Frequency response is same both wired and BT. All that signifies a change in the drive cavity and how bass resonates to produce the same quality low frequencies. - Each and every one of us has slightly different sensitivity for different frequency bands and self preferences as well therefore a head to head comparison of the output over a microphone(with different frequency sensitivity bands and possibly remastered post recording) gives some perspective but is in no way a fair depiction of what you, yourself, might take out of those headphones(or any audio device for that matter) and classify as "good" or "bad". Overall seem like an improvement(in the mid-range frequencies) and very much so appreciated. An audiofile will definitely hear a difference if comparing with predecessor. I still do and yet I am not a professional audio engineer. Given everything I mentioned, if you had any previous WH1000X model, I can describe this new one as a good step forward. In any other case prepare to be blown away. Coming from the other two brands competing with Sony will still feel very different and an improvement in most aspects. A very welcome upgrade I'd say - noise cancellation, audio quality, connectivity(with the exception of multipoint management) are all top level. A must have for travel on the tube, going to the gym or for a walk in the park. Adaptive ANC is brilliant. I very much want to see a hardware change for multipoint device management on the headphones themselves. Maybe a dedicated button to switch between connected/registered devices. Also, can't wait to see what Sony can offer in future iterations with regards to further improving noise cancelling, especially dynamic wind noise removal and would they offer multi-drive and true DD5.1(that would be amazing!) version of this product one day.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

7

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Not comfortable for glasses wearers

WH-1000XM5 29 May 2022 by Me_me (United Kingdom)

Previous models are more comfortable. If you wear glasses these make a rubbing creaking sounds around the leather surround on the ear. It's actually annoying and frustrating. The top head band is thinner and less cushioned that older models and less comfortable for longer periods. Unable to use dual bluetooth if you want LDAC and high quality which is the whole reason you just spent nearly £400 on these headphones. So all in all actually feel disappointed, the MX3s were pretty decent albeit mine are falling apart after a few years usage.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

105 Customer Reviews

0

Best overall

WH1000XM5/BME 06 July 2022 by Sly7239 (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pre-order the item and with a month of use, I find it much better than the previous model. Less fatigue and hot on the head, very light and sound quality is awesome.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My new go-to headphones

WH1000XM5/S 05 July 2022 by The_Scient1st (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

These are absolutely amazing. I recently took them on a trip and first of all the noise cancelling made it so I could barely hear anything of the plane engine while I was flying. The sound quality is crystal clear, and all of the smart functions are very very cool. I also like this case a lot compared to older ones (I also have a pair of h.ear MDR-100ABN) because it is flatter and has a nice compartment for the wires. Overall, it feels like Sony has thought through every aspect of how to make an excellent headphone and executed it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05 July 2022

Hi The_Scient1st, Thanks for sharing your awesome experience while using your new Sony wireless noise canceling headphones. With our WH-1000XM5 headphones, you can enjoy magnificent sound quality which is engineered to perfection and have a battery life that can last up to 30 hours with quick charging (3 min charge for 3 hours of playback). With 8 total microphones, these headphones are our biggest step forward in noise canceling technology. For everyday convenience, just Speak-to-Chat and Quick Attention mode stop your music and let in ambient sound. Thank you for choosing Sony! Vincent

0

Great mobile headphones

WH-1000XM5 05 July 2022 by Goansipife (United Kingdom)

Since a while i was looking a mobile headphones that maintain the sound quality I'm used to with living room headphones. I bought these and i think i reached there

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Features

WH-1000XM5 05 July 2022 by buckers (United Kingdom)

Easy to use and very comfortable , brilliant technology in making these headphones

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Almost the best

WH1000XM5/BME 05 July 2022 by Ah pui (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

The smudges on black colour ones.... Sony, why do this to us?

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

overall, great

WH1000XM5/S 05 July 2022 by alfunzoA (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

the headset it's self is amazing. the sound is wonderful, they are very comfortable and they look amazing all while having the best Active Noise Canceling around. 4/5 because of the app. the interface is not comfortable and more customizable widgets would be greatly appreciated

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05 July 2022

Hi alfunzoA, Thank you for the awesome review! We're very happy to hear you like the incredible sound quality, comfortable fit, sleek and beautiful design, and industry-leading noise canceling feature of your new Sony WH-1000XM5. We also appreciate your feedback about the interface and customization of the Sony Headphones Connect app. For future reference, we can offer assistance on how to set up, operate the features and functions of the app to make it a better overall experience for you. Also, you can reach out to one of our agents through this link: https://us.esupport.sony.com/support/s/service?language=en_US. who would be glad to help.
The WH-1000XM5 headphones have 2 processors that control 8 microphones for unprecedented noise cancellation and exceptional call quality. With a newly developed 30mm driver, DSEE – Extreme and Hi-Res audio support they provide awe-inspiring audio quality. Our Voice Pickup Technology uses 4 microphones that are calibrated to only pick up your voice, resulting in crystal clear calls. The automatic Speak to Chat feature will stop your music once you start talking and let in the ambient sound. With up to 30 hours of battery life and a quick charge feature. The new lightweight WH-1000XM5 headphones provide all day comfort in an elegant design. Thanks for choosing Sony! -Sam

0

Excellent headphones.

WH-1000XM5 04 July 2022 by Tammy02 (United Kingdom)

I bought these headphones a little while ago and I've used them every day since! They are truly amazing!

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Noise Cancelling and Comfort.

WH1000XM5/BME 04 July 2022 by Oceantan (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I decided to purchase the 1000XM5 after hearing so much how good M4 was. ordered it during the pre-order. The pre-order came with a very nice charging stand for the headphone. But most impressive was the headphone itself. The noise cancelling is superb and able to drown out a lot of external noises. And it was very comfortable to wear. It is not heavy and the ear pads are comfortable without creating too much heat. I highly recommend it.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Product

WH1000XM5/BME 04 July 2022 by smyusuff (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

What more can you expect from Sony. Only the best product and quality. Love the headphone.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great headphones

WH-1000XM5 03 July 2022 by Ellp (United Kingdom)

Amazing piece of kit. When it comes to headphones you can't beat them

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great noise cancelling and battery life

WH1000XM5/BME 03 July 2022 by SportyTng (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great noise cancelling, battery life and comfortable to wear long period of time.

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

SONY HAS DONE IT AGAIN!

WH-1000XM5 02 July 2022 by DC1971 (United Kingdom)

Coming from the XM3s I thought it would be a good update. The soundstage is epic compares to the 3s, the low end is more detailed and defined this time round. Mids and highs are present, not muddy. Call quality with the extra mics are amazing, also cancels background nice and wind. Also the new design is great, no creaking with this design. If you're coming from XM3s or earlier, or your in the market for a great sounding headphones IMHO just buy these along with the Sony app, they work amazingly well.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

You need LDAC codec/TX to enjoy the headphone

WH1000XM5/SME 02 July 2022 by Butcher of Blaviken (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is in LDAC based headphone, if your smartphone has LDAC codec reader, you will enjoy the amount is sound in this headphone. Most PC/laptop of windows cannot read LDAC codec, so you will be best to get an LDAC transmitter (brands like Fiio have) to enjoy the sound You will need to be need picky to know if there is a latency, but generally latency is not significant once you have the LDAC codec reader Overall, connection is alot easier compare XM3, lighter and more close to ear

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I upgraded from the M2 to the M5

WH-1000XM5 01 July 2022 by Pabloz (United Kingdom)

I've only had the product for about a week now. So far from my ungrade from the M2 there is no going back. I can't say much in terms of sound quality of but m5 sound way better to me but these are on train ears, I also feel the the noise cancelling is by far away better but again I'm not a professional. What I can say for certain is when taking a phone call all the clarity on both ends is way better. My 1 negative is I do believe the price is a bit high maybe £300 instead of £380 would be a better price point.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use

WH-1000XM5 01 July 2022 by Pablo27 (United Kingdom)

I would give 6/10 sound quality not that impressed good controls Too big for my normal sized head on min setting and have tk move head slip to avoid moving them Battery life is good But expected more sound quality and lack of volume not good also

Performance

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony Support Team
04 July 2022

Hi Pablo27,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your headphones, and sorry to learn that you didn't like the sound quality and the fact that they are large.

You can always extend the slider to adjust the length of the headband, and check how to wear it through this link: https://bit.ly/3M6JFoi.
But, rest assured, we'll pass your feedback to the relevant channels for future consideration and development.

Also, you can always change between the 2 quality modes to prioritize the sound quality, or the the connection: https://bit.ly/3NGhuNM.
Furthermore, to enjoy the best sound quality of the headset, try to play content that support high resolution codecs: https://bit.ly/3up6spr.

And if it's the same, you may reset and initialize the unit, and test it once more: https://bit.ly/3P1FHiF & https://bit.ly/3OZI9pH.

If you need any assistance in the future, you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Sawy @Sony Support UK

0

Fantastic Noise Cancellation

WH1000XM5/SME 01 July 2022 by RGopal (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I pre-ordered WH-1000XM5 noise cancelling headphone after hearing the XM4 reviews. Indeed the product designed for ultimate noise cancelling as I used it for my recent overseas trip flying long hours. The headphone is light weight and easy to carry around. The colour which I bought is silver and it has beautiful tone to it. Value buy for this ultimate noise cancelling headphone.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Overal ok, small tit-bits

WH1000XM5/BME 01 July 2022 by Avi99 (Thailand) Verified Purchaser Verified

Soft and easy to wear, tho they might slide a bit when bending down, over 30+ mins of use the cushions kind feel warm over my ears even in Aircon. Build is good. Noice cancellation is 8/10 for me

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best ANC ever

WH1000XM5/BME 01 July 2022 by kelborhal78 (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

The best ANC Bluetooth headset right now. Prefer the new design over the XM4. Feels more solid, wish there were audible clicks when adjusting headband. I don't mind that it's not foldable. Charging cable way too short

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony Product never disappoint ever!

WH1000XM5/BME 30 June 2022 by Dex168 (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I preorder XM5 before it launched in Malaysia. After I received and tested it, I have an incredible experience with my new headphones. Other than comfortably fit and wearing in long-duration, sound quality and those upgrades really impress me especially the switch of transparency is faster and compatible. That's my personal feeling and experience using Sony XM3 to XM5, I see lots of improvement and still can be better.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great product

WH1000XM5/BME 29 June 2022 by Josef1421 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it last few weeks and it was incredible. Love it

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features

WH1000XM5/BME 28 June 2022 by kpbong (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Coming from Bose QC25, this headphone is a huge upgrade. Although the noise cancelling and sound quality is way better but then again I never tried airpods or bose latest noise cancelling headphones. The build quality is pretty solid but I wonder if the ear muff can be replaced

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

XM5 Sucks

WH1000XM5/SME 28 June 2022 by MarlinaJ (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I regret selling my XM3. The ANC on XM5 is way inferior to my 3 years old XM3. Ponder on that for a sec. Theres no manual optimization. i can still here my surrounding even at noice cancelling setting. I usually listen to a very low sound to protect my ear due to excellent anc..but now..i am very very very dissapointed. The headphone randomly switch off for no reason. The headphone button and touch sensor randomly working and not working.

Performance

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

2

0

Cool

WH1000XM5/BME 27 June 2022 by Shhh (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sleek design, cool features. Happy with my investment.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome

WH1000XM5/BME 27 June 2022 by Kugaanesan (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I really enjoy listening to music via Sony WH-1000XM5 headphone. The sound quality is good and it's noise cancellation features is great.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic!!

WH1000XM5/BME 25 June 2022 by lancerlot (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Splendid performance!..Excellent bass for Rock Music!

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome Sound Quality and Great Noise Cancelling

WH1000XM5/BME 24 June 2022 by IvanTan (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am still wearing this head phone as I write this review. I am happy to be able to trade in my XM3 ear buds for this new set. Thanks Sony! I don't mind this headset cannot be folded like the XM4. I just hung it around my neck! Battery life is super good.The only complaint is wearing too long builds up heat like every other over the ear headphones. Good thing this headset is light and cushion is comfortable. I was also able to make calls in a noisy environment with my voice sounding clear to the other parties. Overall, this is the most expensive headset i owned but it is worth every cent!

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best ANC

WH1000XM5/BME 24 June 2022 by 31242 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upgraded from XM2 to XM5. The ANC on XM5 is way better than XM2. MRT track noise was cut to the minimum. Bus engine noise was reduce to a comfortable level. Headphone is comfortable for long listening.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

By far this is the best ANC headset by Sony

WH1000XM5/SME 24 June 2022 by Sunny Tang (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upgrading from XM3 to XM5. Excellent ANC and sound quality in Ldac format.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony does it again!!!

WH-1000XM5 22 June 2022 by Daz101 (United Kingdom)

Amazing product, highly recommended. Love the build and sound quality.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

The best ones

WH-1000XM5 21 June 2022 by PaoloPz (United Kingdom)

I was thinking about buying the 4th version, but when the 5th version came out, I just bought them, and im really happy with them. Nice build quality, best music quality, and best NC.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

So far so good

WH1000XM5/BME 21 June 2022 by dont_ask (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this in as an addition to my in-ear.. works great so far, music sounds great.. noise cancelling is even better.. as expected of sony... one complain.. skin at cup contact will sweat during prolong use.. cant be helped, i guess... but overall.. havent regret yet..

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing product - much better than XM4

WH1000XM5/B 20 June 2022 by joshv (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I accidentally broke 2 pairs of the XM4's but with the build quality of the XM5, I feel safer taking this on and off without breaking the metal/plastic band holding the headphones together. Sound quality is on another level but noice canceling could be a bit better compared to the Air Pods Max.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20 June 2022

Hi joshv, Thank you for purchasing the Sony WH-1000XM5 Wireless Noise Canceling Headphones! The WH-1000XM5 headphones have a robust design which helps prevent any type of breakage under normal use. And we're glad you like the excellent sound quality of your new headphones. To ensure optimal noise canceling performance, please refer to the steps on the link below:

https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wh1000xm5/v1/en/contents/TP1000534745.html


The WH-1000XM5 headphones have 2 processors that control 8 microphones for unprecedented noise cancellation and exceptional call quality. With a newly developed 30mm driver, DSEE – Extreme and Hi-Res audio support they provide awe-inspiring audio quality. Our Voice Pickup Technology uses 4 microphones that are calibrated to only pick up your voice, resulting in crystal clear calls. The automatic Speak to Chat feature will stop your music once you start talking and let in the ambient sound. With up to 30 hours of battery life and a quick charge feature. The new lightweight WH-1000XM5 headphones provide all day comfort in an elegant design. Thanks for choosing Sony! -Sam

0

Grat Noise cancelling and sound

WH-1000XM5 20 June 2022 by sjefkevalk (United Kingdom)

I am a fan of Sony headphones and I've possessed the previous versions as well. I started with the XM3 and was impressed by the sound (which is the most important feature in a headphone for me). With the XM3 I also discovered the ANC for the first time. The XM4 was an upgrade of the ANC but I found that the sound quality didn't change, though it kept an high standard. With the XM5 both sound and ANC quality increased together with the price, which is the reason for the 4 stars.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony Support Team
22 June 2022

Hi,

Thank you for your review.

We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your headphones and happy with the sound quality we always aim to deliver! We're also glad to keep you as one of our loyal family members and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come!

Moreover, don't hesitate to reach out to us over the phone, chat support and email using the details here: https://bit.ly/3xPUapp to provide us with any further feedback you may have, we’re always delighted to hear from our customers, and are always working to develop our headphones to suit your needs.

Mennah @Sony Support UK

0

The best ANC headphones on the market.

WH-1000XM5 20 June 2022 by Zen_Shot (United Kingdom)

Upraded to these from my WH-1000XM3's. So much better with many improvements.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best headphones 2022!

WH1000XM5/BME 19 June 2022 by Nasir70 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Comfortable with good sound & base but prolong use my ears heat up & sweating. Also too costly. Use it with my PS5. Wish Ps5 can connect wireless & with 3d surround sound.

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Very uncomfortable

WH-1000XM5 18 June 2022 by Anony45 (United Kingdom)

I own the XM3 and now the XM4 I came from the XM3 to the XM5. I had the XM5 on my head for one hour and the impression made on my head is as shown on the photos. The headband was not pressed down hard. Perhaps this is an allergic reaction to the material. The ear pads are thinner than both the XM3 and XM4. I cannot say for certain if they would have become very uncomfortable after wearing for a long time becuase I never had the headphones on for a long time. The sound was great but unsure if I would consider them better than the XM3 or XM4. I had high hopes for the XM5 but I am very disappointed. I returned them to Sony for a full refund. Thanks for that

Performance

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

13

Response From Sony Support Team
21 June 2022

Hi Anony45,

Thank you for your review.
We're sorry to hear that you've returned the unit due to the fact that it was very uncomfortable to use.

First of all the headphones uses recycled plastic materials from auto-mobile parts.
Also due to the new design of the unit it is thinner than the previous two models, but should also be lighter. And we would've recommended checking this wearing guide for the unit: https://bit.ly/3M6JFoi.

And of course we would've loved if you called us to discuss this further with you before returning it: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.
But, rest assured, we'll pass your feedback to the relevant channels for future consideration and development. And once more, we're sorry about any inconvenience.

Sawy @Sony Support UK

0

Looks great, sounds great, comfort could be better

WH-1000XM5 17 June 2022 by Mikest3r (United Kingdom)

I bought this a couple weeks ago and have been using it 3 days a week to travel into work (London). I've really enjoyed using them. The noise cancelling is great, I can always hear my music/audio clearly and any outside noises are extremely quiet or non existent. The ambient-mode is great for hearing the outside world more clearly without taking the headphones off, and you can still hear your music fine. I often use this feature for listening to announcements on the train or if somebody is talking to me. The only down side so far is the comfort. The ears are fine, but the headband gets slightly painful after about an hour of use. It could just be my headshape, and usually after I move it back or forward it will stop for a bit. I think it might be related to how narrow it is and the pressure it has, because I have other headphones with wide cushioned bands and they never get uncomfortable.

1

0

Response From Sony support team
20 June 2022

Hi Mikest3r,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your headset. We're happy to welcome you into the Sony family!
We hope you will continue to enjoy it for many more years to come!
We'll make sure to pass your feedback about the fit through the proper channels for future consideration.
If you need any assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Hana @Sony support UK

0

Great headphones well done Sony

WH-1000XM5 17 June 2022 by Makaveli666 (United Kingdom)

I bought these a couple weeks ago, very good sound nice battery life the Touch Is good.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Pretty good

WH-1000XM5 16 June 2022 by OmniSnr (United Kingdom)

Overall these are pretty good headphones. I would have liked a bigger sound stage and occasionally the sound is a little muddy. I also have issue with “micro dropouts” when connected to my iPhone 13 which is infuriating. Although I would have liked more padding they are comfortable and the ANC is good. Support for spatial audio and Atmos would have been nice, rather the proprietary system than Sony uses and nobody on the plant supports

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony Support Team
20 June 2022

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your WH-1000XM5 and we're sorry to hear that you're facing some difficulties with them.
Could you make sure that the headphones are up to date, you can find the latest firmware version in this link: https://bit.ly/3HAdxZ . If the same issue remained, try the steps below:
Reset the headphones from the steps here: https://bit.ly/3bdh8ki
And you can initialize them from the steps here: https://bit.ly/3y5rTho

Indeed, Dolby Atmos isn't supported on the WH-1000XM5 but, you can enjoy music with the 360 Reality Audio as real as if you are there at a live concert or with the artist recording in a studio, and it's also supported on number of apps and streaming services, you can find more information about that in this link: https://bit.ly/3xEt2eu

Furthermore, we highly appreciate your feedback about the earpads and we've raised it to the relevant channels for future consideration and developments.
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Omnia @Sony Support UK

0

Best headphones I have had

WH-1000XM5 15 June 2022 by FabRay (United Kingdom)

Bought these a few weeks ago and they are the best headphones I've ever had. They fit well and are comfortable even after hours of use. I work from home and use these to take calls, which the headphones work very well for. The noise cancelling is really good and the ambient mode is perfect - there's an option to adjust how much sound is passed through if you use the app. The app also has some good EQ modes and the difference between the modes are noticeable. All overhead headphones that I have used in the past never fit my head/ears properly but these fit perfectly. The ONLY negative that I have to say is that when they are on theres no light to show they are on - so if I dont have my phone I cannot tell from a glance if they are on or not.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great but be careful.

WH1000XM5/S 15 June 2022 by Ren2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought them to replace 1000xm4's that started whistling in my left ear. They are easier to pair and volume and ambient sound controls are improved. Needed a set with good noise canceling.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15 June 2022

Hi Ren2,

We appreciate the 5-star rating! It's good to hear you enjoy the ambient sound and volume of the headphones. The WH-1000XM5 headphones have 2 processors that control 8 microphones for unprecedented noise cancellation and exceptional call quality. With a newly developed 30mm driver, DSEE – Extreme and Hi-Res audio support they provide awe-inspiring audio quality. Our Voice Pickup Technology uses 4 microphones that are calibrated to only pick up your voice, resulting in crystal clear calls. The automatic Speak to Chat feature will stop your music once you start talking and let in the ambient sound. With up to 30 hours of battery life and a quick charge feature. The new lightweight WH-1000XM5 headphones provide all day comfort in an elegant design. Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards.
David

0

Really good, but...

WH-1000XM5 15 June 2022 by AlexRTR (United Kingdom)

Preordered these, love the design, light weight, noise cancelling and the sound quality is very good. Let down by irritating crackle/ticking noise that flares up seemingly at random. Noticeable over some music but especially when you've got it paused. I really hope this is a software issue of some kind so it gets fixed.

Performance

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

Response From Sony Support Team
20 June 2022

Hi Alex,

Thank you for your feedback and we're glad to hear that you're enjoying your headphones despite having some issues with it.

As an attempt of rectifying the issue, could you ensure that your headphones is running on the latest software version by following this link: https://bit.ly/3NFB4tZ?

You can also test the headphones with different compatible devices.

Moreover, ensure to follow the troubleshooting steps clarified here: https://bit.ly/3HJQCuT.

If the above steps didn't help, try resetting and initializing the Headphones to its factory settings by following these links: https://bit.ly/3QyaBAM & https://bit.ly/3zKP0PD.

If the issue is still disrupting you, we'd love to offer extra assistance. Feel free to contact us by following this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL, we will gladly assist you further!

Mennah @Sony Support UK

0

Works well as a music headphones

WH-1000XM5 15 June 2022 by Dimebar (United Kingdom)

WH-1000XM5 works well if you want to listen to music in high quality. But the headset feature needs work. You speak louder as you can’t hear yourself. Also if you use the connect to two devices feature the mic stays on your phone and the headset connects to the pc making it useless for listening to music on your phone and using ur pc as teams vc

Performance

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony support team
17 June 2022

Hi Dimebar,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your headphones.
We hope you will continue to enjoy it for many more years to come!
We recommend activating the Speak-to-Chat function to avoid being loud when you're speaking to someone as described here: https://bit.ly/3O3APJE.
Regarding the MultiPoint connection, It does the below:
Waiting for an incoming call for 2 smartphones.
You can listen to music played on one smartphone with the headset, wait for an incoming call for both smartphones, and talk if an incoming call arrives.
Switching music playback between 2 devices.
You can switch the music playback from one device to the other without performing a Bluetooth reconnection.
But it can't be connected to a PC and a phone to receive calls on both of them.
However, we'll pass your valuable feedback through the proper channels for future consideration.
If you need any assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Hana @Sony support UK

0

Top sounding headphones with great features.

WH-1000XM5 15 June 2022 by Howesy999 (United Kingdom)

Having previously used sony headphones including the wh-xb700, I looked forward to trying out this model when it arrived. Day 1 and i got straight on to testing them out. The packaging being recyclable is great for those who want the latest tech, bit not to destroy the enviroment. The next bonus was the case. On my last headphone review I really wanted top brand headphones to have a case to keep them in top nick. Sony havent disappointed here with a solid case including a nice little part for the wires. The design: Lightweight but sturdy these headphones ooze quality. The buttons are easy to use and the phones look good to match the sound quality. They are cofortable to wear and suitable for use of a short journey or longer listening experience. Features: These things come with so many features you will not be able to imagine them all. Top of my list is the ability to hover your hand over them to hear whats going on. Great for kids who just shout over the top. I love the swipe up etc for volume and next tune. Downloading the app lets you play further making these a great bit of tech. Sound: Well this is the most important feature for a headphone and Sony havent let us down. Trying a plethora of music and movies over these and i couldnt find fault. Weather you be at home, out and about or on a busy bus the sound quality and noise reduction is top notch. Putting the headphones through a sound check even made me jump when testing the binaural sound check(getting up to answer the door to find it was just my headphones i had on). Top quality and great design,all in all these have really suprised me in how far headphones have come.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

An upgrade from the XM3

WH1000XM5/BME 15 June 2022 by longlivewtaps (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Better noise cancellation and design. Sound quality is more crisp. One down side is the non foldable ear muffs. Otherwise, recommended upgrade from the XM3s.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Comfort and Sound

WH1000XM5/SME 15 June 2022 by Mykalion (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Been using it everyday in my commute. Compared to the XM3s, these sound much fuller, clearer and well-balanced. And among the best consumer headphones currently in the market, the Active Noise Cancellation here is unrivalled. With the Sony Headphones app, you have access to great features, EQ settings and other customisation features too. Overall, a great suite and package.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very high quality

WH1000XM5/S 14 June 2022 by jjhelfman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am really enjoying the great sound quality and noise-canceling capabilities of this product. One feature I think could be improved is the performance of the Active Noise Cancelling (ANC) button. Sometimes, I have to press it multiple times before it turns on/off and it would be useful to have a clear indicator for ANC status (on/off) - either a voice or light.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16 June 2022

Hi jjhelfman, Awesome! We're pleased to hear that you are enjoying the sound quality and noise canceling function of your new headphones. The WH-1000XM5 headphones have 2 processors that control 8 microphones for unprecedented noise cancellation and exceptional call quality. With a newly developed 30mm driver, DSEE – Extreme and Hi-Res audio support they provide awe-inspiring audio quality. Our Voice Pickup Technology uses 4 microphones that are calibrated to only pick up your voice, resulting in crystal clear calls. The automatic Speak to Chat feature will stop your music once you start talking and let in the ambient sound. With up to 30 hours of battery life and a quick charge feature. The new lightweight WH-1000XM5 headphones provide all day comfort in an elegant design. Thanks for choosing Sony. Erin

0

The worst headphones in terms of connectivity

WH1000XM5/S 14 June 2022 by v007 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these expecting a big improvement over the XM4. While the headphones are comfortable, they are so far the worst experience I've had in terms of connection issues. Ever since I bought them and after factory resets and upgrading the firmware, every time I join a new call the audio drops and my mic is gone. I've tried multiple devices with the same experience. The only way to make them work is to join the meeting and THEN turn the headphones on. And this is only with one device connected, as soon as I have two connected devices it makes it worse. Support has been very poor, as I've had conflicting suggestions and solutions to this problem.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15 June 2022

Hi v007,

We're glad that you like the comfort of the WH1000XM5. It's unfortunate that you are having connectivity issues with the headphones. We hope you already tried the troubleshooting steps on this link:

https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wh1000xm5/v1/en/contents/TP1000534697.html

Note:
When the Speak-to-Chat function is enabled and the Microphone setting on the video calling app isn't set properly, the voice from the headphones may be muted in response to your speech. If your video calling app doesn't have the Microphone setting, disable the Speak-to-Chat function on the headphones. To disable the function, hold two fingers to the touch sensor control panel until you hear the voice guidance say Speak-to-chat deactivated.

You may also find this link helpful:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/wireless-headphones-bluetooth-headphones/wh-1000xm5/articles/00204483

Regarding the multipoint function, make sure to follow the steps on this link:
https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wh1000xm5/v1/en/contents/TP1000541784.html

If still not resolved or you need further assistance, please email the below information to socialsupport@am.sony.com.

Full Name:
Sony.com Username:
Telephone Number:
Sony Headphones Model Number:
Issue:
Case Number:
Additional Information regarding your experience with your WH1000XM5.

Sincerely,

-Ralph
Sony Social Support

0

Unreliable performance with my MacBook

WH1000XM5/B 14 June 2022 by mohanymous (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve almost given up! I’m very disappointed with the the utter lack of basic functionality: Microsoft Teams and this headset are not inspiring confidence.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15 June 2022

Hi mohanymous, thank you for choosing and purchasing our product. We're sorry to hear that you have an issue with your SONY unit connected to the Microsoft Teams. We highly recommend following these links to efficiently use the wh1000xm5 with your video call software:

https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wh1000xm5/v1/en/contents/TP1000541040.html?search=HFP

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/wireless-headphones-bluetooth-headphones/wh-1000xm5/articles/00250089

If you require any additional support in regards to this product, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details: Name: Username: Model Number: Issue: Telephone Number:

~Earl

0

Sounds great & light weight

WH1000XM5/B 14 June 2022 by Elton Almeida (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound quality of these headphones is awesome. However I was disappointed with the build quantity and size. I wish the top part of the headband was made of plastic while the bottom leather. I felt the headphones protrude a little too much and looked too big for my head. Would be great if Sony can get that great sound in a smaller form factor.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14 June 2022

Hi Elton Almeida,
We're glad to hear you like the amazing sound quality and light weight of the XM5 headphones. However, we are sorry if the build and size of these headphones did not live up to your expectations.

The WH-1000XM5 headphones have 2 processors that control 8 microphones for unprecedented noise cancellation and exceptional call quality. With a newly developed 30mm driver, DSEE – Extreme and Hi-Res audio support they provide awe-inspiring audio quality. Our Voice Pickup Technology uses 4 microphones that are calibrated to only pick up your voice, resulting in crystal clear calls. The automatic Speak to Chat feature will stop your music once you start talking and let in the ambient sound. With up to 30 hours of battery life and a quick charge feature. The new lightweight WH-1000XM5 headphones provide all day comfort in an elegant design. Thanks for purchasing Sony! - Kris

0

Amazing sound quality and noise cancelling

WH-1000XM5 13 June 2022 by jwjon (United Kingdom)

On a recent flight I found that the noise cancellation for engine noise to be phenomenal. It sounded as if we'd started gliding. Voice noise remained quite audible, which was annoying. The sound itself, from audiobooks through classical and dance music, is beautifully presented too.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

As my expectations, but not beyond it

WH1000XM5/S 13 June 2022 by Zh28 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recommend you to buy a xm4 or even xm3. It isn't worth so much money.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13 June 2022

Hi Zh28
We're sorry to hear we were not able to meet your full expectations with the WH1000XM5. May we know the issue that you are experiencing with the headphones?

May we contact you to help and get more information? If so, please email the below information to socialsupport@am.sony.com.
Name:
Sony.com Username:
Telephone Number:
Model Number:
Issue:

The WH-1000XM5 headphones have 2 processors that control 8 microphones for unprecedented noise cancellation and exceptional call quality. With a newly developed 30mm driver, DSEE – Extreme and Hi-Res audio support they provide awe-inspiring audio quality. Our Voice Pickup Technology uses 4 microphones that are calibrated to only pick up your voice, resulting in crystal clear calls. Thanks for purchasing Sony! - Kris

0

seems like a step backwards for ANC

WH1000XM5/BME 13 June 2022 by ristar (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

the ANC feels less good than the ANC for the XM4s. i can still hear my AC. non foldable headphones is a step backwards. the profile is now larger. having the cups face upwards when having not wearing it is a very poorly thought out design decision. facing up means, when it rains, somebody talks (and spews saliva everywhere) etc, the insides of the headphones gets wet/dirty. would be good if the headphones can sense that the user took it off in cable mode to save battery.

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Best purchase I have made in years.

WH1000XM5/S 12 June 2022 by JeLo74 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I couldn’t be happier with the build and sound quality of these headphones. I had reservations about spending that much on headphones but my post purchase regrets went away upon first use. Sony just earned another loyal customer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13 June 2022

Hi JeLo74,
Awesome! We always strive to deliver the best quality with our products. Your satisfaction means a lot to us. We're glad to hear you are happy with the build and sound quality with your new headphones. The WH-1000XM5 headphones have 2 processors that control 8 microphones for unprecedented noise cancellation and exceptional call quality. With a newly developed 30mm driver, DSEE – Extreme and Hi-Res audio support they provide awe-inspiring audio quality. Our Voice Pickup Technology uses 4 microphones that are calibrated to only pick up your voice, resulting in crystal clear calls. Thanks for choosing Sony! - Kris

0

Very let down.

WH1000XM5/B 12 June 2022 by Sad Face (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the XM5 on pre-order expecting great things. After wearing them for a week, I am back to my XM4 headset. The 4 has better sound quality and much better noise canceling. If I knew then what I know now, I would have waited for the 5 to come out and bought another 4 when the price dropped.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Performance

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13 June 2022

Hi there,

Thank you for your review.

We are really sorry if our WH-1000XM5 didn't live up to your expectations. This is definitely not the experience we wanted you to have on our premium headphones. For the WH-1000XM5, these headphones feature 2 processors that control 8 microphones for unprecedented noise cancellation and exceptional call quality. With a newly developed 30mm driver, DSEE – Extreme and Hi-Res audio support they provide awe-inspiring audio quality. We are not sure what audio device you have these headphones connected to. However, you may try following the troubleshooting steps below to isolate the problem:

We want to make sure you are getting the most out of your headphones. If you haven't yet, please make sure that you have downloaded the Sony Headphones Connect app. There you will find all sorts of tools to fine-tune your WH1000XM5 and maximize the volume to your liking. There is even an EQ for bass and treble sound. You can also try setting the Sound quality mode of these headphones to "Priority on sound quality" and see if it resolves the problem.
ref: https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wh1000xm5/v1/en/contents/TP1000534501.html

For the noise canceling, the article below will help improved this feature:
https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wh1000xm5/v1/en/contents/TP1000534745.html

And as a general recommendation, to get the most out of your WH-1000XM5, we recommend updating its firmware to the latest version. The software includes key features, applications, bug fixes, and feature improvements. For more information, please visit the link below:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/wireless-headphones-bluetooth-headphones/wh-1000xm5/downloads

Should you need more information or technical assistance with our product, you can always contact us and we'll be more than happy to assist you. You may send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following:

Name:
Sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

We appreciate you & your input, and thank you for choosing Sony.

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Exceptional headphones

WH-1000XM5 12 June 2022 by Nick00 (United Kingdom)

I have had cabled headphones but theses are my first bluetooth headphones. I am continually amazed at what the headphones are capable of. Connecting to my paired devices so easily, quality of sound, noise cancelling, pausing netflix if I remove the headphones, sound control and so much more. Although expensive for me well worth the money.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amaizing sound and noise cancelation

WH-1000XM5 12 June 2022 by prince charming (United Kingdom)

I had the XM2 then XM4 and now XM5 which is so complite much better !!!!!!!!!!!

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The Best Sound Quality

WH1000XM5/SME 11 June 2022 by Air Penny (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got it last week and never disappoint. The best sound quality. The performance is solid. Overall I just love it. Thank you Sony again for your work.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Bad headset

WH1000XM5/B 11 June 2022 by Harsha (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I tried to connect to two devices and it didn't work. I tried to speak to multiple reps. Could not resolve. So I returned the product.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11 June 2022

Hi Harsha,

Thanks for reaching out to us with your concern. We're sorry to learn the multipoint function on your WH-1000XM5 headphones doesn't work properly and you're unable to connect to two devices. When [Connect to 2 devices simultaneously] is turned on with the “Sony | Headphones Connect” app, the headset can connect to 2 devices via Bluetooth connections simultaneously, allowing you to do the following.

• Waiting for an incoming call for 2 smartphones
You can listen to music played on one smartphone with the headset, wait for an incoming call for both smartphones, and talk if an incoming call arrives.
• Switching music playback between 2 devices
You can switch the music playback from one device to the other without performing a Bluetooth reconnection.

Before connecting, we recommend to download the Sony Headphones Connect app on one of the devices and make sure it has the latest update. Check with the “Sony Headphones Connect” app that the setting of [Connect to 2 devices simultaneously] is on. (Confirm that both devices are connected in the Device Currently Being Connected section of the app)

We regret to know that the unit had to be returned. We hope you will consider Sony again in a future purchase.

Sincerely,
Jess

0

Great headset

WH-1000XM5 09 June 2022 by Gamfreak (United Kingdom)

Been using them since I get them and they are easy to use

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

WH-1000XM5 09 June 2022 by Toggge (United Kingdom)

My first set of over-ear headphones for many years. First impression: A smart carry case, with a fabric finish that I really like, perhaps a little large so it goes in a backpack. I found that the case could take a small battery pack to the headphones can recharge. The noise cancelling is fabulous. You can listen to music in the same room as someone watching TV and have no interruption. On to a not so good. There are lots of booklets full of data, but no instruction manual. In theory you need to download a Sony app to be able to change the sound style, it takes a while. I found that when using the app if the phone is in my back pocket, it can randomly turn off or change the settings. In a jacket pocket this doesn’t happen. There’s an option to sign up for 360 degree sound, but it doesn’t work with any well know music app that I have on my phone. So what is my conclusion. Primarily I use the headphones without the app, the sound is sumptuous, even on trains and planes, Fantastic for travel, for more active use I use Sony in ear. Ease of set up 60% Sound quality 100%

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Joy for the hard of hearing - Sony WH-1000XM5

WH-1000XM5 07 June 2022 by Craigy1631 (United Kingdom)

Upfront confession I'm a 60 plus male with Bluetooth hearing aids who is missing his music !! While my hearing aids act as Bluetooth buds for my phone/tablet the quality of audio playback is such that I was on the point of giving up on music listening. For one last go I acquired the new Sony top of the range headphones and I'm so glad I did !! On unboxing I was surprised by the sleek new design which is quite unlike any previous headphones I've used or tested. I was pleased to see that there are no risky folding joints which always worry me and while the carrying case may be a little bigger because of this I really prefer this approach. Togethr the cans and case just ooze class. I always prefer to see if I can operate a new device without reference to a manual or online video probably to prove I'm not too docile but also to see if enough attention has been paid to usability. One long press on the obvious power button and the usual flashing blue light was on for pairing. Two second look at my phone and I was off and running. (At the same time I disconnected my hearing aids from the phone to avoid any clash). I know there are various controls available via an app but for my first go I couldn't resist just using all defaults. I stream from several sites all at the highest quality setting but as mentioned the hearing aids just can't cut it. From an ergonomics point of view the headphones feel a little bigger and as such happily enclose my ears and the padding is soft and comfortable. My preference is for live concert recordings and the minute the music started I new I was getting a quite different experience and memories of music pleasure were instantly rekindled. I was picking out specific instruments and band voices which recently have just been one blurred noise. The other thing that quickly emerged was the external noise cancelling which hit home when my wife tapped me on the shoulder to say she had been calling on me. Ah the joy !!! Over the next couple days I downloaded the app and tried the headphones outside while walking the dog. First things first. I found the app really interesting as I still think of myself as a technofile but in all honesty other than upping the bass slightly I can easily live with the defaults. I did however try out the 360 music settings with a 360 source which brought a quite different to the whole immersive concert feel and was really enjoyable. When I went outside for the first time I had a ringing "be careful" from my wife as I cross a few busy roads. While the noise cancelling made a huge difference there was always enough of a background awareness that ensured I never felt at risk. For the first time in years I was able to enjoy my music with an outdoor experience. Call quality and periodic use of my phone's online assistant worked perfectly with clear and usable ease in doors and out. I can't compare these headphones to previous versions to highlight key changes/improvements but for me they have brought my listening back to a level I thought was long gone. Thank you Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

3

0

0

Disappointing earpads as all the previous models

WH-1000XM5 07 June 2022 by Christiaan M (United Kingdom)

Bought the new xm5s a week ago. Sounds is awesome but for Me the earpads are way to soft and almost no padding. Inside material touches my ears and pushes to hard on them which causes discomfort almost immediately and after a few minutes have to take the headphones off. Very disappointed. Sony doesn't listen to their customers. Previous models which i own aswell same problem.

Performance

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

3

Response From Sony Support Team
09 June 2022

Hi Christiaan,

Thank you for your review.
We're sorry to hear that you're facing difficulties with the design of your WH-1000XM5. We highly appreciate your valued feedback, we are always delighted to hear from our customers, and are always working to develop products to what suits your needs.Rest assured, we've raised your feedback to the relevant channels or future consideration.
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Omnia @Sony Support UK

0

Noise No More

WH1000XM5/BME 06 June 2022 by Jm2310135 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I pre-ordered this on 15 May and received this 2 June. Tried this one the first day and immediately the difference that I felt with the XM2 in clarity, mids and high notes and the bass although slightly muted than the XM2 I would say this is more balanced overall. Not to mention that noise canceling is a few notches up. And to sweeten the deal i was able to trade in and got a discount off. Highly recommended for music and movie (I believe it is Dolby Atmos supported) lovers.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great NC and bass quality

WH1000XM5/BME 06 June 2022 by mitztk (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've used WH-1000XM3 and XM4 so far. XM5 is no longer folded but the sound quality is well improved compared to XM4. This will be my all-day daily driver for next 1-2 years.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Probaly the best bluetooth head set around

WH-1000XM5 05 June 2022 by Bonzo 4207 (United Kingdom)

These head phones have got to be the best you can buy or really close to it, is it the absolutle way these head phones connect seemlessly to any of my products like my Sony phone turn on connects instantly or my blue tooth sender I use to connect to the tv so as not to disturb the wife in bed when she is working a over night turn it on and pow it connects so easy whether is a phone ,TV sterio blue tooth sender then theres Alexa connected like in moments using the hand gestures and my voice as these head sets have a built in microphone connecting to 360 deezer was a sinch after seting up the account, is it the sound in my book the sound qualtiy is top noch with the spatial sound and the 360 sound you are so going to love these head phones and I have only charged them once in thirty hour of use not continuos I will admit. is it the comfort of some well padded and so soft ear pads admittingly I had to take my own hearing aids off when wearing these head set way to loud with them on but there is ample volume for me and comfort I have wore them for seven hours staight with no swearing issue, We are in our French at the momment and as back in the uk connection is so easy. I do have another Sony head set SBH60 these head phones whack them out of the ball park and into space try thses once you will not want to use any other head set ever again, O did I mention they com with a charging cable and a perfect carry case all delivered in a cardboard package that is recyclable. Well any down side to these Headphone I haven't found any yet apart from amazon not letting me have the three month free 360 music trial as i have use them before on a free trial thats not Sony fault.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

1

0

Studio Quality, comfortable and clever to boot!

WH-1000XM5 05 June 2022 by DoctorSimon31 (United Kingdom)

What a great set of high quality, noise cancelling headphones from Sony! For comfort, they are light and highly adjustable, with soft ear cups and headband, ensuring they stay in place as well as not becoming irritable after a period of time. This is just as well as the battery life is exceptional, with 30 hours on a full charge and 3 hours in just 3 mins. There is a handy red dot above the right cup, inside the headband to quickly remind you which way round to put them on! When first worn, even powered off, you have a sense of complete cover over the ear and how immediately the ambient sound is reduced. Then when turned on and the noise cancelling is activated, almost no ambient sounds can be heard. Then play some music and forget about around you! The Headphones Connect app from Sony is essential: it enables scenario specific noise cancelling through the Adaptive Sound Control, according to the activity and location, and even learns your preferences. You are even able to control the amount of ambient noise allowed in. All of this is cleverly managed by microphones inside and outside the ear cup. A true test of the noise cancelling was while mowing the lawn: very impressive. There are a multitude of settings and functions available within the app, too many to go through here, but one that I have found extremely useful is being able to connect to two devices at once. Using the Headphones Connect app while connected to my TV or laptop allows control of the functions while listening to another source. Beyond the app, there is an intuitive touch control pad on the flat side of the right cup. Volume, track choice and call receiving all wok using taps and swipes. The clarity that the microphones provide in call is envied by those that I´m talking to: they find it difficult to believe I´m using headphones. Be patient for a software update, when it occurs, but nice to see regular support through the app. Still trying to get to grasp with all of the functions, like Speak-to-chat and the seriously useful Pause when headphones taken off, especially when watching a film and an inevitable interruption; I am thoroughly enjoying this impressive high quality product from Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Comfortable and great sound

WH1000XM5/SME 05 June 2022 by Ds69 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only disappointment is the casing is HUGE and the volume is not very powerful otherwise it’s lovely

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good headphones, but has a issues.

WH1000XM5/B 04 June 2022 by Erik_Hotch (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I used to have the 4th version of this headphones and bought the WH-1000xm5, but almost immediately I noticed a few minor things I don’t like. First of all, great set for the headphones, other than what I’ll mention, these headphones get me through my day with great noise canceling and sound quality. The fit well and are more comfort than the last version (xm4). Now, with that said, there are 2 problems that affect my work and use of these headphones around other people. 1) When I’m in close proximity of others having a conversation, the noise canceling doesn’t work up to 100%. When there is speech around me, the quality of the noise canceling turns to maybe 50-60% effectiveness and doesn’t actually cancel noise around me. It think I’m trying to listen to them, but I’m just trying to listen to my podcasts. 2) My headphones randomly turn off. I’ll be wearing them for maybe an hour or two Andy headphone just shut down. Not seeing a reason as to why. Not the biggest issue because it has only happened twice (not replicable). Other than those two issues, really solid pair of headphones!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05 June 2022

Hi Erik_Hotch,

We're sorry to hear about your issues with this new headphones. We apologize for inconvenience. The noise canceling function is effective in low frequency ranges such as airplanes, trains, offices, near air-conditioning, and is not as effective for higher frequencies, such as human voices. The Noise Canceling effect may change depending on the conditions or how you are wearing the headphones. For example, the following may cause the Noise Canceling effect to change:

1. Going down the stairs, eating, drinking, or speaking loudly
2. Touching the headphones
3. The headphones move or slip slightly

Refer to this link for more details: https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wh1000xm5/v1/en/contents/TP1000534745.html

In the default setting, the headphones use built-in sensors to detect when you wear or remove them and automatically turn the headphones on or off as needed. If you have trouble with the headphones turning off unintentionally, check the following:

1. When you wear the headphones over a cap, a scarf, or hair, etc., the sensors may not be able to detect that you are wearing them and may turn them off. To avoid this, be sure to set the earpads directly over the ears.

2. If the wearing detection still bothers you, disable the Automatic Power Off setting. You can do this using the Sony | Headphones Connect app: System → Automatic Power Off, and select Do not turn off.

3. If the issue is not still resolved, reset the headphones. If the issue still persists, then initialize the headphones.

Note: Resetting the headphones will not delete the paring information, while initialization returns the headphones to the factory settings and all Bluetooth pairing information is deleted.

Thank you for sharing your review!

0

Wow what a difference a few years make

WH-1000XM5 04 June 2022 by David dives (United Kingdom)

I have mainly used these headphones at home, plus whilst on holiday in Wales. I have previously owned noise cancelling for about four years and although happy with them after about an hour they were not that comfortable! However with these ones from Sony I feel like I could wear them for a long time (long haul flight). The sound quality has to be heard to be believed, noise cancelling is very impressive, if someone speaks to you whilst using these headphones the sound & image pause, then restart’s after wards. I would recommend that if someone wants a quality pair of headphones, try these.

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

1

0

Sony WH-1000XM5: Headphones just got better

WH-1000XM5 04 June 2022 by Chas1953 (United Kingdom)

A giant leap forward in wireless noise cancelling, Sony’s WH-1000XM5 Headphones have arrived. From the moment you inbox them until you hear the first sound from them is a simple journey. Download the app and follow the instructions to set the headphones up is very simple and your experience will begin. Individual settings begins with photographing your ears to customise your sounds settings to you, completely adjustable. Each cup had four microphones to capture ambient sounds more accurately, high resolution audio with precise voice pick up technology and wind noise reduction for clearer phone calls. Speak to chat automatically pauses your music and lets in ambient sounds, handy if in a shop! Swift pair makes it easy connecting to devices and battery life of 30 hours makes these new headphones a excellent choice for your listening pleasure!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

1