549

4.5 based on 549 customer reviews

330
170
27
12
10
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Well made, handles easily

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 08 March 2015 by Triguy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am still getting used to the mirrorless camera idea. And it still feels small to me. That said, it is why I bought it. I shoot a lot from a mountain bike and need to travel light. When I want a full feel camera I use the add on vertical position two battery holder. With it the camera feels like a solid pro camera. I am a retired pro shooter and have traveled all over the world carrying heavy 4x5 and RB67 equipment. This is nothing like that.

16

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Shutter button failure

Body Only 30 October 2020  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

At the 2 year mark, my a9’s shutter button does not work correctly. It a defect in the model as I have seen many complaints about it online. For Sony not to address this problem is a problem in itself. I’ve been a professional commercial photographer for 38 years and have never had a shutter button malfunction. They should repair it free of charge. I own 5 Sony Mirrorless cameras.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

554 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

My Dream Camera

Body Only 15 April 2022 by Jmanita (United Kingdom)

I bought this one for about two weeks ago, and i´m completely in love with her.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Excellent Quality To Begin

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 07 February 2022 by VKVision (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm able to capture the exact parts of action like no other

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great ful frame camara

Body Only 25 January 2022 by tell21 (United Kingdom)

good upgrade from other sony camaras i own as i wanted a full frame to enlarge pictures and more detail

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great full-frame camera

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 02 January 2022 by EstuDimasDanang (Indonesia) Verified Purchaser Verified

A7ii is affordable full-frame camera with great image quality and functionality Camera grip is excellent, feels so comfortable and fit with my hand Battery is not so great, about 3 hours of constant use of this camera and I need to recharge the battery again

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great entry product

Body Only 28 December 2021 by Elijahvgugcnkb (United Kingdom)

I got this for Christmas and it’s the best camera I ever got

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great focus.nice bokeh.

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 24 December 2021 by Filmbyhany (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Its my first cam.and easy to use.and screen easy to handle since it can move around.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good effort Sony

Body Only 06 December 2021 by Norrisr4 (United Kingdom)

I bought second hand so great value. Early observations are that it is very capable. A tad heavy.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony Support Team
10 December 2021

Hi,

Thank you for your review.

We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your camera, and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come. We're glad to keep you as one of our loyal Sony family members.
If you need any assistance in the future, you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Sawy @ Sony UK

0

First full frame

Body Only 27 November 2021 by John John 2 (United Kingdom)

I have had 6 sony cameras 4 Alpha. My last was the Alpha A77, I had it for 7 years and loved it. I have wanted the A7ii and eventually bought it 2 weeks ago. Its been well worth the wait.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Camera

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 08 November 2021 by kiddarknezz (Indonesia) Verified Purchaser Verified

its great, great, great, great, great, great, great,

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Feels great in my hand

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 04 November 2021 by StephL (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this camera, just need to learn how and when to use all the setting. Menu is a pain in the butt though

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Bargain full frame camera

Body Only 21 October 2021 by Philminster (United Kingdom)

Bought new for £800 last year has been a delight to use and results have been great used as a stills camera with amount lenses from my old sony a99 with sony adapters. Don't use it at all for video preferring my a6500 for that purpose

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera but terrible battery life

Body Only 13 October 2021 by High Noon (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera June 2020 with a 25 - 105 Sony lens to replace my Sony A77 Mk ii DSLR. Really liked the camera especially the dynamic range and image stabilisation which made hand holding during the Pandemic a breeze in comparison to my old DSLR. However I soon realised that the batteries were draining at an alarming rate and if I intended to use the camera for any length of time, I would require many more batteries. After owning the camera for about 9 months, I traded the camera for the A7 iii !! I no longer have the A7 ii.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony support team
20 January 2022

Hi High,

Thank you for your review.
We're sorry to learn that you traded your camera.
In such cases, we would've recommended comparing the expected battery life here: https://bit.ly/3vjdcDd and provide the needed steps if it doesn't match.
In the future, we would like to be able to offer some assistance, so please don't hesitate to contact us using the details here: https://bit.ly/2VBcJwW.

Hana @Sony UK

0

Disappointed with image quality

Body Only 13 October 2021 by Cityview (United Kingdom)

Compared side by side and using the same lenses I am getting better results with my Pentax K3ii APSC than with the Sony A7II. Not so easy to use for action shots as a DSLR

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony Support Team
20 January 2022

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're sorry to hear that you're facing difficulties with your ILCE-7M2.
You can check the instructions in this link that allows you to shoot with preset settings according to the scene: https://bit.ly/3tLPRMW
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Omnia@ Sony UK

0

You won't be disappointed!

Body Only 13 October 2021 by Caretta22 (United Kingdom)

Very good camera that takes some getting used to. Once familiar, very versatile, ergonomic and intuitive to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony support team
02 February 2022

Hi Caretta22,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your camera. We're happy to welcome you into the Sony family!
If you need any assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Hana @Sony UK

0

Vast improvement on the A7ii

Body Only 13 October 2021 by TimB126 (United Kingdom)

I was looking for a full-frame mirrorless hi-spec camera. Upgraded the A7ii to the A7iii, and it's a huge improvement: battery life is awesome, improved functionality in the processor, AF, etc. The sensor still has the fault on the A7ii - attracting (and retaining!) specs of dust. This is not a problem with the other brands of camera I use, I can only assume it's a Sony "Feature"...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony Support Team
20 January 2022

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your ILCE-7M2.
We highly appreciate your valued feedback and we've raised it to the relevant department for future consideration and developments.
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Omnia@ Sony UK

0

Great camera

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 05 October 2021 by Biggrim (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Camera is great, I've always bought minotaur and now sony cameras. The only downside is the price of lenses, you need to remortgage if you want to buy a lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera to have

Body Only 14 September 2021 by LouBB (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just slighty over priced especially for this model anyway

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

All that you need nothing that you dont

Body Only 13 September 2021 by WAGLER (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera has a solid build with good erganomics and is full featured without the over complex nature of many cameras .it was years ahead of its time at launch ,and is still perfect for your first venture in full frame and to learn the basics, You wont regret your purchase

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic for stills photography.

Body Only 11 September 2021 by Opetaja (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I originally purchased an a7ii in 2018 and was very impressed by the IQ. I bought a couple of large lens and after a year I decided that the set up was too big for my ageing shoulders to carry round, so I sold my full frame kit and went the micro 4/3 route. However as much as I wanted to turn my back on full frame, and I've nothing against smaller sensors, the quality you get from the a7ii is just superior. So I saw that you could get some really good deals on new a7ii's and I just decided to try again, this time paired up with a couple of smaller 'tiny' primes. It's a brilliant combination and I'm really happy I went backwards! Could have got the a7iii of course, but why pay a grand more for what are essentially marginal improvements for stills photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very Good.Value

Body Only 11 September 2021 by RHarr (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a few weeks ago after extensive reading of every review I could find. The consensus seemed to be that for the enthusiastic hobby photographer the A7ii is excellent value and I have to agree though by the time I had purchased the highly regarded 24-105mm Sony lens I had spent rather more than I had budgeted for! I have only taken a few photos so far but I am pleased with them. Setting up the camera took quite a while and I made much use of a couple of illustrated guides. Looking forward to using the A7ii at our local Wetlands Centre and hope to purchase a longer zoom telephoto in the next few weeks.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features

Body Only 29 August 2021 by Maddie009 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Ive have sony cameras before and have always been happy with them a very good camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

GOOD

Body Only 26 August 2021 by Ibrahim Alhendawi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this cam a month ago and I can say it is beautiful and sharp on the street except that it doesn't support silent shooting.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Customer Support
31 August 2021

Hi Ibrahim,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your camera and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come. We're happy to welcome you into the Sony family!
If you need any assistance in the future, you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Usama @ Sony Support UK

0

Good but needs a Eye AF to be perfect

Body Only 26 August 2021  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got it few weeks ago. I really like the build quality. Like the customizing. Like that is has almost everything that you need for video and photo. Just I'm still the beginner. And I think autofocus could be better. Even tho I ask for better af I still like it. It really helped catch great moments.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Customer Support
31 August 2021

Hi Mykolas,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your camera. We'd like to highlight that the camera features support for Eye AF. You can find more about this in the Help Guide here: https://bit.ly/3gGRuEg
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Usama @ Sony Support UK

0

Good Camera Marred By Poor Electronic View Finder

Body Only 22 July 2021 by Vincent73 (United Kingdom)

My Sony A7 excels in its handleability, its size and weight and the superb pictures it produces. The rear screen is pin sharp which compensates somewhat for the poor shimmery electronic viewfinder. I like the classic design and the large dedicated control knobs. The micro USB port is fiddly to use but I now use the WiFi connection.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Customer Support
26 July 2021

Hi Vincent73,

Thank you for your valuable review.

We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your camera and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come.

Rest assured, we will certainly pass your valuable feedback on the proper channels to ensure it can be considered in future designs and updates.

If you need any further assistance, you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL, we will be happy to assist you!

Sony support UK

0

Great usability, steady shot, sharp images

Body Only 21 July 2021 by JacquesFouche (United Kingdom)

Great usability, through the body and lens stabilisers I get a very steady shot, the full-frame sensor gives me really sharp images

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Beautiful

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 20 July 2021 by TimothyB (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm looking to make a career out of photography and was looking to get into the full frame side of things without breaking the bank. And i could not be happier with my decision. The quality of my photography has improved because of it. Thankyou.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Almost perfect

Body Only 16 July 2021 by Denis photography (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I think this camera is amazing, it’s my first 35mm full frame and I’m already having a good time with it! The only problem I have with it, is the constant hanging when a picture is taken, the camera has to wait for the system to write to the SD card, which is quite annoying when you just wanna check out your photos or delete somthing quickly Another weird thing is that, when the EVF is showing a bright image, it seems to flicker a bit? Just a bit odd, but I’ve read that this is common on all models, which is a little disappointed But overall, this camera is great, I’m moving from 1300D to this A7 ii is a great move!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Customer Support
19 July 2021

Hi Denis,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your camera and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come. We're happy to welcome you into the Sony family!
If you need any assistance in the future, you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Sony Support UK

0

GOOD ALL-ROUNDER

Body Only 21 June 2021 by Le Phantom (United Kingdom)

Bought this a few months back, but I've only just started using it. Overall I'm very pleased - the camera takes great pictures, has an excellent viewfinder and handles well (I have big hands, so this is an important issue). I could have gone for the A7III, but the additional features it has didn't justify the extra expense for me. The money saved went towards some good lenses. As I'm getting on and a bit shaky, the IBIS was a major factor in my purchase and the A7II met all my other criteria, so it was an easy choice. I don't understand why SONY don't advertise this model as still being available new. My only major gripe is the cost of buying into the system - the cost of some of the lenses and accessories make you wince! However, the A7II is still one of the cheaper ways into full frame mirrorless, so "you pays your money and you makes your choice". Recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Customer Support
23 June 2021

Hi PaulA7II,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your camera and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come. We're happy to welcome you into the Sony family!
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Sony Support UK

0

I am very happy with every product from Sony

Body Only 12 May 2021 by Miroart (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm very satisfied ...............................

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony A7ii bought a few weeks

Body Only 12 May 2021 by CC01 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the Sony A7ii a few weeks ago and I am very pleased with the picture quality and how much you can customise it, once you have dug into the menus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Loved it until it broke during a shoot

Body Only 10 May 2021 by Kathryn1234 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera in November 2020, and I loved it! The af is great using back button, it's super light and easy to use once you get used to the menu system. However, the viewfinder has a proximity sensor which is crazy sensitive. Often I'd be looking at the screen and move slightly and the viewfinder would activate. Fine, I can adjust and live with it. However, during a shoot just yesterday my camera suddenly stopped working. Took 4 photos absolutely fine then gave a 'camera error, please power off and on' ... this didn't fix. I tried removing the battery, charging etc but no joy. Upon removing the lens it's clear to see the shutter is stuck. I could still navigate the menu and thankfully retrieved all the pictures from my earlier shoot that day. Really dissapointed with having to lose part of my income due to now sending a 6 month old, very well looked after, camera away for repair. I bought this as a starter camera but made the investment rather than going for the a600 range as I thought durability would be better. Seriously gutted, as I loved the camera quality and was looking to get an a7riii as my second body but now I'm concerned about reliability.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony support
12 May 2021

Hi Kathryn1234,

Thank you for your feedback.
We appreciate that the failure of any product is both disappointing and inconvenient. As a manufacturer, Sony endeavours to ensure that all of our products meet our reputation for excellent quality and reliability.
However, one of the limitations of electronics is that on some occasions products may fail. To protect our customers in these circumstances, Sony provides a one year guarantee with our consumer products. Of course we understand your feedback and we have passed them for future consideration and product development.

Sony support UK

0

Good camera but the lenses are very expensive!

Body Only 09 May 2021 by Archina (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really good camera that is still very relevant despite a newer version being available. It was easy enough to get the hang of and the picture quality is incredible. The only downside I can think of is that you'll be paying out the nose for additional lenses as they certainly take chunks out of your wallet compared to other brands.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A7ii

Body Only 24 April 2021 by You12 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am happy about it is the only the battery dry Quick

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony support
26 April 2021

Hi You12,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your XXX. We're happy to welcome you into the Sony family!
We recommend checking the available operating time here: https://bit.ly/3vjdcDd. If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Sony Support UK

0

Good camera

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 21 April 2021  (Indonesia)

I am very happy to use a camera product from Sony, the photos are extraordinary

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Upgrade

Body Only 12 April 2021 by Tr3v (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought as an upgrade to another Sony product! I accidentally damaged but the ease of use helped in my decision.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony support
16 April 2021

Hi Tr3v,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're sorry to hear that your camera was damaged, we recommend that you provide us with more information so that we can help, so please don't hesitate to contact us using the details here: https://bit.ly/2VBcJwW.

Sony support UK

0

Great features

Body Only 11 April 2021 by Wesoły tuńczyk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good camera for beginers, good price with lens....

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Powerful, usable and affordable

Body Only 07 April 2021 by wareham_photographer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've been using this camera for 2 years now and love it. I swapped over from a Canon (5dMii) and loved the reduced weight I was carrying round, the quality of the viewfinder, especially that it gave me a view of exactly what I was going to get including exposure variations, the movable rear screen and the user-configurable buttons to change settings in an instant and above all the size and quality of the raw files I get - all excellent features. Not so keen on the menu system, although I have got used to that. The choice of available lenses has grown and grown and make the whole package outstanding value and quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great camera, Needs 2 changes.

ILCE-7M2 BODY / KIT 31 March 2021  (USA)

This Sony a7 II was bought as a platform for my old Rokkors for which it's nearly perfect. 5-axis image stabilization for 45 year old lenses? Pretty cool. I wish the overly large and way-too easily moved exposure dial was on the top left part of the camera, out of the way but where it belongs. Also, it could use a fully articulating rear screen. Boo hiss!! Also, the Pre Auto Focus option will infuriate you. Get your shot framed, focus, and the camera will refocus and refocus and refocus and... Grrr. I finally found that option embedded in the menu and disabled it. I still have plenty of APS-C Alpha gear that I absolutely love using, but for my old Rokkor lenses, this camera is da bomb!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent camera with great features

Body Only 28 March 2021 by Jim1941 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Since acquiring this camera I have had a great time shooting great images of mostly landscapes and wildlife using wide angle and telphoto lens, all with superb results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Terrible

ILCE-7M2 BODY / KIT 14 March 2021 by Rosifatina (USA)

I bought this camera some months ago, the quality of the pictures are very bad, this is the worst camera I ever had in my life. I’ll try to use the raw format, that supposed to be the best quality and even in this case the pictures was dark.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great Product - Learning The Menus Is Frustrating

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 09 March 2021 by Pomsteroonie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Image quality and build quality is amazing however, learning the overly complicated menus is a little frustrating. Not as clear and simple as the Canon that I've transitioned from however, with perseverance I've managed to get some fantastic pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Full frame perfection

Body Only 01 March 2021 by GHong (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent full frame body. Works with FE and vintage lenses (with suitable adaptors)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

This is my first camera but wow is it amazing!!

Body Only 05 February 2021 by Amalaska12 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera is honestly like nothing I've ever experienced before. It even performs great in low light! But there are better cameras for that. I just wish that the auto focus was better. But that shouldn't be a problem once I upgrade my body since sony keep on improving their auto focus systems! Overall great detail and colour reproduction when shouting in RAW. Would recommend to anyone starting their photography journey with sony. This is a great entry level mirrorless camera from sony.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

Response From Sony Support UK
08 February 2021

Hi Amalaska12,

Thank you for your review.

We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your camera. We're happy to welcome you into the Sony family! If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2Uadm09.

Sony Support UK

0

Very impressive all round

Body Only 03 February 2021 by Dermish (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera with low shutter activation only 10 days ago and have been very impressed so far. The particular features I wanted were full frame and in-camera stabilisation. I use legacy lenses and these don't have inbuilt stabilisation. I previously had a Sony A6000 which was very versatile but the A7ii is definitely a step up. The camera sits nicely in the hand, there are loads of programmable features and the results so far have been impressive. The only downside I have found is that it is easy to accidentally move the exposure compensation dial, which sits near the thumb when holding the camera. This is a minor inconvenience, though, and overall I am very pleased with the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

very dissatisfied

Body Only 03 February 2021 by wisnu (Indonesia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought it for 2 months but the sensor has broken and now the mainboard is broken. I am very disappointed

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great Picture Awful menu

Body Only 02 February 2021 by MarkLE (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Kit lens better than expected. Great still images, good video, poor menu. Battery life is poor, build quality is good. Wish screen swivelled differently so It could be seen from front view and that it could power from USB. Still happy I bought it though.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Customer support
04 February 2021

Hi MarkLE

Thank you for your review.

We're glad you like the performance and build quality of your camera and have passed your valuable feedback about battery life and menu design through the proper channels for future consideration.

Sony support UK

0

Value

Body Only 23 January 2021 by Lukasz1983 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great value ... this is the power of Sony products...they beaten all other brands in this area...

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Customer support
28 January 2021

Hi Lukasz1983

Thank you for your review.

We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your camera and are happy to welcome you into the Sony family!

If you need any assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Sony Support UK

0

Nice camera

Body Only 13 January 2021 by Rezananda21 (Indonesia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it last year, and this is my second camera, my first one was sony a5100. And, as i can say, this was a huge upgrade from my old camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Nice camera

Body Only 02 January 2021 by Silver Fox 17 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I only bought this camera less than 2 weeks ago but happy with it so far. My first DSLR was a Sony A200 then an A58 but an issue with its sensor made me go for a new camera and with very few A mount ones for sale now I went for the A7 11 with the E mount. There are lots to this camera, a lot of which I will probably never use, but so far it seems very good. The old A200 had a wireless facility for the flash which was brilliant but unfortunately the A58 and the A7 11 lack this facility, that to me was a big plus. The first thing to notice was how much heavier the camera, and lens’s are, than the previous two. Having said that, the camera feels right, possibly because for many years I was used to standard SLR’s. The movie recording looks to be fine, better than the A58, but I had to alter the white balance for some reason although more practice is required for this. Likes - I prefer to use Manual rather than any of the other options for most of my photographs so particularly like the 2 separate thumb wheels for the shutter speed and aperture. The menu and function buttons are basically the same for the A58 so easy to get around. Thankfully my old flash works fine as I had to get an adapter for it when I bought the A58 so it uses the same adapter. Also it uses the same hand remote which is a plus for long exposure shots. The A7 11 has taken the best night time photo of the 3 cameras I have so cannot wait to get to Blackpool again for the lights. A good image with less noise when higher ISO settings are used. Dislikes – A lot more expensive than A mount cameras, and lenses are too. The manual focus system seems to be a retrograde step by having to move a lever then pressing and holding a button in the centre of the lever with one hand while focussing with the other, and having to keep the button pressed while I take the photo. Not happy that the A mount lenses are not autofocus using a Sony adapter which led me to have to buy a 55-250 zoom. As mentioned earlier there is no wireless connection without buying more equipment. There is a wireless facility in the function but it will not recognise the flash channel for it. A big issue was no battery charger with the camera, and, battery life quite poor compared to the other two. Please Sony, bring out a heavy duty one. Not keen on the “level” symbols in the view finder and have not worked out how to disable them yet. The electronic viewfinder is good in most situations but not at night time when doing space photography as it is very difficult to see a star and then focus on it, ideally it would be good if the rear screen could be set as a normal one for times like this. Although the flash works it does not seem to be TTL as it did on the old A200 so have to take the same photo on different settings to get the correct exposure. Although there are a few negative comments here I am still very happy with the camera so far and hope to have some better weather to test it in different conditions outside.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony support
07 January 2021

Hi Silver,

Thank you for your review.
We're happy that you're enjoying the camera.
Regarding the design of the camera, we'll make sure to pass your feedback through the proper channels for future consideration.
The camera does come with an AC adapter and a power cable, we would like to be able to offer some assistance so please don't hesitate to contact us using the details here: https://bit.ly/2VBcJwW.

Sony support team

0

Great feel, great photos from day 1, room to grow

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 31 December 2020 by Eroc333 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this 2 weeks ago and it has made this gloomy winter seem like a summer holiday. Really enjoying my Sony. With gratitude

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good but not great.

Body Only 14 December 2020 by Nopenope (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

For the price this is a good piece of kit. But I think sony could do more to improve the operating system through firmwares updates. For example, there are reprogrammable buttons, but some key ones aren't available on the a7ii, but are on the 3. There's no reason I can see why. Another is the ability to quickly turn on and off apsc mode without having to go through the menus. Again, would give more flexibility to using prime and zoom lenses but isn't available. Biggest frustration is it not having a fully articulating screen. Especially when working in portrait with the camera low or high. Other than that, it's a good camera and got it at a good price. Pretty happy.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony support
16 December 2020

Hi Nopenope,

Thank you for your review.
We're happy that you're enjoying the camera.
We'll make sure to pass your feedback about the operating system and the screen through the proper channels for future consideration.

Sony support team

0

Fabuous image quality

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 08 December 2020 by Rob305 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I once thought full frame was overkill. After trying a number of apsc sensor cameras, I found them with some deficiencies (noise, no IOS), or overpriced. I finally sprang for A7 ii after seeing it discounted. After some use, I am dazzled by video quality and photo quality. The body is solid, and reassuringly well built, but not too large. So far, no complaints at all. Now I'm fairly spoiled on full frame, I don't want to ever go back to a smaller sensor, unless it's my phone. The A7 ii is a fantastic buy. Extremely pleased with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Features

Body Only 27 November 2020 by Valdiune (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love it so far Amazing staff easy to use love setting

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Old but gold

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 11 November 2020  (Indonesia) Verified Purchaser Verified

for photography, still one of the best value full-frame camera. Good upgrade path, so you can keep using lenses if you decided to invest in Sony system. Missing a lot of modern features, but you got full frame camera for 1000$. It's great and takes killer pictures, if you really try to learn photography and how to use camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Camera

Body Only 09 November 2020 by imsofknhi (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good camera I am glad I bought a Sony a7ii for a entry level camera. Thanks Sony!!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Love it

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 06 November 2020 by Orlblue (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

In love with this camera and I’ve only had it for a day.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Shutter button failure

Body Only 30 October 2020  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

At the 2 year mark, my a9’s shutter button does not work correctly. It a defect in the model as I have seen many complaints about it online. For Sony not to address this problem is a problem in itself. I’ve been a professional commercial photographer for 38 years and have never had a shutter button malfunction. They should repair it free of charge. I own 5 Sony Mirrorless cameras.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Some good, some bad

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 26 October 2020 by SonyAreShite (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camera as a replacement for my Nikon D7000. It's ok, that's all. I Like: Full frame sensor Lighter than Nikon Solid build quality Not impressed with: Inability to consistently gain focus Far too sensitive eye sensor for viewfinder Low light capability

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Fantastic camera

Body Only 21 October 2020 by Allistairg1964 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I made the transition from Canon to Sony and wasn’t disappointed image quality is superb

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing camera

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 19 October 2020 by MTBVanLife (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased to up the photography game at MTBVanLife and cannot wait to use this beast of a camera. Photos incoming on @themtbvanlife on instagram

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to use. great features

Body Only 04 October 2020 by Rutilus (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only had the camera for three weeks, I am impressed by the quality of the pictures and the ease of use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great preowned camera

Body Only 02 October 2020 by Adm010 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just bought this preowned. I know it’s 6ys old now, but YouTube guided me to this as a great value camera to start with. My only issue is the menu system sucks. Other than that, it’s great

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony Support UK
06 October 2020


Hi Adm010,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad to learn that you are happy with the performance of the camera. We've passed your feedback about the menu of the camera on to the proper channels for future consideration and product development.

Sony Support UK

0

a7 II Excellent choice..!

Body Only 30 September 2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this excellent camera by a friend advice and I have to say I'm so happy with the choice. I'm learning a bit more about photography and Sony camera has great features and amazing quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Upgrade from my Alpha 77 ii

Body Only 27 September 2020 by Ashcan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased with the LA-EA4 converter all my Sigma A fit lenses work well. Sony menu very similar to the A 77ii so no big surprises other than the one or two positive changes. Looking forward to getting some new photos this autumn.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great

Body Only 25 September 2020 by roberto_a_photography (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought last month this camera and for enthusiastic photographer as me it's great

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great image quality

Body Only 31 August 2020 by Dag1875 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with this purchase as it adds full frame image clarity to my collection of cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I strongly recommend

Body Only 18 August 2020  (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I used a Nikon DSLR in the past. Now pretty happy with the Sony mirrorless. I bought the 35mm Sony zeiss prime lens. Together they are extremely handy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing Full Frame Camera

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 16 August 2020 by Yukikaze72 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Saw the Sony Days promotion and feels it’s of great value for a full frame camera. Also read some very position reviews about it. I’m using a Canon DSLR Before this purchase and I am very glad to own the A7ii because it is a capable and awesome camera at the right hands. The only draw back is the very weak battery life.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

very easy to use ,and great features

Body Only 01 August 2020 by cmjw (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A camera is only as good as its lens ,but this is a great camera .Very easy to get to know ,pretty much every feature you could need or dream of [I am not a professional or even a serious amateur ]and it takes great photos .I am not one for taking advice ,but the little help files on the web from Sony are useful .With the Sony FE 24-105 lens - wonderful

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent camera for everyone

Body Only 27 July 2020 by VzakV (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this a few weeks ago, All I can say is this camera is amazing, it does everything and more that I or anyone else could need in a full-frame camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Must buy awesome Camera!

Body Only 25 July 2020 by lucasportillojpeg (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera a few weeks again, It’s been so consistent and works beautiful. It’s really my favourite camera!

1

0